4/1 Jenks AMPS 83 +1 63 +6 128 PMPS 299 +7 180

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/1

Jenks had a very active night last night. He was in the kitchen looking for food an hour earlier than his usual feeding time, so I had a suspicion that something was up. The spot check revealed that he was down 150 points to 48. No biggie. I gave him some food, and added a little karo syrup for good measure. That brought him up to 70 and things looked fine. That is, until he dropped right back to 48. As is usually the case, it was in the fasting period, but we had no other choice but to give him some gravy and karo to bring those numbers back up.

Normally, we'd shoot through this number and just watch him. But today, OH had plans to be out of the house starting immediately after shot time. With a cycle this active, and lasting this long, combined with the fact that Jenks can sometimes continue to drop into the first quarter of the day cycle, we had a tough decision to make.

Ultimately, I opted for a BCS dose of 5.0U. I don't like giving him reduced doses because they don't work, and we'll certainly be seeing some ugly numbers later in the day. But we do what we have to in order to keep him safe.

It looks like it was the right call too. The +1 spot check before OH left for the morning showed that the gravy had either worn off already, or that the insulin was already powering through it. He was still in the low 100s as of midcycle too. Very surprising.

We had back-to-back days where he dropped under 70 at night. It's probably time to back the dose down a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top