4/1 /dosing advice/fur shot/ Ravan -amps 433

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
Now I'm getting Very upset I did a fur shot this morning/no insulin
This is the highest ever his bg went up. Do I need to just wait this out till Tonight? 8 hrs?

Will bg keep going up till evening?
 
It's 1:10 I'm supposed to go to Brunch with my son for easter. I don't know what to do?
let me ask first how is he doing today in such high numbers?
is he eating ok all of his food?
does he drinks more than usual?
is he rather lethargic today?
 
Copy & Paste from the last post:
Do I give a bit more at his PM shot Like 1.25 instead of 1.25 skinny?
Hmm... very good question..
The answer is somewhat dependent on several things. One is the dosing method yo are following - have you decide on what to follow - TR or SLGL? Both require different length of time to pass before evaluating/ changing the dose.

I agree that increasing tonight to 1.25U is awfully tempting.
However, a few cycles back he had nice 132 as his nadir on Fat 1U dose. Perhaps you should keep it - as long as your chosen dosing method suggests, keep testing and do reevaluation in a couple of cycles?
If you are absolutely sure that it was FS this AM then you can give the PM shot an hour earlier - early shots act like dose increase (and delayed shots act as if decrease).
Doing that will move every cycle shot time 1 h earlier and because Lantus requires dose consistency you 'll have to keep 12 h gap and either shoot early from now on or gradually return your previous shot time back by either 30 min per day or 15 per each cycle. I'll explain better if you decide to shoot early.

Change the Title to "Dosing advice for tonight" - ppl will post replies while you gone and you 'll get before his next preshot.
 
He was good today ,eating, even played with a string . Now he just drank water Not interested in eating. He usually sleeps during the day. He was alert. Ate good this morning at 9am.

What do I copy & post & where do I add it? Sorry but right now I'm still not sure if I should stay home. I don't understand if Ravan's in danger because of his reading going up?
 
Last edited:
He was good today ,eating, even played with a string . Now he just drank water Not interested in eating. He usually sleeps during the day. He was alert. Ate good this morning at 9am.
All are good reports except not interested in food. Cats in high numbers need insulin and food - often even more food than usual and it's ok to give it.
If he has eaten all he normally would up till now - have the "out of the door" test before you leave and if numbers are the same as at +4 leave some wet food LC with extra water added out for him to snack while you are gone.

If the number significantly lower - try to get him to eat some higher carbs food before you go. The carbs in the system will help to slow him down. Do you have any high Low Carbs food at home, or a Medium Carbd ones (like FF Grilled for instance?). ETA: LC <10% carbs FF or Friskie Pates are examples, MC between 10% and 15% like FF Grilled.
 
Not eating while in high numbers isn't good - I'd suggest starting to test his urine for ketones. The strips are sold at any human pharma at the Diabetes supplies aisle.
Everyone has FS done - multiple times.
Not good without the dose but it happens and we often say here "better a day high than an hour too low".
 
Hello and welcome, I haven't stopped in to Ravan's posts yet. Here is a link to your yesterday's post. We include those links to the last post so people can easily go back and see the history.

First, don't worry about fur shots. We've all done them. The biggest thing you can do is test for ketones when you can, and get out of the house and do something for yourself. Ravan will be in safe numbers today. No need to test until PMPS time. We all need to learn when to hover, and when to relax. I think that's the hardest part about caring for a feline diabetic. I got to the point where I didn't need more than 5-6 tests a day, unless Neko was flirting with low numbers. You will eventually get to learn Ravan's patterns on insulin, which will really help you. Focus on learning his onset and nadir to start. But not today, he's given you a permission slip to get out.

For tonight's dose, it depends if you are following SLGS or TR for dosing. You can help us help you if you put either SLGS or TR in your signature. Regardless of which one, you have to try to keep the same dose each time, unless he either earns a reduction or needs an increase. Your dose has been moving around too much. The depot needs time to stabilize.
 
Not sure I understand about changing the title. Do i leave the info about his dose & add the question What do you mean by
the title read right now - for help with dose. Nothing to change as it is now.
Wendy posted some great though for.
Keep the dose of 1+ unit for 3 days - 6 cycles - and then evaluate the dose.
Please check with of the dosing methods yo are going to follow - it'll tel you how to and when to reassess the dose effect.
At the top of this L&L forum yellow sticky notes - one called TR and another one SLGL - check which one suits your schedule best.
 
