4/07 Cow AMPS 95 +3 113 +6.5 97 +11 77 PMPS 79 +3 106

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Cow's numbers need to drop below 50 in order for you to reduce the dose. If you abort the cycle by feeding HC, there's no way to know where the numbers would have gone.
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Below 50? Im terrified to let the numbers drop below 50. What would be the worst to happen if I dropped the dose and see where we went for a few days? Im just really concerned about getting another 4 hours sleep night with my work deadlines....It always seems the numbers get the lowest at night when I need to sleep. :(
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

I believe Bast uses a human glucometer.

Many cats do run in lower numbers at night. That's why we encourage you to get some spot checks during the PM cycle on a regular basis.

I understand your apprehension! We all do because we've all been in your shoes. The first time anyone sees a number in the 40s on their meter, most of us panic -- heart is racing, hands trembling, and all that you've read about how to handle those numbers goes right out the window. (Give the cat a can of HC with a Karo chaser!!) Then, after you see you are in control because you have a meter and are testing, you know that HC will bring numbers up and that there are people here who can calmly walk you through the process that's in the low numbers post, it all begins to make sense and becomes second nature.

If you reduce the dose, there's a chance the reduction won't hold and you'll have to increase the dose.
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Good morning guys ... very nice amps cow! I also agree with Sienne .. It was VERY hard for us in the beginning to let mocha drop even close to the 50's without panicking .. then one night we saw her down in the 20's and we knew what real panic was .. but we were able to bring her up all the times she went "low" It's very scary the first few times, but again, there are always people around here to help walk you through those numbers the first few times ... have a great day!
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Deep breath and ...ok I gave him the 0.5 again.

I must get some proper sleep tonight...im in the middle of doing an audit and have a tight deadline tomorrow and lack of sleep and numbers just dont mix well for me. All that whining aside... if the numbers are in the 50's again tonight at the PMPS I dont know what to do...same as last night until I have a night that I can stay up again?
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Let's wait and see where Cow's at closer to shot time. How about making sure you can get a +11? I'd take the "dose advice" out of your subject line for now. If you are concerned about where Cow is at closer to PMPS, post the question in your subject line then. (If you keep the question in your subject line all day, people will ignore it since they may have responded earlier in the day.)
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Let's wait and see where Cow's at closer to shot time. How about making sure you can get a +11? I'd take the "dose advice" out of your subject line for now. If you are concerned about where Cow is at closer to PMPS, post the question in your subject line then. (If you keep the question in your subject line all day, people will ignore it since they may have responded earlier in the day.)

Thanks so much Sienne! You're the best!
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 +3 113 +6.5 97 +11 77 Dose Advice Pleas

Here we are at +11.

Im struggling with what to do with the dose. I need to get some more sleep tonight and Im worried about him going hypo. That being said I dont want to screw up the whole process of things :(

Any advice is appreciated.
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 +3 113 +6.5 97 +11 77 Dose Advice Pleas

Cow hasn't really earned a reduction, and in fact has been surfing along very nicely for the past few days. Having said that, if you really need to sleep and can't monitor, you can always reduce for tonight and then get back on track tomorrow. I think many of us have had to do that at some point. Does it mess things up? Usually (not always), but usually it is temporary. It might take a few days for him to get back to these numbers, or it might not.

You do have to let him get used to green numbers at some point. If you look at the spreadsheets of kitties who are about to go OTJ or who have gone OTJ, they are usually in green 24/7.
 
Re: 4/07 Cow AMPS 95 +3 113 +6.5 97 +11 77 Dose Advice Pleas

Libby and Lucy said:
Cow hasn't really earned a reduction, and in fact has been surfing along very nicely for the past few days. Having said that, if you really need to sleep and can't monitor, you can always reduce for tonight and then get back on track tomorrow. I think many of us have had to do that at some point. Does it mess things up? Usually (not always), but usually it is temporary. It might take a few days for him to get back to these numbers, or it might not.

You do have to let him get used to green numbers at some point. If you look at the spreadsheets of kitties who are about to go OTJ or who have gone OTJ, they are usually in green 24/7.

Duly noted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top