31-Jan: Tyler &M: AMPS=153 : +2=128 : +6=139 : PMPS=137: +6=115

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
Tyler had a diarrhea moment yesterday after. This morning no sign of a poop nor diarrhea which under normal circumstances would be fine. He did not used to poop every single day. Am awaiting the results of the fecal tests.

His rear right back leg will not hold his weight. No walk around house and garden this morning. I helped him back into the house.
He will have the garbarpentine on a small piece of chicken, no problems.

His appetite remains good despite the everlasting poached chicken which I do realise is not a balanced diet but until the diarrhea is sorted out is about all that can be done.

His numbers look good to me, however these are on the back of the continuing restricted bland no carb diet so I am not sure about altering the dose as one hopes to alter this back to a balanced cat diet which may contain carbs.

Phil & I are trying to schedule a long two way conversation with a vet to talk about the mobility issues in particular and also diet.

30th Jan Condo
 
Last edited:
I’m sorry sorry Ty is having all these issues, I really hope he can turn it around and your vet works with you to find something to help. His poor leg, I know the methyl b12 and gaba can take time to work, but I hope he is on the faster track with those kicking in. I’m glad his appetite and numbers are good at least. Keep up the fight, Ty, we are rooting for you! :bighug:

Are you looking to increase or decrease? If you are thinking of an increase, I don’t see how adding back in regular food with carbs could make that a problem, if anything, I would think he might have slightly higher numbers with the added carbs.
 
Morning Stacey.

Not really looking to increase or decrease but am wondering if I actuallyshould be thinking of an increase given he has been at 2.00 for quite a few days now. My focus has been on his legs and rear end more.

Also, not sure he can return to the regular Iams grain free as it could maybe be that causing the bottom issues.
 
Morning Stacey.

Not really looking to increase or decrease but am wondering if I actuallyshould be thinking of an increase given he has been at 2.00 for quite a few days now. My focus has been on his legs and rear end more.

Also, not sure he can return to the regular Iams grain free as it could maybe be that causing the bottom issues.

See what others think for sure, but my thoughts are this: are his numbers largely below renal threshold? How does he act in greens, is he tired and not feeling good in them? If yes to those and you need to coast on this dose a bit longer while you sort him out, assuming he doesn’t start trending up, I’d have at it. If you increase, he will see more green and may need more monitoring/might feel a bit yuck getting used to those numbers in addition to the yuck he’s feeling now. It’s hard to be spread so thin and he’s also got other things going on, if his numbers were higher, a different story perhaps, but it’s possible a good majority of them are below renal threshold and that is really great.

I know it’s such a struggle there to get all these food varieties and supplies in NZ, it must be somewhat frustrating to read all the options others have. Is it at all possible to make your own food and/or get the mix ins like for fur life or something similar? It may be the best way to control what is and isn’t in his food if you suspect Iams is one of the problems and you don’t have the option of trying 100s of different foods. :bighug:
 
He has given you a few greens 4 cycles ago and his numbers are coming down today indicating that he is clearing the bounce. I think I would hold this dose and see what he does tonight and tomorrow with it. The greens you got a few cycles ago are higher greens and he isn't staying green long so there is some wiggle room to increase if you don't see some more green in the next two cycles. Also, he could be going lower in the PM cycles where there isn't many test, like last night. He could have gone lower than the 124 you got +2 and bounced up some. So, that in mind, I don't think I would increase until you can get some more data during the PM cycle especially during a cycle he is 124 @ +2 to see if he goes lower and just how low.

How is he eating for you? Can you get EZ complete supplements there? If so, you could add them to the poached chicken to make it a complete meal for him. My vet told me while Bubba was on all meat baby food that being on it for 4-7 days isn't an issue but any thing beyond that could be.
 
@Stacy & Asia . Good reminder about the renal threshold. I'd overlooked this during this morning's Tyler ponderings.
Noes. I don't get frustrated in reading about all the access and choice others have. I would get a little exasperated around the edges I suppose if it wasn't understood that it is a whole other ball game for us where we live. Not just re. food . Also services and access. It doesn't just apply to anything for Tyler, be that food, vet, tests. It applies to everything here.

@Bobbie And Bubba . Thanks. I will hold the dose . Late night testing/early hours testing is a bit of a prob at the moment which is why it has tailed off.
 
@Stacy & Asia @Bobbie And Bubba

Thought this might give you the wry smile it gave me.

Quote from the EZ Fur Life website. :rolleyes:

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Is someone going to get high on all those cat supplements? I guess anything powder form is suspect? :joyful:

It’s gross for me to even think about, but you can make your cat food with all the good vits using organ meats. I think brains, hearts and kidneys have good stuff (including taurine) in them. It’s tricky to know how much and all that, but I looked in to making my own back before raw food was commercially available here, I’m sure there are tons of websites with detailed info if you wanted to go that route.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba .
No. It would likely never arrive . I'd think that plenty of NZ customers have fallen foul of this hence the alert on the website.
I've been waiting a good 3 weeks for two boxes of syringes of mass destruction which may arrive as we head into the 22nd century.

@Stacy & Asia
I have a notion that I need to be careful of offal due to the CKD issue. Best meats are rabbit (cannot get) chicken ( can get) diamond encrusted venison ( have some)
Just re-found posts by Bron and Sheba about a home made diet. She had to source all supplements and make from scratch & she is in Australia where there is more availability and choice.

HHhmmm.....


edit . Note for me. No bones.
 
You may be amused to know that the manufacturer of raw meat that I buy from here, sources most of their venison from New Zealand. Cheaper than the stuff from Canada. o_O (where I live). Oh, and kangaroo is also a popular raw meat option here. Most kitties love it.

Typical :p .

I have never seen human grade kangaroo meat here. I think I have found that I may be able to source...........wild wallaby. Wallabies are here in NZ even though they shouldn't be. Also rabbit and hare. Much depends on the prices. It's local to the South Island but not too local to me so quality and transport costs come into play.
Best to use a named game/exotic meat supplier as otherwise I could end up being sold meat from animal pests randomly killed by our local hunters so no quality standard applied.

Here is something that made me happy but I won't put it in the What Made You Smile topic as Dickson is talking aquariums and I don't wish to post over that.

My-Syringes-Arrived ! Oh-Yes-They-Did :woot:

I now have 200 demi measure syringes which shipped from the UK. They took 3 weeks to arrive & don't seem to have been tampered with other than the boxes were squished & one corner of one box may have been prised a little open to peer inside. Neither does there seem to be an added excise/customs levy .

Cost comes in at around NZD 50 cents each. That is about 40 cents USD. 45 cents CAD. 46cents AUS. As many of you know, I have been paying $2 a syringe with no half measures.

The things that make you happy. :smuggrin:
 
That's great you got your 'cheaper' syringes finally!! Now that you know they take 3 weeks to arrive, you know your timeline when you need to order more. :)

That's an interesting discussion about the raw meat. I haven't seen any raw kangaroo meat around here, unless it's from a company, instead of make-your-own.
 
@Mandy & Rex Not sure I can rely on it being 3 weeks again. The hold up will have been at Customs this end. Likely arrived into the country within 7 days as if it had been shipped rather than by air , it would have taken 6 weeks to arrive. Hold ups at customs can be any length of time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top