31 July Tucker AMPS: 21.2(382)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Tucker isn't looking so good. His eyes are all funny, he has excessive thirst again and he seems to have no energy. Teddy and Daisy tried to play with him this morning and he hissed at them and cowered away, it was hard to see.
 
Tucker is getting more used to lower numbers now so will feel a bit lousy in high numbers.
Sheba often went up high at the end of the bounce before she came off the bounce.
Make sure Tucker is drinking, add a couple teaspoons warm water to his food to make it soupy.
Test for ketones today if you can.
You are doing a great job managing Tucker.
 
Agree with Bron.
And keep the chin up, you are doing a stellar job with Tucker. We'll fine tune his dose until he is running like a race engine.
 
Thanks Guys. He seemed very unwell, unhappy this morning but at least he was very hungry and ate like a champ. I've tested at +2 and +4 and he is coming down off of 21. He was 18.6 then a more reasonable 15 2 hours later. The difference in his demeanor between 21 and 15 is remarkable. At 15 he is head booping and purring but at 21 he looks dazed--it is very upsetting. I've given him some roasted chicken for only ducking and weaving during his BG test (instead of bolting) and now I'm going to try to tackle some other fun stuff this morning. Thanks for your watchful eyes.
 
The 21 and above range can be challenging. The black range is even worse. I knew a human diabetic coworker in the "olden days" before insulin pumps. He would get real cranky in the afternoon before his shot. This was also before home testing for humans.

Different cats have different tolerances. As an example, if Leo is in the red zone (high) he just acts hungry. When he was first diagnosed in the black zone (ultra high), he was all washed out and barely making it. That roasted chicken sounds good. You are probably snacking on it too!
 
I suspect the 2.5 unit dose is not enough. After tonight you'll have six cycles at this dose. However, I would still wait six cycles after than low on the 29th before deciding what to do next. That brings you to the PM dose of tomorrow night. The larger dose depot should be gone, so what you are seeing now is what 2.5 units can do.

Over time and seeing more normal numbers, the cat's body changes where they feel most comfortable. Nice to know he doesn't like those high numbers any more.
 
Our vet just rang to get an update on how Tucky is going and I shared his recent dosing and spread sheet with her. She's sad that he is feeling bad and that he is bouncing around after doing so well last week. She did ask a question though? She said that she really liked the protocol in that the .25 increases are a gentle way of increasing the dose which is better for a cat's body, she thinks that is great and is on board with it. She didn't understand why the drastic cut in dosage when he was getting down to 'normal' or pre-diabetes levels without a hypo. As in, she said she would have thought we would have gone from 5.5 down to 5, down to 4.5 instead of cutting it in half right away. She is on our side as far as dosing increases go, but she is concerned the dramatic cut in insulin could be too harsh and his little system. I didn't really know what to say so thought I would pass it on here. I know we are talking about "letting his depot refill" but he is awfully sick today. He started at 382 today, then dropped in 4 hours to 270 but now a few hours later and he is back up to 362 and is drinking lots of water but sort of dragging around. I feel like I'm hurting him, but I know I'm not, because everyone says I'm doing a good job...
 
We were getting him to a stable situation then he bounced. I think he is just not used to the higher BG. We will get him back on track. You're not hurting him. But we can't afford more hypos, so we're being careful. Like Wendy said, it is possible he may stabilize at 2.5. We need to wait 6 cycles after the change.

For the time being he is temporarily unregulated again. So he will drink and pee more. That doesn't cause any pain, but he may not feel his chipper self.
 
Ok, thank you. She wanted me to go to 3.0 tonight. Is that not ok? She looked at his spreadsheet and listened to the way he was feeling and acting today and she said that he had had 6 doses at 2.5, and she doesn't think he is ready to stay on that low of a dose with today's numbers so a little boost to 3 might make a big difference in how he feels/get him through the bounce and closer to regulation. She said "If I were his vet...oh wait...I am! I would give him 3 units tonight, it is just one dose earlier than the board would suggest.". (She is actually VERY supportive of my doing this. She also loves our cats. She did home visits with TG for free to not stress him out by having to travel...she is a special person.)
 
Last edited:
You have an amazing vet. And frankly, she is Tucker's vet. She's right on that 100%.

It is unlikely Tucker will stabilize at 2.5. It could happen, but unlikely. Wendy recommended staying at 2.5, and that is good advice. The vet advice for 3.0 is also good advice. Whatever you do, we need to stick to the 6 dose protocol. That way we measure the depot effect at that dose level.

It's 1:00am here and signoff time. I read about Adelaide today. You guys are on the half hour time difference. That is just plain goofy. But we in the U.S. are on daylight savings time. Another goofball concept that is a holdover from pre-1950 for farmers. Swapping times back and forth - I just never understood it for daylight savings time.
 
We are all goofy, you're right. I am surprised it is that late there! Go to bed! The vet is going to ring at 4 after his next test and then before she leaves work at 6 because she says she would like to be in on the discussion as far as what we give him tonight. Love her little cotton socks...
 
I just got off the phone with our vet and she said if it were her cat she would increase the dose tonight to 3 or at least a 'fat' 2.5 to help him feel a bit better-because his eyes are looking foggy and he is acting out of it. But she says, he is not her cat so the choice is mine to make, she will love us anyway we decide to go. She's going to ring me tomorrow before work to check on him and she wants me to email her before bed tonight to let her know how he is acting. She asked me to check ketones, and I had so that was good. He is turning down roasted chicken tonight and that is his fav...so something isn't right with our boy.
 
I just got off the phone with our vet and she said if it were her cat she would increase the dose tonight to 3 or at least a 'fat' 2.5 to help him feel a bit better-because his eyes are looking foggy and he is acting out of it. But she says, he is not her cat so the choice is mine to make, she will love us anyway we decide to go. She's going to ring me tomorrow before work to check on him and she wants me to email her before bed tonight to let her know how he is acting. She asked me to check ketones, and I had so that was good. He is turning down roasted chicken tonight and that is his fav...so something isn't right with our boy.

We can only suggest what we think is the best thing to do following the TR protocol. Wendy posted today with great advice and I agree with her.
But Tucker is your cat and you must do what feel most comfortable with. We won’t think any the worse whatever your choice.
If you increased .... and I would not go higher than 2.5, you need to make sure that Tucker is eating because if these high numbers are still him bouncing and not from needing more insulin , he could drop low quite quickly if he comes off the bounce tonight. I understand your dilemma having both us and your lovely vet offering different advice/ suggestions.
So I think it is your decision. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I read Wendy's comments very carefully and so we decided to stick to the 2.5 tonight. He was not eating his chicken so Kurt opened a can of low carb CORE and he has eaten, so he should be fine. Thank you for your insight.
 
I read Wendy's comments very carefully and so we decided to stick to the 2.5 tonight. He was not eating his chicken so Kurt opened a can of low carb CORE and he has eaten, so he should be fine. Thank you for your insight.
Glad he is eating !! And glad you stuck with the 2.5
He is probably feeling a bit off from the high BSLs because he likes the low ones again now. I know if I give myself a sugar hit from eating too many of my favourite sweets I feel awful and swear I will never do it again.... until the next time:rolleyes:
 
Good progress.

Our kittehs have a "camera detector". As soon as we go get the camera, they magically move.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top