Hi Wendy, Bg 404 at 3 hrs after last test. Came down 181 pts without insulin? Is that usually what happens? I though it would go up?

You said to keep the dose the same? Even though I missed his am shot? I still give the Pm shot same time same dose?

I've tested many times for Ketones . This last test today was right on the verge of looking like traces of Ketones. I gave Ravan 100cc of ringers lactate, My Vet said it would help keep him hydrated & provide some electrolytes, flush out toxins.

He is eating small amounts of Friskies can food several times a day & a few pieces raw liver

When I look at his spreadsheet I do NOT see a regular pattern. His lows seem to be at any time from early morning to night.

When he went down to under 100 I freaked out. I'm alone & have real problems going without some sleep. The few times I tested every few hours I was

so tired I was worried I'd make a mistake. I'm trying real hard to comply with the advice from everyone but lack of sleep & I'm a mess. (some medical problems)

I guess I'm trying to do the SLGS method. It seems that's a bit easier?
 
Hi Tanya, I think the SLGL method is OK for me. I read it once but I'm still not sure if i give his dose tonight at the same time & same amount because I missed the am shot?
 
Hi Tanya, I think the SLGL method is OK for me. I read it once but I'm still not sure if i give his dose tonight at the same time & same amount because I missed the am shot?

You have 2 options, as I see it, for tonight:
1. you can give his 1Fat dose at his usual time (as yesterday) and keep it for 7 days. Try to administer insulin as much aspossible 12 h apart every day. Records tests and post regularly. AFter a week you will see if this 1Fat dose brigs his nadir below 150.
2. you can give him 1Fat dose an hour earlier but you 'll have to keep it the same 12 h apart, or move it slowly back to your usual time by increments of 15 min per CYCLE, or 30 min per 24 hours. Keep for a week - and reassess.

If you choose to shoot earlier please note that it can add some strength to the dose. Make sure you test 2 hours after the injection - it is when Lantus starts working.
 
I read it once but I'm still not sure if i give his dose tonight at the same time & same amount because I missed the am shot?
You give him the same 1 Fat dose tonight because because it gave him nice Blue 132 a few days ago. It is possible that Fat 1U dose needed more time to settle in. I follow TR and not very familiar with SLGL - but I know there is very good explanation as to how long to hold the dose.

It would easier and faster to offer advise if you can add SLGL to your signature (click on your avatar, then on Signature line). Ducia has TR in hers.
ETA: it's to put your time zone in the Signature as well.
 
Last edited:
I see that he is going down with that 404 at +7 :D which esp nice after the FS.

Has he eaten anything after that Black number?
 
Thanks Tanya, I'm going to give his 1 fat dose at regular time & keep it for a week.

Yes he ate some FFeast. If he doesn't eat enough i give him some pureed chicken in a syringe.
 
Thanks Tanya, I'm going to give his 1 fat dose at regular time & keep it for a week.

Yes he ate some FFeast. If he doesn't eat enough i give him some pureed chicken in a syringe.
Sounds like a good plan.
DO you have any other food at home - higher in carbs than FF Pate?

Or Karo syrup or honey?

If he will be getting close to the 50 you 'll need to have higher carbs food at home to bring him up.
Walmart carries inexpensive foods like FF Gravy Lovers or FF Grilled - good to have in stock at home in case drops. These cans can be kept for months unopened.
 
Tanya, I'm worn out just trying to figure out how to use this web site!

I tried several times to add my time zone & SLGS but when I click on the signature nothing happens, I can't enter anything?
 
Yes I have Honey & Karo syrup.I'll need to get some FF gravy lovers.

Why do you think he might go down that LOW?
 
How do I add the stuff to my signature?
hover the mouse over your name on the Right upper corner on the dark blue line - click on the Signature in the drop down menu that will pop - then add/ edit what ever you need in the Signature block.

I am not a techy but I've been using the site (relatively :)) successful for a year - let me know if I can help wit it. Took me several month to get used to it!
 
Last edited:
Hi Wendy, Bg 404 at 3 hrs after last test. Came down 181 pts without insulin? Is that usually what happens? I though it would go up?
 
