4/1 Maverick AMPS 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40175

His shot is in two hours. I just want to confirm that there is no risk of him going hypo on .25 units?? I have to leave at +3 for 3 hours today taking my dog to the vet. He gave me some lower than normal numbers last night. And he isn't eating well. Even with chicken dust - but on the turkey and giblet we gave a try last night. So ocean whitefish today and I'll add a lot of turkey dust.

I know I'm a pro at this already. But even if he goes to 50 or 40 he would be fine right? He's only ever hit 49 once that I know of a couple weeks ago with a low preshot.

Thanks.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

I would get a +11 and then the amps. Post the numbers, can't really say much until you know where he is. I'm sure someone will be around then to help you out. Did you get a +10?
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

He tends to go up and then down again at the end of his cycle. I'll get a +10.25 and a +11. His ears hate me.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

Hi Karrie,

I didn't know that there was no risk of going hypo at .25. Choco is at .25 and I was worried about leaving him yesterday so I left some HC out. I'm glad to see Maverick doing so well. I hope you can figure it out before you go so you don't have to be worried when you take your dog to the vet. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

I'm sure he'll be fine. Just want reassurance that they can't go hypo on .25.

I'll actually be leaving at +2 and be back at his +5. I don't think Maverick knows what hypo is. I think his liver and pancreas is functioning enough that it would prevent a hypo.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

Karrie --

I know you don't want to hear this but a cat can drop into low numbers on 0.25. (Go look at Janice/Johnny's SS.) You can always leave MC food out. Looking at Maverick's SS, I think it's unlikely that he'll drop too low on a skinny 0.25u.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

The FF turkey & giblets acts as a mc for Maggie, but not sure if it would be the same for Maverick. Good luck with your dog today at the Vet.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

Leave out the MC and keep Maverick safe-OK?--So if he goes up a little, you can always correct it the next cycle or next day!--No worries, I'm sure he will be fine!!
BTW Moonie always eats less when she is in the low blue & green numbers--They arent as hungry in lower numbers--Sprinlke with whatever he likes.Good luck at vet w/doggie!
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

You know what I was thinking? Even if I left MC food out would he eat it? And what if he gave up his other foods. What a nightmare. He's now only eating ocean whitefish and tuna. Just pics tiny bites of T&G and Chicken - even with chicken dust on top.

I think I'll just give him some temptations. I'll test him at +1 and if he's dropping give them then?

Thanks for the replies guys. My dog is going in for a UTI recheck. She had a difficult to treat UTI. Her kidneys are showing damage (probably from her very high dose of diuretics). So we are testing her urine and culturing it to see if its free of infection and doing a recheck of her kidney blood work. She hates the vet.
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

Good morning guys ... got lots of advice here so that is good ... mocha did drop down into the 30's on .25, but she was a pretty good dropper ... maverick seems nice and steady .. good luck at the vets with your pup .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

Hi Karrie,
Good luck today with the vet and your pup. I hope all will go well. I'm pretty sure Maverick will be OK. Skinny the dose if you will feel better, and leave out some food. Do you have any of the FF medleys (Turkey Florentine and similar?)? They are MC, around 11%, and most cats really like them.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/1 Maverick no shot yet - feedback?

He tested at 113 so I expect all will be fine here. Just his bean doing the "what if" that comes along with leaving the house. What if he decides to go low today HAHAHA. Just because something is possible doesn't mean its probable - something I learned in my anxiety workshop. I do have some of the other foods. I'll have to see what I have. I'm more nervous giving him a novel new carby food than not though.
 
I'm just like you Karrie...I worry about trying different foods in case the new foods cause problems and the kitties won't eat the original foods. I've got a houseful of dietic issues (food alltergies, diabetes, kidney issues), so trying new stuff is actually kinda frightening.

I hope all went well with your pup today!!
 
HI Karrie - I hope all worked out OK this morning - and that all is well with your dog. Did maverick eat the fuds you left?

I hope you guys have a great night. Maverick - you eat your fuds!
 
Maverick isn't eating well at all. I put down two saucers of food tonight. One with fish and one with chicken. We'll see if he eats either when he has a choice. He should know better - I will syringe feed him if this goes on longer than a couple days. Maybe he has a bad tooth. I think I'll water some down tomorrow and see if he'll lap it up. I'll try babyfood after that.

Spreadsheet isn't up to date. He did fine with no carbs today. PMPS is 90 something. I'm so tired I have to crash early. Shopping with my mom tomorrow too. Then I'll have all day for condos :mrgreen:
 
BET HE ATE THE TEMPTATIONS!! Mine would eat those over everything!!
I crunched one over their food so they would eat the ff-especially Moonie!
You could try that too Crush one or 2 temptations on top of the food--I dont think the bg would go up much from one, and may give incentive to our crazeee cats! Hugs -have a good night! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top