4/1 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
Henry has higher than usual mid cycle numbers today. Was hoping it was a bad April fool's joke. confused_cat
Upped the dose to 1.50 U this morning.
I am down to about 1/4 or a little less of bottle of PZ. My vet says it is supposed to hold its strength down to the bottom of the vial. It has been kept refrigerated in the box and gently rolled and tipped, never shaken. Exp date is March 2012. No fur shot. No increase of clinical signs like increases in drinking or peeing. Henry actually is walking a tiny bit better today and less problems getting in and out of litter box. He actually vigorously scratched to cover pee which he hasn't done in a long time since walking problem developed.
I have a new vial, think I will open it in the morning to see if that makes a difference. Don't want any surprises tonight and to need to stay up all night.
AMPS was 438
+4 305
+7 364
 
It should still be good, but the numbers are going higher. Hope the increase makes a difference. What did you think about Joanna's idea of shooting a little earlier in the am to avoid those high amps? As long as you know the number is rising, and he is in that 300-400 range, it might help to even out that curve....
 
i will try the +11 shooting. Should i wait a few days to see how the increased dose does or go ahead and try?
My thought is if the increase helps since I just upped and i shoot earlier will I be able to tell which is helping if his numbers improve?
Last Saturday was when he threw a a 150 at +4 and 114 at +6 on the 1.25 dose. Its hard to say with him when he will get better numbers and ride them out until PMPS.
 
The alternate is to try 1u and see if the #s improve on that. I hadn't looked at the SS :oops: when I made the dose increase recommendation, and now looking at it I'm not really sure. The #s do seem worse as you have raised. With the raise today you would typically expect to see better #s than on the lower dose, or failing better #s, you might see #s about the same that then improve over the next couple cycles. Numbers that get worse on the other hand, hmmmm. Of course there could be other factors, could be stress related. Given though that I don't think you've ever tried 1u and you've had weird intermittent good results on 1.25 it makes me wonder....?

Really I'm not sure. I think you just have to try one thing for a few days and if that doesn't give you better results, try something different. Until you have some data that gives you a solid bracket that dose X is too low and dose Y is too high, it can be tough to sort out.

As a prep to the idea of shooting early, you might want to try a little data collection. Depending on your schedule, maybe get something like a +10 one morning (2 hours before normal AMPS time), and a +11 another morning (or both same morning if you want). Something like that just to have a little data to go on so if you do try early shooting you will have data to support that being a solid strategy. Just a thought :)

p.s. if tonight's PS drops down to lower #s I would lower the dose. If it sticks with a U-curve pattern I would maybe stick with this dose. That's kind of the cue - U-curve or not. Drop to a lower +12 or any kind of inverse curve (not that you are seeing that at all), or slope all the way down to the next +12 all can be signs of a dose that is too high.
 
Thanks. i am going to stick to the 1.50 for a few days or maybe back off a little, and wait to try the +11 dosing until I get more BGs in prior to AMPS for a few days. I think its best not to throw too much into the mix at one time or I won't be able to pinpoint what is helping or making things worse.
PMPS was 302. 1.50U
I think I am going to open the new vial of PZ in the morning and just see if that makes any difference
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top