4/01 Zoey PMPS 265, +2 293, +4 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

Yesterday's Condo

Zoey is enjoying being in the clouds apparently; perhaps he's out on red Mars? Perhaps he'll start floating down slowly soon and get over this bounce!

Gryff seems a little better this morning; playing with his mouse and causing trouble, as is the norm.

I hope everyone has a fantastic Monday and healing vines to those in need!
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495

Good morning Emily!
I hope Zoey ditches that red floor and comes down for you today. Hey, Zoey... come one little one.. get down with your self!
What a beautiful furry family you have!! Pass out scritches from us please. Hugs to you. mary and ollie
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495

Blech on that AMPS! Zoey, come down from there. He might be due for an increase. Maybe ask for dosing advice - use the ? icon and put "dose Q" in the subject line. Happy Monday!
Liz
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358

Well, Zoey is still up high! Liz suggested I see if anyone has suggestions about a dose increase for him?? Thanks for any input!!

Thanks Mary! Ollie is a handsome boy too!! Scritches to Ollie too!

Angela, I haven't been able to get a ketone test today, Zoey has been lazy and sleeping lots this Monday morning! I'm hoping to soon!

Liz, I figured he'd need one right when I have to go back to work after 4 days off! Little bugger!
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495

Their timing can be amazing. :roll: :lol: To get the attention of the dosing experts, you will need to use the ? icon and add "dose Q" to the subject line of the very first post. Also add the "+3 395" there too. Then they will see it in the forum without having to read everything in Zoey's condo.
Liz
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, dose increase?

Ok, Liz, thanks! I was also wondering about dental care? It seems lots of beans take their cats regularly for cleanings, can an infection in his teeth make his numbers high?
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, dose increase?

Good morning Miss Emily!

From the TR protocol

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

While he's just at six days on insulin, you had a skipped shot. When we skip a shot, stall, or shoot a reduced dose, the cycle count starts over. And Zoey is getting into some blue and bouncing up. I do think he will need more insulin but let's give him today and see what he does. If he doesn't get a little more blue, then I think an increase to 1.25u is warranted.

You are doing a great job of testing and those spot checks are important.

I was just reading Zoeys profile and admiring how handsome he and his brothers are. Poor Gryfin but what an amazing mom you are! Gracie had IC as well but never blocked. She has been IC free for three years now :-D
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, dose increase?

Thanks Marje! I'm glad to hear that Gracie has never blocked and has been incident free for so long! Gryffin has also been good for just over three years!

Thanks for the advice! It's so hard to know what to do; I'm so blessed to have this board and all the amazing insight! Zoey and I thank you!! We will stay at 1.0 for now and see what happens. Hopefully he decides to get into the blues today!
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, dose increase?

We just wanted to stop by and say welcome! You have a very handsome boy. I am a sucker for Maine Coon's. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, dose increase?

You're welcome, Emily. I don't want him to sit at this dose much longer if he doesn't come down but let's give him today and reassess.

That's great news for Gryffin! IC is really frustrating because it is so painful even without blocking.
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, +6 245

Darn, still no blues... He's coming down slowly though... maybe at +9. Probably looking an increase tonight, depending how low he goes?
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey AMPS 495, +3 358, +6 245, +8 232, dose increas

Hi Emily,
I think so, based on what Marje said earlier, and if you don't see any blue...
While he's just at six days on insulin, you had a skipped shot. When we skip a shot, stall, or shoot a reduced dose, the cycle count starts over. And Zoey is getting into some blue and bouncing up. I do think he will need more insulin but let's give him today and see what he does. If he doesn't get a little more blue, then I think an increase to 1.25u is warranted
.

Let's see how this cycle plays out...
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey PMBG 265, dose increase?

Looks like we may be doing the increase... He didn't touch the blues today, went down to yellow and stayed there. Of course he picks right now as the time to increase when I have to work tomorrow after being off for days and days! Murphy's Law I suppose lol.

So I'm good to go ahead with the increase? Is there a picture of what 1.25 would look like in the syringe? Or .25 anyways? Seems tricky!
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey PMBG 265, dose increase?

Actually, when I said "today", I meant all day including both cycles. :-D The part of the protocol I posted says "5-7" days". Tonight would really be just six full days on insulin even if you DID count the skipped shot.

That would be my suggestion. And sometimes flat yellow means action coming....not always but sometimes.
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey PMPS 265

Oh! I see :) Ok! That makes sense :) So I will do the norm tonight and then see about for tomorrow. Gotcha! Lol. We will keep watching tonight then :) Sorry for getting confused! LOL
 
Re: 4/01 Zoey PMPS 265, +2 293

Thanks Marje, for clarifying!

Emily, here's a pic of .25u. Couldn't find one of 1.25u.
 

Attachments

  • 025unit-1.jpg
    025unit-1.jpg
    11.7 KB · Views: 518
Thanks Carl!! That is extremely helpful!!!

We are back in the pink unfortunately :sad: I was going to head to bed soon, should I wake up in a few hours and see where he is before deciding whether or not to increase? Or should I decide that based on his AMBG tomorrow morning? I do have to work tomorrow so I can't be home all day to monitor him, but I can pop home for a few minutes to test at +3 and +8 and I'll be home for lunch between +5 to +6 and home for the day at +9.5. If an increase is warranted, what would be the lowest AMBG I could do an increase with and still leave him for a few hours, in your opinion (I know there is no hard fast rules in this and who knows what could happen lol)?

Sorry for all the questions! All advice is so welcome and loved!!! Thank you!!!!!
 
If you can get a +3 tomorrow, and be around at +6, and again at +9, then you're basically running what we call a "mini-curve". That should be plenty of tests.
Post each number, time providing, as you get it.

There's no way of telling what you're going to see at AMPS tomorrow. One would expect a number higher than tonight's PMPS given the numbers since then, but that's not a "given" either.

I hesitate to put a "lowest number" value on it. But looking at your spreadsheet, you've given 1.0 on yellow numbers around 250, and once at 217. I think any of those numbers would be okay with the increased dose.

What Marje said a bit ago also applies:
And sometimes flat yellow means action coming....not always but sometimes.
If Zoey's number were to "slope" down in the next 8 hours after that +4, that would qualify as "flat yellow", and might make a difference in your decision to increase in the morning.

There should be someone here when you get the AMPS number to help if you're on the fence with what to shoot.

(sorry, not much help :? )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top