4/02 Zoey PMPS 407, +2 364, +4 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL! Its back to chilly temperatures again this morning, -6C (21F) with a high of only 1C (34F). Brrrr! The skies are blue though, so can't complain too much!

Zoey got an increase to 1.25 units this morning, hopefully he comes down nice and slow since I have to go to work in a bit and can't be home all day! I'll be able to check on him though, so all should be well :) In other news, as I was typing this, Zukey's entire breakfast landed all over my carpet... blech. He eats too fast sometimes!

Hope everyone has a fabulous Tuesday! Healing vines to Aseel, Michelle, Mannie and all other kitties and beans in need of them.
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346 Dose increased

Good luck on the dose increase. And yuch on the bletch. :lol: Lots of that going on in LL today.

Have a geat day!
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346 Dose increased

Paws crossed! Nice and easy, Zoey. He will be fine if you check on him at +3. Can you leave out some food? I hope Zukey is ok after his scarf and barf. :roll: Too bad he couldn't do that on a non-carpeted location. Happy Tuesday!
Liz
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346 Dose increased

Hi guys .. good luck with the extra juice! I hope it's just what zoey needs .. sorry about the scarf n barf .. some kitties just can't help it I guess .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149 Dose increased

It would appear Zoey is enjoying the extra juice! He is in the blues, 149... I'm only home for a few minutes, then back at +5. Should I be giving him a MC food since he's heading down quick? Or HC? Of course he does this when I can't be here! Lol. Cats, lol.
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49 Possible hypo??

Ok, so we are in the green. I will give him some high carb food, how much is suggested? Should he have any Karo or anything? Test again in 20??
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49 Possible hypo??

Some HC gravy -- probably about 2 teaspoons -- and retest in 20 sounds good.

These are just low numbers. It's not a hypo unless you see symptoms.
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49 Possible hypo??

First of all, breathe. It's not a hypo unless he's showing symptoms. HC would be good.
Liz
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49

Ok, it suggested in the How to Deal with Low Numbers to put possible hypo in the subject line, sorry to freak anyone out! This is the lowest he's been so I'm trying to stay cool. Just sucks because I'm supposed to be back to work in forty minutes... I gave him a tsp HC, I will give him another.

Thanks!
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49

You're doing great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: That was exactly right to put hypo in the subject line, so you get attention right away. We were just saying that to help you calm down. :-D This is around his nadir so he should be coming up. For a newly diagnosed diabetic, a BG below 50 earns a dose reduction. I will let a dosing expect advise you on that.
Liz
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49

Ok :) I'm breathing :) I just upped his dose this morning by .25 because he had been sitting in reds, yellows and pinks for awhile... now he skipped blue completely on me lol. Going to retest :)
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49

I didn't want you to panic thinking it was a hypo. You're doing great and so is Zoey.

Here's my fence-sitting about dose. The 1.0u dose wasn't enough. The 1.25u dose is a little too much. Sometimes, having increased the dose kick starts things so it's possible that you'll see better numbers with the 1.0u. On the other hand, you could try shooting a skinny 1.25u -- a dose that's between 1.0 and 1.25u. I think this could go either way. What are you most comfortable with?
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83

I'm good with whatever you recommend :) I could do a skinny 1.25, or I'm good with going back to 1.0 and seeing if the 1.25 did kick start things. He's coming back up, but it could be a food spike, right?
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83

I just gave him another tsp of 14% gravy. Great time to find out he's not the biggest fan of my HC options... I'm supposed to leave in a few minutes... Do I leave out food for him? Is 14% enough? I wont be back until +8....
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83, +6.25 94

Ok, I have to head out but I'm leaving some 14%. I could go for break early, in an hour and fifteen, otherwise it would be an hour and 45. Should I come back a bit early? He is going up. I hope its ok to leave him 14%... I dont want to undo anything I just hate leaving him when he's low...
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83, +6.25 94

I think either one is ok. Looks like he's going up pretty good. Are you keeping track of how much you feed him and when? Then the next time you can adjust from there. Nice greens, Zoey! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83 +6.25 94 +8

I'm glad to come home and see he is just fine :) I kept track of how much I fed him to get him up to 94, but I'm not sure how much he ate of the 14% I left out and how much the other two got lol. Looks like he might have got a bit too much maybe since he jumped so much! He's a sensitive guy, a little seems to go a long way with him!!!
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83 +6.25 94 +8

This is very good data to have. Next time, you can try something lower in carbs and see what happens. We are thinking of getting some wireless web cams, then we can see who eats what. :lol: :lol: Congrats on Zoey's first greens!!!
Liz
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey AMPS 346, +3 149, +5.5 49, +5.8 83 +6.25 94 +8

Nice greens! And good job handling the drop! Protocol says if you go under 50 you drop the dose 0.25IU... so its back to 1IU i believe.

Wendy
 
Re: 4/2 Zoe AMPS 346 +3 149 +5.5 49 +6 83 +6.3 94 +8 216 +10

Webcams would be awesome! I need that too! Looks like he's bounced again! I only gave him a bit of LC food at +8 and he's back in space! Should I still take him back to 1.0? Man he likes to keep me guessing!

Thanks for the help with the greens! And thanks Wendy! I tried hard to breathe and chill, Zoey style lol.
 
Re: 4/2 Zoe AMPS 346 +3 149 +5.5 49 +6 83 +6.3 94 +8 216 +10

Wondering if you've ever had "shooting through the bounce" explained, Emily?
 
Re: 4/2 Zoe AMPS 346 +3 149 +5.5 49 +6 83 +6.3 94 +8 216 +10

"shooting through the bounce" means that Zoey has earned a reduction, but you shoot the higher dose just one more time because he is bouncing, then take the reduction after that. So you would shoot 1.25u tonight and 1.00u in the morning and subsequent cycles. Since he's going to the moon, that might be a good strategy. Come down, Zoey!
Liz
 
Re: 4/2 Zoe AMPS 346 +3 149 +5.5 49 +6 83 +6.3 94 +8 216 +10

Thanks Liz. I couldn't have said it nearly that simply and would have taken three paragraphs to do so!

The logic, Emily is that shooting through the bounce can make the bounce "go away" more quickly.
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey PMPS 407

Thanks Carl and Liz!! That makes sense and I hadn't heard that one yet; or if I had, I hadn't retained that info, lol. We did the 1.25 units, so hopefully that does what it's supposed to and helps him come down and stay down :-D
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey PMPS 407

Hi guys,
You did great today. Zoey is bouncing from his unaccustomed low numbers, so don't worry. It will be interesting to see how he does tomorrow after you decrease the dose. Have a good evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/02 Zoey PMPS 407

Wow, what a day! I was going to say "work that increase!", but it looks like "work that decrease" is more appropriate :lol: ! Have a great night!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top