Tanya, I'm ready to CRY I tried again & when I go to Signature I do not find a drop down menu to edit or add I'm so frustrated!

I was going to the wrong spot! Finally figured it out. Thanks for all your help. I did download your Hypo Tool Box I will get some Gravy lovers tomorrow I have all the rest.

You have been a HUGE help!
 
Last edited:
Tanya, I'm ready to CRY I tried again & when I go to Signature I do not find a drop down menu to edit or add I'm so frustrated!
we both are going to fix it right away - -no crying! please:bighug:

Ok I see that you have made an update to the Title line - it reads like that now:
Dosing advice for tonight 4/01/2018 / SLGS / Central time /Ravan -amps 433 Fur shot, +4 585.

Delete SLGL and Central time but keep the rest.

Title line is the subject line of your current thread. It appears at the top of your post and also it is exactly what ppl see when they are on Lantus and Lev Forum. The Signature block is a few lines underneath post - brief summary on the cat's condition, supplies, food, caregiver's time zone, list of meds and food currently used - etc. Like the one you can see below my posts. It also contains link to the SS - that's your Signature.

Then bring the pointer of the mouse - an arrow - to your name (JoyBee) - it is on the dark blue line at the top of the sbreen next to Inbox and Alert. Hold the mouse over it for a few seconds - then a drop down menu appears and you click on Signature. Try it.

Let me know if you cannot get there.

I am confident together we'll beat it in no time. Let me know how you ding.
 
Decided to stay at the same time & same dose I'll wait a week & see how his bg reacts. Does that sound OK?

Should i remove the ? on the POST?
 
Last edited:
Decided to stay at the same time & same dose I'll wait a week & see how his bg reacts. Does that sound OK?
That what I would do.
However, @Wendy&Neko has by far more experience in all of this. I wanted to ask if she thinks it is the right way to go.

Unless you hear any one correcting what you and I would do - give the Fat 1U a chance to work.
 
OK Tanya I think I need to lay down for a while! I do want to try what you said & see if it will work?
That's good - take a preshot test and post it here just a little bit before the injection.
Is he eating ok?

Unless the number is TOO low (ETA: at Pre-shot)- you are ok to give 1Fat - early or not but will need to be sure take the +2 and post it.

I'll try to be here on in a couple of hours.
I'll check in with you.
 
Last edited:
I'll try to be back here about 9:15pm. I'm going to stay with his regular time. I offered him food a little while ago but he didn't eat. If he won't eat by 9pm I'll give him a syringe of baby food Is that OK?
 
I offered him food a little while ago but he didn't eat. If he won't eat by 9pm I'll give him a syringe of baby food Is that OK?

If the shot time is 9 CST then take the food away from him at 7 CST - again, unless the numbers are too low.

Then test at 8:45 pm CST. If the number is above 200 - feed him as you normally would and give the Fat 1 unit at your reg time.

If it is lower than 200, do not feed - post for help. Re-test in 20 - 30 min. If he is higher(without food) it is ok to feed and shoot even if haven't heard from anyone - retest at +2, update the SS and post. If he lower - do not feed and post for urgent help. Re-test in 20 - 30 min.

ETA: I doubt he is going to be that loo that you'll have to skip the shot - just in case none is online and you are lost at what to do.


Test him 25-15 min before shot, if above 200 feed and then shou
 
Last edited:
You haven't answered my question re: if you have higher carbs food at hand.
Giving the dose tonight or not is LARGELY dependent on it as well as:

do you have enough testing strips and lancets?

Again: I do not think that he is going to low that much.

But without knowing that your are equipped to tackle whatever is thrown at you I would be giving you bad advise eta: when I say "shoot".

I hope you are to answer that you have all of these things. Or that there is WalMart nearby and you can get it before shot.
 
Last edited:
Tanya
Ravan's Bg is 443
He didn't get his shot in the am. Why do you think his bg will go real LOW tonight ?

I have FFeast but not the Hi carb I do Have Karo & Honey.

I gave him his 1+ shot at 9pm. He then ate 1/2 can Soulistic tuna & gravy ( that's the only one can I had that has gravy.

I sure hope he doesn't go too low tonight. I'll be checking his bg. I'll make sure to get some Ffeast with gravy tomorrow.

