The reason that I asked is that Girlie dropped to 49 on 12/26. I realize she was at the vet and frankly, I haven't a clue what the vet was doing. It looks like your vet was attempting to dose Lantus they way you would with a short acting insulin (i.e., it looks like Girlie got 3 shots that day).
Thanks, Sienne!
Girlie is on Levemir, not Lantus. She's been on Levemir since 11 Nov 2017.
I put in the Remarks column that the vet was feeding Girlie m/d and that Girlie was barely eating. Don't know how that could be as she didn't lose any weight while in hospital.
No, re 3 shots on one day. My SS has been messed up for a while; it took the number from row 236 instead of row 235; I've just corrected that manually.
24 Dec: 0.25 at 7 am/7 pm; dive to 49 at PM+6 and 25 at PM+10
25 Dec: No shot AM or PM
26 Dec: 49 at AMPS (7 am): No AM shot
26 Dec: 0.25 at 3 pm after she came up to 205@ AM+8 on 26 Dec. Girlie now on 3 AM/PM schedule
Why they didn't reduce her dose is beyond me, unless they couldn't figure out how to read 0.1 on a 1/2 unit syringe.
Did you drop the dose once Girlie was back home?
Yes, I did. I got her home on PM of 28 December. You can see on the SS that she got 0.1 at 1 pm (vet's schedule). She was due her next shot at 1 AM; I skipped that and gave her 0.1 at 7 am of 29 December.
Going back to 12/17, you reduced the dose at the PM cycle. With TR, if nadirs are mostly below 200, you would hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles.
Girlie is on AlphaTrak2, so at +4 of 17 December, she dropped to 66 (below 68) which on AT2 means a reduction, which is why I reduced to 0.25 in the PM cycle.
If you knew you were going to be in the hospital, I wouldn't have increased the dose but Girlie was due for an increase.
I was not planning to go to hospital; I went via ambulance so didn't have much choice in the matter.
It looks like you're trying to intervene with food, which is good. One thing that may help to consider is to try to maximize the amount of insulin and intervene with higher carb food.
Yes, quite some time ago
@Marje and Gracie was helping me try to learn how to stall and steer Girlie. I put the carb % on my SS so it's easy to see at a glance what % of carb food she got and how much she dove or came up. 12 - 16 December is interesting if you want to look at the effect higher carbs has on her, especially at night.
I thought that the stress of being in hospital would raise BG levels. Can not eating much drop BG levels as dramatically as hers dropped while at the vets? Or could just the stress of being in hospital drop BG levels?
I need to figure this all out as I'm going away at the end of February for two weeks (less if I need to come home early for her), and I need to know how to make her safe while she's at the vet's.