4/03 Noogi - AMPS 85, +2 56, +7 76, +11 67, PMPS 92, +4 56

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

All okay here :D

Noogi surprised me with a 56 at +2 this AM. As I wasn't sure I would be able to check on him in the day I gave him MC and a bit of HC then and in his feeder for later, just in case. As it happened I did get home at lunch, expecting at least a blue, but he was sitting comfy on 76.

He was on the lower side when I got him, so got some MC in him his before his shot. I have to be out this evening so am going to have to leave more MC and maybe HC for him to see him through the first part of his cycle tonight.

@Bandit's Mom Bhooma, any thoughts? Is this okay?
I know it is too soon to be thinking of a reduction again, or is it, if I'm pumping him full of carbs?
Prefer not to be carb manipulating, but surely okay to be safe if I have to be out. Should I do a test on the weekend to see how he fairs without any MC?

Hope all the kittens are surfing safely :bighug:
 
I have to be out this evening so am going to have to leave more MC and maybe HC for him to see him through the first part of his cycle tonight.
When do you have to leave and when are you back?


I know it is too soon to be thinking of a reduction again, or is it, if I'm pumping him full of carbs?
Prefer not to be carb manipulating, but surely okay to be safe if I have to be out. Should I do a test on the weekend to see how he fairs without any MC?
Are you using a lot of carbs or is it just one snack in the first couple of hours in some cycles?
 
When do you have to leave and when are you back?



Are you using a lot of carbs or is it just one snack in the first couple of hours in some cycles?

I need to leave right now! Back between +4 and +5 if I can.

It feels like I am using a lot. More than I should. Sometimes less if i can watch him.
It's been a mad-busy week and I have not been as mindful of his food as I should. I need to really focus on that this coming week.
For tonight I am going to err on the side of caution.
 
Of course, please do feed some HC before you leave.

I meant that you don't want to take an unearned reduction if you aren't feeding a whole lot of carbs in every cycle. If you can't monitor over the next week, it might be safer to go down in dose - as a sort of vacation dose to keep him safe.
Very good to know that is an option for those busy times.
I will be around all weekend, so will monitor more closely and see where we are beginning of next week.

Now, tonight as you know I went the carb route - MC an hour before his shot, more MC at his shot, then HC and MC snacks at approx +1.5 and +2.5.
As I got home, a bit after +4, he was immediately asking for more, and I saw he had polished off all his snacks. Clean bowls.
They were generous portions and quite a lot of carbs: a generous tablespoon HC and the rest MC, with a little bit of plain cooked chicken.
I was fully expecting higher numbers, but he was at 56!

So to me it looks like he is really working that insulin. Would he have gone down to dangerous levels without the carbs?
Why no bounce? Is that still coming? Or is his body just really handling carbs well now?
Is he telling me he is going to be ready for another reduction soon?

Lots of questions I know! Guess I am going to have to watch and see :)
 
Oh wow, Noogi!!! He's really taking in those carbs and putting that insulin to work - it's great to see how he's learning and developing. Definitely keeps you on your toes, but hopefully since you're home this weekend, you'll get some good data. Looking forward to see where he takes things :cat:
 
Now, tonight as you know I went the carb route - MC an hour before his shot, more MC at his shot, then HC and MC snacks at approx +1.5 and +2.5.
As I got home, a bit after +4, he was immediately asking for more, and I saw he had polished off all his snacks. Clean bowls.
They were generous portions and quite a lot of carbs: a generous tablespoon HC and the rest MC, with a little bit of plain cooked chicken.
I was fully expecting higher numbers, but he was at 56!
That's quite a lot of propping up with carbs. I think you can try a reduction to 1.25U from tomorrow (4/4). Good luck! :-)
 
Wow, he is just doing incredibly, Helen! Look at him go!

Downing those carbs and still sitting in the greens like "Look, Mom! No blues!" :smuggrin:

Best of luck with whichever decision you make and I also look forward to seeing what Noogi has in store for you!
 
Back
Top