316 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Olivia and Jeanne,

I got the tag OK, but unfortunately I am of no use to ye whatsoever because I know diddly squat about Prozinc. :(

I hope that someone with Prozinc knowledge will be along very soon.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi Olivia, it's been a long day for me. Just now backtracking on all my tags for the day.

Little Bit (I love that name ... my grandparents have a little gray tiger kitty with that name) looks like she's ready for an increase.

There are two dosing methods you could be using. Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) has you upping the dose if nadirs are mostly above 150 after 7 days. You earn reductions if BG drops below 90.
Modified Prozinc Method (MPM) has you upping the dose after 3 days instead of 7. Reductions earned if BG drops below 50. Is that a method you'd like to try? You are testing enough for it. It is a more aggressive method that keeps kitties in better numbers longer.
 
[QUOTE="Panic, post: 2641798, member: Modified Prozinc Method (MPM) has you upping the dose after 3 days instead of 7. Reductions earned if BG drops below 50. Is that a method you'd like to try? You are testing enough for it. It is a more aggressive method that keeps kitties in better numbers longer.[/QUOTE]
I understand about the long day–I’m a teacher and today was my first day of teaching live all day long. Sheesh. What a day. Hope all is well with you.
Thank you! I will do whatever is best for my Little Bit, so if the MPM is safe to administer, I am willing to try it. As of now, I only have one unit U-40 syringes. I ordered others with smaller markings today. How do you suggest I begin?
And thank you so much! You don’t know how much I appreciate your knowledge and Jeanne’s help and love. <3
 
Jeanne's a sweetie pie isn't she! ;)

Yes, it is safe but you have to be prepared for lower numbers, since that's what it will encourage. Familiarize yourself with stalling, make sure you have your hypo kit with food, all that good stuff and you'll be just fine. :)

Start by increasing the dose, count 6 cycles, then look back and see how low her nadirs got. Over 150 mostly? Increase. Under 150? Maintain. Under 50 68 (on Alphatrak) at any time? Reduce by 0.25u and start the 6-cycle count over. Any time you skip or give a token dose, the count starts over too. Here is the sticky on MPM (and SLGS).

Something to keep in mind. If you still find the numbers just aren't going down much or you're struggling with bounces, consider switching to Lantus. I can't tell you the night and day difference between the two. Prozinc is good, but Lantus is gold standard haha! I am generally speaking, this isn't specific to Little Bit, just something to keep in mind if you find yourself a little stuck after a while.
 
I have karo syrup and gravy fancy feast—is that sufficient?
So, to be sure, increase (beginning tonight) to 2.25 units? I will have to eyeball since I only have syringes that measure by the whole unit.
 
@Deb & Wink
@Panic

Hopefully their tags are going through ;)
Yes, Jeanne, the tags are going through. The problem is I'm not usually able to help on the message board until later in the evening, after I've fed my cat, fed me dinner, taken my shower, and a bunch of other stuff that takes place in the evenings.

If you are not getting responses, it's probably because we are busy doing other things, helping other members, getting stuff done in our busy lives.

So, here is the link to the Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS from over in the Prozinc/PZI ISG group. It's your reference on how to manage diabetes using prozinc. There are also several other sticky posts over in that forum, that would be worth your while to read (and print out to reread if you have the chance).
 
I just loaded the syringe and put it just a tinge below the 2 unit mark—will that be ok for an increase? I would eyeball it to be .25 more.
 
Ooch, couldn't tell you off the top of my head. I don't have any U-40s anymore to reference. I would try to get it halfway between the lines, and then halfway between the plunger and the 2u line.
 
Thank you, Elizabeth! He just had his dose, so I’ll test at intervals through the night—+3, +6 & +9? We also just started a new carb free treat tonight that ALL of my cats are going wild for! They are Orijen original flavor and they are trying to break in the bag.
I will be honest and say I’m very nervous for the dose increase, but I know and understand it is necessary. I pray this extra .25 does the trick for him to regulate.
 
That sounds good!
Oooh new treats are fun! I just bought three flavors of PureBites freeze-dried treats for one of the acro cats here as a gift (shh!), I didn't think about Orijen treats! Maybe next time.
Don't be nervous - we want to see some pretty yellows, then some blues, and dare I say - greens? :D I nearly had a heart attack at my first blue after months of pinks, reds, and blacks.
 
That sounds good!
Oooh new treats are fun! I just bought three flavors of PureBites freeze-dried treats for one of the acro cats here as a gift (shh!), I didn't think about Orijen treats! Maybe next time.
Don't be nervous - we want to see some pretty yellows, then some blues, and dare I say - greens? :D I nearly had a heart attack at my first blue after months of pinks, reds, and blacks.
I might have a heart attack when we get to blues and greens! I can’t wait for my sweet boy to get to that point!
I also needed to add that I am SO UPSET with my husband! Our other 3 cats are getting a limited amount of dry food—I found the dry food bowl unattended in the kitchen when he left it down for the other cats to have a snack. Then today, one of our kitties, Gus, was screaming at me for some when I was busy. I handed the bowl to my husband and he sat it on the coffee table right in front of his face (!!!!!) and when I walked back in the room seconds later, guess whose face was nearly in the bowl???? Yep, you guessed it. Little Bit. My husband should be thankful he isn’t sleeping in the backyard tonight. Wondering if LB has possibly been getting into dry food... it wouldn’t be much because I watch like a hawk, but still could be a little and make an impact.
 
Just another indication that the increase was a good idea. Plus if he got into that dry it will keep them in the red!
I'd be so mad too LOL glad I'm not your husband! I'll bet it's sooo much easier in a house without dry food. I had to retrain my whole family to stop throwing misc food outside for the animals (can't let her get into any macaroni or bread!!) and am sloooowly getting the dry food out of the house permanently. We have one stubborn spoiled little white cat who hasn't been convinced yet. :rolleyes:

You'll be terrified at the first numbers under 200 ... but after a while you'll get bummed when you see a pink. XD
 
You read my mind about being terrified when we get under 200—but it’s an excited kind of terrified! Haha. I had convinced myself I was going to wean the other 3 off dry food for that very reason. Two of our kitties are 10 and I feel really badly for taking away something they love, but ultimately, it will be better for all of them! I know what you mean about stubborn spoiled cats. Haha. Little is sometimes talkative at night—he enjoys going in our bathroom just to chit chat. Don’t know if he enjoys the acoustics or what? But he knows it gets me up to check on him. It isn’t a cry, just chatty. I always give in, and considering the circumstances with his glucose lately, I got up and brought him in the living room to watch him for a little while. As SOON as I sat down on the couch that little stinker went to his spot in front of the fireplace, curled up and went fast asleep. He just wanted my attention (which makes my heart happy). He knows he has me trained. Anything to make him happy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top