If he doesn't want to eat the FFeast with gravy How would I feed him that? (if he needed it)
 
Last edited:
Now you got me so afraid. He didn't get his shot in the am. I don't understand, why you think his bg would go real LOW now?
:bighug:posted earlier that I was not thinking he was going to drop.
:)
I said it is good to know that you have all that needed in case he does. Today or tomorrow ot a week from now - gravy foods and high carbs like Karo are to be kept in any home where diabetic is.

Was the 443 his latest , the preshot results? It's not in the SS yet.
But if it was his preshot, go ahead and feed him as you'd do normally do and then give him 1Fat unit.

How is his appy now?

And do you have any higher carb foods at home?
If even if he does not need High Carbs today - it's wise to keep it around.
 
Tanya,
Did you read my last post?
He ate 1/2 can right after his shot at 9pm.
9pm bg is now in his spreadsheet.

I'll definitely get the high carb food tomorrow .

If your cat needed to eat the High carb & refused to eat How would you get it in HIM?

Thanks Tanya, You are the only one helping me.
 
Last edited:
Did you read my last post?
He ate 1/2 can right after his shot at 9pm.
I posted before 9 pm your time - so, no neither 443 preshot nor that ate was on at the time. I of course I readt he post.
9pm bg is now in his spreadsheet.
Yes, I can see that now in the SS.
i think you can plan your next shot at +2 or +3 , or in between.
If the same or lower - feed a little and then take another test an hour to be sure he hasn't fallen down.
If higher - feed a little LC or nothing and try to get a good night sleep - until some tome before the preshot, and do not forget that it has to be 2 hours food influence fee - no eating at least 2 h before the shot.
I'll definitely get the high carb food tomorrow .
If you do not have any and the need for them arises - use a few drops of honey, Karo or a Maple Syrup - mix with his reg foods instead - it worked very well for many.

If your cat needed to eat the High carb & refused to eat How would you get it in HIM?
One bigest worries of mine :nailbiting:
But: I bought feeding syringes+ pill caps so I'd syringe feed what's needed.
Before that I'd try all old tricks to entice an appy in a cat: warming up his food, adding Parmesan cheese to it, or mixing with Tuna Juice - a water from canned human tuna but it must be water only - no veggy broth.
Thanks Tanya you seem to be the only one helping me.
:)not true - Wendy posted above her thoughts - and there'll be others, too - it's Sunday Holiday night - many ppl just getting home and need rest, not internet.
 
Hi Joy. If Ravan wont eat when he’s low, you can try to get him to lick the gravy from the high carb food, or rub the honey on his gums. When Colin went low he got tired of eating and I syringed gravy and honey mixture.
 
You're right! Sorry I'm tired & upset. I meant You were helping me most of the time today.I forgot it's a Holiday. There have been times in the past that i spent Christmas alone so Holidays get forgotten a lot!

I'll check again at 11pm if his bg isn't dropping by much do you think I'd be safe waiting till 5am or should i check every few hours all night?
 
I'll check again at 11pm if his bg isn't dropping by much do you think I'd be safe waiting till 5am or should i check every few hours all night?
I f the +2 (11 Pm CST) is higher than the preshot - leave some wet food out for him - no more than 2 teaspoons and add some water to it - keeps it fresh, and try to get very good night sleep.
It would be fantastic if you can bring in one or more late in the cycle tests - but do not stress about it - your rest is as important to his health as his own.
I'll be online for a little longer although i have a company in the house. I'll make sure to check in with you tonight but I really hope that the night is uneventful, he eats well and you sleep well.!
 
Hi Tanya, Just checked, bg 434 Do you think I can wait till 5am to check again?

That's when i normally get up to feed them. If you think I should check sooner i can set my alarm?

If I left food out one of my other cats would eat it.

What does ," no drugs + no vets= healthier pets " refer to? ( I'm all for that! Not only for animals but for us too!) I don't take any pharmaceuticals & rarely ever go to a doctor

I really wish I never had to take my kitties to a Vet They get so stressed out!
 
Last edited:
You never answered if his appy - the appetite - was all right.

Anyway, leave some wet canned FF Pate with some WATER ADDED to his food and try to get good rest.
So very well deserved! I'l check in a bit later and then go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top