4/07 Bailie amps 338 +3.5 376

Nancyco*

Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma can I get your take on Bailies latest numbers ? He was low at the end of the first cycle yesterday and had good numbers for as long as I tested last night but this morning he is a bit high .Do u think he will be bouncing today ?
 
He cleared the bounce quite dramatically yesterday, but that dive he did at the end of the AM cycle triggered another bounce! :banghead:
Let's see what he does today. He is quite a bouncy boy!
 
He cleared the bounce quite dramatically yesterday, but that dive he did at the end of the AM cycle triggered another bounce! :banghead:
Let's see what he does today. He is quite a bouncy boy!
Does this mean that he will never get regulated because he bounces so much ?
 
Not necessarily. How is his neuropathy?
He’s walking better he has lifted a little so he’s not as flat on his hocks as he was but he is still not normal. If he doesn’t get regulated it will mean his neuropathy will never get better right ? I’m so bummed I want him to get regulated so badly ..
 
He’s walking better he has lifted a little so he’s not as flat on his hocks as he was but he is still not normal. If he doesn’t get regulated it will mean his neuropathy will never get better right ? I’m so bummed I want him to get regulated so badly ..
He doesn't need to stop bouncing for the neuropathy to resolve. Bandit never stopped bouncing - but the neuropathy resolved - it took a little time, but it did.
 
My vet says that the bouncing is very hard on his body .Is she right ?
Bouncing is inevitable in newly diagnosed/unregulated cats. As a cat gets used to lower numbers, bouncing will reduce. What your vet is suggesting will leave a cat in flat but high numbers - there may be no bouncing that way - but no regulation either!

Take yesterday for example - you would have shot 4U in the morning because he was 390+ and he would have dropped to 86 at PMPS and then you would have skipped the shot and he would have bounced nevertheless. In fact, he would have been higher without insulin and taken longer to clear the bounce since the depot would need to rebuild. We tried going down to 3.75U to see if that keeps him in slight higher numbers and therefore reduces the swings - it didn't.
 
Back
Top