31 Jan | Girlie AMPS 182; +4.5=94 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-4-pmps-103-94-3-possible-pet-sitter.190399/

AMPS 182, but last night PMPS was 103. Her greens have been getting consistently towards the higher end, and I'm seeing more blue. Should I be considering a dose increase from a drop to 0.1 again? This is cycle 33 for a drop. Or do I just stick with this, especially considering that I'm leaving on the 18th of February, which is just over two weeks from now. I'm not sure how to judge things at these low numbers... :-) Also, I can't monitor closely except on the weekends as I'm back at work full-time now. Hmm...
 
The numbers do seem to be trending up. However, they are still under renal threshold. You could try an increase for now, while you're around to monitor, and then drop the dose again when you leave.

Big Question: who is watching Girlie while you're gone? Will he/she be comfortable shooting a micro dose? Be testing enough?

A vet nurse will be staying with Girlie. She's apparently looked after diabetics before and was recommended by a lovely local vet. I think she'll find giving a drop easier than trying to give 0.1, but she's familiar with giving micro doses. She'll probably just test Girlie for am/pm pre-shots as then she'll do her job as a vet nurse at the vet's. Girlie and I are meeting her next week to see if they mesh well together. We had a long, long talk on the phone, though. I sent her the link to Girlie's SS and she's very impressed; she mentioned that it would be great to record how much water she drinks as well (I've slacked off on that for a while now).

I'm okay if Girlie goes higher while I'm away: I just don't want any low dives. She just seems to be so steady now, though, with her numbers at cycle 34 of a drop. We haven't come close to a shark number for a long time, and we've only had two green pre-shots so far.

What do you think, Tricia?
 
I don't think it would hurt anything to hold the dose till you get back, assuming Girlie doesn't do anything silly. I think she is in perfectly safe numbers now, both shark-wise and kidney-wise. I always tell people to have sitters shoot a lower dose, especially if they won't be monitoring during the day. So if you are confident she can manage a drop, I think that's the way to go. You know safety is always our first concern. I do like the look of Girlie's SS the past couple of weeks! :woot:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top