4/1 Mr Grey PMPS 145;+1 143 +2 153 +3 140 +4 139 +6 139

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98

I would definitely wait to see if his numbers are coming up. I'd say to shoot the 8.5u but I'm hoping Libby is able to come by.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98

If you feed at +11 (anytime after +10), then his +12 number will be influenced by the food spike. Normally, we would have preferred if you held off on the food so we could see if he as rising on his own, without food KWIM?

I think I read in your yesterday's condo, that you have a very rigid shot schedule, am I right?
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98

Rigid meaning when BID I get home from my day between 9-930pm so I like PMPS to be 10pm and AMPS to be 10am. Sorry I fed him already. Skipped last night's shot.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98

Let us know what his +12 is. If there's any food left, please pick it up. If needed, you would be able to stall for a half hour or maybe longer, and then deal with the shot schedule being off?
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100

I can stall and deal with later shot. Today I leave house at 2:15 and will be home by 6PM. Testing again @ +12 (really +24)
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 +24 104 100

How about stalling for 30 minutes without feeding and let's see where he's at.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Ok it's been 24 hours since last shot. On the slow rise +24 104. I only have 3 hours to monitor.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Hmmmmm....that is not much of a rise for a LC/HC mix. I would be ok with you shooting 8.5u now IF you were going to be home to monitor. Let me get Dyana and Sienne's thoughts as well. Dyana has to sign off now and Sienne and I are working this morning.

BRB.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Let's see what his +24.5 is.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Rick...as Dyana said..please post the next test. We are discussing. :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

hi Rick, sorry I have to blow in and blow back out quickly, can't stay around to follow up much (I'm at work). I'll check back in later.

an option would be to shoot 1/2 dose when he comes up. Drain the depot some more and see where that dose leaves him. Maybe even 2-3 cycles on the 1/2 dose. Or you could reduce by 2 units, give that a couple of cycles, and if it is not enough increase to some dose in between (so if he is at 9 now, reduce to 6-7, give it a few cycles, then increase to 7-8 if needed).

On the other hand, if you're not going to be around today, skipping or shooting 1/2 dose wouldn't hurt much. Then you can pick a dose and start over tonight.

What I'm thinking is that if he is IAA and the resistance broke, then the greatly reduced dose might stick. If he is not IAA, then it probably won't stick (and then you can always increase the dose aggressively again, we won't let him sit in bad numbers for long enough to lose the progress you have made). His response to a couple of days of a reduced dose will tell us a lot.

Sometimes if there is acro or IAA in the picture, going down the dosing scale can require a completely different strategy than the way everyone else handles reductions. A lot of it comes down to what your gut tells you based on what you have learned about Mr. Grey so far.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

I agree with Libby. He does have a big depot, but he hasn't risen that much and after a skipped shot (and several skipped shots this week), I'd go with what you gut tells you to do. But, since you're not going to be home, I would err on the side of safety and either skip or shoot a greatly reduced shot.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

You don't have to decide now either, you can stall another 30 minutes and think about it, if you want.
You can adjust your shot schedule back in 15 minute increments in the future.
 
Re: 4/1 Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104 +25 100

+25 100 he went down 8 points in 30 minutes. I have to leave the house in 2 hours. Skip shot or half dose this is my dilemma confused_cat
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

He is surfing. Have you fed him anything since +11?

Do you want to stall some more? It's okay if you do. You might end up skipping or shooting a very very reduced dose.
What does your gut say?
 
Re: 4/1 Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104 +25 100

Rick & Mr. Grey said:
+25 100 he went down 8 points in 30 minutes. I have to leave the house in 2 hours. Skip shot or half dose this is my dilemma confused_cat

You don't have to shoot a half dose, you could shoot even less, if you want.
What does your gut say?
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Something's changing; let him ride this surf and skip. It happens with rev downs.
Feeding's done nothing to alter Mr. Grey's numbers.... let him run on shed.

It could be your first rev down, and the safest way to deal is to drain and wait till you see where it goes.
It's safer to deal with a higher number once he decides to rise again than return home to a very low number.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

That's some great surfing.....
gallery_298_17_22511.gif
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Had time to stop home for a quick test. +28.75 122 starting to rise. Looks like shed could be wearing off ?
recap so far today:
last shot 3/31 9u @ 11am
+23.25 meal LC 75% HC 25% mix
+24 104
+24.5 108
+25 100
+26 109
+27 110
+28.75 122
Mr grey seems content but might want a snack, think I should hold off food till later around 6 when I return.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

It can't hurt to give him a snack. Either way, there's no insulin on board.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Just got home he tested +31.75 157 (6:45pm) I'd like to give him a dose at 10pm. Going to feed a LC snack now and retest in 1 hour. Based on yesterday and today I'd like to shoot a lower dose somewhere between 4u and 8u. How's this sound ?
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Sounds good to me. Actually, with all those skipped shots, I think 4 sounds better to me, but I'm not experienced with high dose kitties. Maybe Libby or someone with more knowledge will be by. Let's see where he is in 3 hours.

Can you take off some of the previous numbers from your first Subject Line and add the latest and greatest numbers to your first Subject Line as you get them? That will let us know at a glance where he is.
 
Re: 4/1 Eyes On Dose Advice Mr Grey +23 98 +23.5 100 +24 104

Rick & Mr. Grey said:
Just got home he tested +31.75 157 (6:45pm) I'd like to give him a dose at 10pm. Going to feed a LC snack now and retest in 1 hour. Based on yesterday and today I'd like to shoot a lower dose somewhere between 4u and 8u. How's this sound ?
sounds good to me.

You saw Randi/Max's spreadsheet yesterday. You'll notice with Max that she had a hard time getting ahead of his insulin depot. She would do a reduction and he just kept going low on almost every cycle. Finally she started doing some larger reductions and that helped keep him from plunging too low. We want him to surf nicely, but not in the 40s.

Honestly it is kind of a guessing game at this point as far as what dose he needs. For "regular" diabetic cats, we always say that we know for sure the dose is ok because you worked up to it systematically so you know you can't be too far over dose. If a cat has acro or IAA, their dosing needs can change very quickly so it is actually possible for 9 units to be a good dose one day, but way too much (or way too little) the next day.

So, pick a dose less than 9 units, and it's fine if it's several units less. You never know, it might stick! Even if the reduced dose does not work, that data will help us a LOT in figuring out where to go next. You'll be able to tell fairly quickly whether the dose you pick is working for him or not. If the dose clearly isn't good, you don't necessarily have to wait 6 cycles to increase again. You'll figure it out. With Jazzy, I learned that 5 cycles was her "magic" time period for determine if a reduction was holding - if I got impatient and increased on cycle 4 or 5, she made me regret it by dropping lower than I wanted. :lol: As long as I waited at least 5 cycles before making a change, it was all good. You'll have to figure out how many cycles Mr. Grey needs to fill his depot.
 
Re: 4/1 Mr Grey +24 104 +25 100 +26 109 +27 122 +29 122

Libby thanks ! He snaked LC a little over an hour ago and went down now to 143. His dinner is usually 10pm or 11 depending on shot time. I'm ok with trying 5u tonight at 10pm.
 
Re: 4/1 Mr Grey PMPS 145 dose reduction

Another great day for Mr. Grey. Good luck on this new dose. It's exciting to watch what is happening to his numbers. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top