4/1 Lucian ,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95,+6/73,+7/73,+8/85

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262

Hey Lucian and Autumn are both laying out working on their tans in the sunny yellows this morning. :-D On a serious note it is so nice to see him not fly all the way to HI after going green.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262

Yeah, I wasn't mentioning that. :lol:

Right now, he's stretched out on a down pillow with me, watching a movie, acting like he's king of the hill. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120

As bad as his numbers have been, I'm getting nervous, not used to good numbers.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120

nckitties3 said:
I'm getting nervous, not used to good numbers

ROFLMAO!!!! Maybe he finally went and read the stickies on how to be a good sugar cat...lol. But isn't it nice not to have to want to close your eyes when the meter beeps because you are afraid of what you are going to see? After yesterday I'm just happy to see Mz. Autumn holding steady in the yellows, but then again her onset hasn't hit yet.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120

I wonder if there is any chance of a cat that has run as high, as long, as Lucian has, to ever go OTJ?

I'm just dreaming I suppose, if he can be healthy and in good numbers on low doses, That's good enough for me. :thumbup

But he'll have to learn to travel. My nephew will be getting married in about a year and his mother insists I be there, so it'll be a road trip to Michigan. :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120

I don't think we ever know how long any of our cats have been diabetic and in high numbers once we figure out that they are diabetic any more than we know who can and can't go OTJ...It is always possible that Lucian will go OTJ, just like there is always a possiblity that Autumn will...Just highly unlikely that Autumn will after as long as she was left after they knew she was diabetic before she started getting insulin.

I didn't think Maxwell would ever be OTJ knowing everything that he had been through and then when he went OTJ in two weeks I was amazed but figured it wouldn't last, yet 2+ years later he is still running in the 60-70s and showing no signs of going back on the juice ever.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120

Yes, there have been some cats who have gone OTJ after some time on insulin, so don't rule it out.
Just keep aiming for good non-diabetic numbers, and you will see them as soon as the body is used to better numbers. You will see more frequent and longer stretches of better numbers, and less of the higher ones.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

I must say I'm surprised that he's hitting green on his recently reduced dose. :o
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

Well look at you Lucian did you finally decide that it wasn't so scary down here? Now lets not go much further down okay? You really don't need to pull an Autumn

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

He might drop a tad more, but not enough to worry about, I don't think. He just ate lunch, so I doubt he'll go much, if any, further. Numbers make me happy for sure. :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

I bet on the numbers I'm just tickled that he actually went green the other day, earned a reduction and didn't fly all the way back up to HI...I was beginning to think that was just his pattern...that somehow he thought green and black belonged on the same line of his spreadsheet.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

:lol: No kidding, every time he hit green there was a black to follow shortly thereafter. Then again, there was black for no obvious reason at all too!

Yeah, I don't get it, no rhyme or reason to his craziness. :lol:

And the 'drop dead' look he gives me when I wake him up to test him?.......Priceless! :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

Oh you should have seen the crusty looks I was getting yesterday from her Meowjesty for poking her every hour after she got her yummy gravy fud...It was like "Drop it woman I'm fine, now let me sleep would you please?"

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75

nckitties3 said:
:lol: No kidding, every time he hit green there was a black to follow shortly thereafter. Then again, there was black for no obvious reason at all too!

Yeah, I don't get it, no rhyme or reason to his craziness. :lol:

And the 'drop dead' look he gives me when I wake him up to test him?.......Priceless! :-D

I've gotten to where I don't bother waking Jez up if she's dozing - I just test her wherever she is - and sometimes she really doesn't even wake up thank heavens.....
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70

Now, I'm a little concerned. He came in fussing about 6pm ( his +10) and he ate a couple hrs ago, although I didn't test him at the time, didn't feel it necessary.

So I decided to test him and he's at 70+10.25. I didn't want to feed him since he would eat in a couple hrs, but did any way.

I guess he went lower than I expected. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70

Or he still thinks he is a Lev Kitty and wants to put his nadir at the end of the cycle. :roll: Either that or he is about to see if you got your BOS yet in the mail and are ready to start shooting low to stay low (Now that is terrifying the first few times you do it)

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70

Too late, I just shot at 87 ohmygod_smile Not like I can't stay up all night. Wasn't a full 1.50U, was more about 1.35 maybe, quite by accident, but probably a good thing.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

LOL we are both shooting 80s tonight I just shot an 82. :-D

We may be keeping each other company tonight if they both decide to play run for the basement.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

MommaOfMuse said:
LOL we are both shooting 80s tonight I just shot an 82. :-D

We may be keeping each other company tonight if they both decide to play run for the basement.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


OMG - that's one party I'm hopefully going to be missing.....

But I'm impressed and will be watching for however long I can....

Em
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

The bad thing? I didn't even consider NOT shooting, it never entered my mind, until 15 mins later, that maybe I shouldn't have. Might be a long night, I have my hypo kit.

I think I'm going to try to get a nap for an hour or 2 before I have to start testing him about midnight.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

It could be a bad thing and make for a long night or it could be a good thing and you just instinctively shot low to stay low. Only time and your meter will tell. And if it is a long night then you have all the tools you need to make it through. However, if for some reason none of us are here to talk to and you need the company to stay awake and keep testing him, jump on Health and stick up a 911 they can and will stay with you. And you know I will be checking in on you both before I turn in for the night and heck I may be right here with you watching over Autumn.

