4/1 Hershey - Just to keep things interesting...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
So, remember yesterday when I said we needed to shoot :30 so we wouldn't be late for church, but could still catch +6?? Well, my little "Jolly Joker" (LOVED Schultz on Hogan's Heroes) - my little April Foolster is at it, again...

Here are the last two posts from my 3/31 thread:

Re: 3/31 Hershey PM +11.5 (237) NADIR???

Postby Doug N Libby » Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:33 am
Okay, planning shoot :30 early so we're not late to church. That's 2:30am, which is now....

PM +11.5 (237) - NADIR???

I wish someone was around...not sure if I should wait and retest or shoot a reduced dose into that number...I haven't had any experience with this ... going to post and hope someone responds...



Re: EYES, PLEASE Re: 3/31 Hershey PM +11.5 (237) NADIR???

Postby Doug N Libby » Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:46 am
:10 recheck (248)

Nobody around and we have to make a decision...

Scale says .3 for (200) - (249). (248) not terribly different from (237)...
3/1 We shot .6u into (233) and he came down to (123)
3/2 We shot .6u into (203) and he came down to (94)

Going with .3u at +11.75 (2:45am) Will be around for ~+5.5 but not +6 - here goes...

RECAP OF 4/1
AMPS (248) +11.75 Shot .3u at 2:45am
+4 (300)
+5.5 (316)

PMPS (279) +12.75
+13 (307) Shot .5 at 3:45pm - Inverse curve. Too much insulin or still clearing from yesterday's (83)?
+4.75 (276)
+6 (302) - Nadir was probably a little lower than the +4.75
+7 (255)
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

Now just hoping I can actually sleep and not keep second-guessing my decision...
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

I guess we missed each other tonight.

I probably would have done a slight decrease.

I won't be so busy tomorrow. See you then.
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

+4 (300)

I don't know...He was sleeping when I got up. So I woke him to test him. I would think the sleeping (calm) would've lowered his BG, unless, maybe he'd been dreaming? Do you think cats dream? Ours seem to...

Will test again ~+5.5

Jenn - I did think about the decrease, but thought he'd stay in safe numbers with the .3u and maybe staying as aggressive as possible would start seeing some lower numbers with him...I don't know...Sorry I missed you last night. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

Clearly he knows it's April Fools Day - he's trying to really keep you guessing!

My conservative thought is - better safe than sorry - and hopefully you got some sleep... although it was probably w/ one eye open!

C'mon Hershey - Mama needs you to be predictable... can you do it?
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

I think your dose might be too low, but I can see why you reduced. I'm starting to think a lot of these cats who are unpredictable have more pancreatic activity then we realize, that those surprise low nadirs and long cycles are not the insulin as they are so random and then the same dose will do nothing. Like your 0.6u 3/31 vs 3/28. '

Not to sound like a broken record, but .3 is 50% less insulin than .6, I think you need finer adjustments than that.

Carl's new research: the pancreas actually produces the hormone that signals the liver to dump glucose. So bounces are part of the pancreas figuring out again how to self regulate....if you're getting a very low nadir because of too much injected insulin not good, but if you've injected an amount that normally does not send the cat too low and this cycle BAM, cat goes to 50, I call that the P taking over. It might make too much insulin and try to correct BG and you get a bounce, but it's learning how to function again. I think some of OUR crisis situations are less of a worry to the cat, I have seen some charts where kitty goes low on a dose that shouldn't do that and throughout the 15 min testing the cat is eating a TON of food, and BG still stays down. This could only be because you are fighting a overdose of injected insulin or kitty is making it themselves, and when you know you shot a safe dose what else can it be but Mr. P trying to keep BG in absolutely non-diabetic numbers that scare the crap out of us?
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

I think it is better to be safe than sorry - especially when a cat is not following a pattern and sometimes throws curve balls. Sid is very good at doing this and I think Hershey is too.
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

Maybe he will surprise you with another "April fools" on pmps. Looking forward to seeing what he does.
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - "Jolly Joker" - At it, again

Running late - got home at +12.75 (279)

Inverse curve = too much insulin? or still clearing bounce from Sat morning?

Our scale says .3 for 200-249, that's why we went with that amount for AMPS. Was tempted to reduce after going low yesterday and knowing he could be more sensitive to the insulin. Sometimes you just don't know what to do, ESPECIALLY when Hershey has NO PATTERN!! Just like a guy!!! ;-)

Thinking we need to retest in :10 - :15 to make sure of what he's doing...

STAY TUNED!
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - +12.75 (279) INVERSE CURVE - too much insu

Okay - going with the scale, again, so (307) is .5u...heading to Walmart - back soon -
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - +12.75 (279) INVERSE CURVE - too much insu

Looks like yesterday was way too nice!
There was no way he could let you have 2 nice days like that in a row...
wouldn't want you to get used to it!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/1 Hershey - +12.75 (279) INVERSE CURVE - too much insu

paha, Denise, that's for sure!

What was I thinking - a quick trip to Walmart, INDEED! :lol:

PM +4.75 (276)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top