It wasn't that long ago that you didn't think you could do any of this from testing to shooting insulin but you love your boy and like any good mom you learned what you had to to keep him alive. Now you are just learning a new step to the dance, shooting low to stay low. If tonight works and he stays within range without dropping too low then you have another skill learned to give him the best chance in the world of going OTJ.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

I don't see me getting a nap, I keep looking at the clock. Depending on where he is at +4, I may just make coffee, knowing I'll be up till 4 AM again.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 262,+4/120,+6/75,+10.25/70,PMPS 87

I'm not going to sugar coat anything...shooting low to stay is scary...I don't care if I have done it once or 50 times it still makes my skin crawl every single time I do it. But I also know that it is what I have been striving for, and that is a dose that will hold her in normal numbers 24 hours a day. Be that dose .25u or 25u (Thanks god she isn't an acro so I don't even have to fathom shooting that big of a dose into a normal preshot). But it is what it is, if we are going to give them their best shot at going OTJ then we have to find a dose that replaces what the pancreas is suppose to be doing and keeping them above 40 but below 120 so that it can rest and reboot.

But it is also when our meter becomes our best friend, it lets us know in a heartbeat if we need to step in and throw the brakes on them heading for the basement. And hon, no beating yourself up for doing something without thinking, we all have done it, we are human. I should have realized how fast Autumn was dropping yesterday and put the brakes on her a little, but I really didn't think about it, she had plenty of wiggle room and she was eating at the time, I was just happy to finally see her in the greens again without even thinking that she had started in the pinks and how fast she was falling.

I was lucky I came back inside when I did and decided to grab a +9 because she just wasn't acting right...you know a few years ago I would have seen a cat just kind of spacey like she was and have thought Oh I must of woke her up from a sound sleep and she still isn't all the way awake. And probably not have grabbed the meter, but after losing my first girl to a hypo I'm so much more respect for those little tell tale signs...But it took 3 years of dancing with sugarcats to gain that experience and also the calm to know that I can handle whatever comes my way and if I can't when I can't and I need professional help.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71 What?

With meter variance he could be still flat lined when in doubt test again.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65

I gave him another tsp, hoping to slow him down, but it is too early in his cycle to be this low, except for his PS being as low as it was.

In the very recent past, he has gone to 600+ after a fur shot or a reduced dose, I didn't want him to do that, but I didn't expect him to be this low, this early.

I'm a wreck!
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

The last 2 tests, +3 and +3.5 he has refused to eat even half of a tsp of food. I'm going for 1/2 tsp of HC, which I would never do if he was at least +5, but since he has another 3-4 hrs before nadir, I'm following my gut.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

And your gut is exactly right...and you are going to have company tonight, Autumn just hit 66 at +3....long night ahead

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

I'm with ya girl!

I swear these two are in cahoots! Both of them dropping much too early! Even more so for her, as late as she nadirs, but then Lucian seems to think he's a Lev kitty too, sometimes.

I already made coffee and took a 5000 mcg Vit B12.......wonderful things those are, the kind you put under your tongue? 30 mins later you are wide wake! :shock:
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

Got 3 cases of Coke Zero and a carton of smokes...I'm set...I guess I can catch up on sleep when I'm dead.. :lol: Actually I'm planning on trying to doze off and on between tests...really hoping she will just pick a number and surf, but don't see that happening tonight because I really need her to.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

I made half a pot of coffee, had B12, a dose of Dayquill since my allergies are bothering me so bad, I was coughing so hard I could barely test him, plus a Clariton, got smokes, 2 unopened vials of strips, 5 cans of HC and Kayo.......I'm set.

I've stayed up late more in the last few weeks than I have in the last 5 yrs, I'm too old for this mess! :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian +10.25/70,PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65

I hear you there, gonna test her again here in a minute and then try to doze for about an hour...Good thing my cell phone have 5 alarms that I can set to keep getting my butt up to test, and well morning starts here at 6:20 anyhow.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87, +2.5/71,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70

Food is helping now, I may wait 45 min next time. I rarely test every 30 mins and it's only cause he went low so early. I still got 4 hrs to watch.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

Boy that HC makes him jump! No food this time, just carb free treat after test. He still has a couple hrs to go until nadir.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

Now that is the one advantage of Lantus over Levemir...I'm still a long ways away from nadir I expect to be seeing sunrise before I get to relax.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

That so sux. Lucian seems to be later than most Lantus kitties a lot of the time, like earlier today. We'll see what he does tonight.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

Well at least they both earned reductions...I guess that is the upside to no sleep...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

hmmmm who do we know that is on that can come tell us funny stories to keep us awake...lol Oh where are the Chippendale dancers when you need them to entertain us while we are poking kitties.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

With Chippendales, poking kitties would be the last thing on my mind. @-)
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

lol Yeah it might be hard to remember to poke a kitty every hour while trying to stuff dollar bills...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

Actually I could probably introduce you to a few retired ones...dated one for awhile back in my 30s and we still talk every now and then. He and his wife run a cat rescue/tranport now in Wyoming.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

Let's just say, I've known a few. ;-) Dated one that was also SC State Heavyweight kickboxing champion 3 yrs running..........talk about agile? Lawd Honey! :o But I'm telling on myself, must be tired.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95

LOL Awww the good old days...

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95,+6/73

That 95 was certainly the HC talking.

Yup, miss those glory days. ;-)
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 87,+3/65,+3.5/65,+4/70,+5/95,+6/73

Looks like food is wearing off...hold it steady Lucian my man, hold her steady.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top