31/1 Mauer AMPS 295, +2 257 +5 209 +8 146 +10 122

Oh yes, we've all done that at some stage. Mo LOVES to move when I'm poking him in the ear. Those yellows are looking good! Fingers crossed Mauer slides down on the new insulin :)
I know, it isn't my first time either, but you know.. it still feels awful. If it were my ear I'd move too! No wait... I'd probably run as fast as I could :eek::p

I like those yellows too! She seems in better mood too, or maybe I'm just imagining it? I really like it's not a roller-coaster!
 
Famous last words... but I feel more confident shooting low on Lantus than I did on PZI because I feel like usually the drops are not as crazy.

You know what to do if you have low numbers!

I am glad you started on a low amount of Lev! Seems like it was a good place.
 
Shoot low to stay low is the mantra here. ;) Trust me, I was terrified of shooting low! But I was never left alone and I was guided through every up and down. :cat:
Thankfully I know I won't be on my own, but still.. she's still my responsibility. I'm so afraid of doing something wrong. Witch is funny, I've been doing this 10 months now.

@Hercule's mum I'm glad I started low too, Karen!
And the fact that my teststips haven't been delivered yet :nailbiting::woot: I have 20 to my freestyle meter, and 5 more to a back up meter.
 
I did thought you were a bit on the light side of testing... Now I know why! Do you know when they will arrive. Anywhere you can just go and buy?

A blue I see! Amazing! May this gentle downward movement continues.
Well, in a perfect world, yeah.
But they're never in stock when I need them! :banghead:
Perhaps I should order a pack of 100 more...
122 +10
 
I'm with all likelihood going to shoot lower than I'd like.... already.
Now I'll eat some chocolate ti celebrate we won the world championship in handball... and as comfort food for shooting blue.

I'm telling myself I'm not shooting the number. She won't bottom out, cause the shot won't work the first few hours anyway. And I do not reduce.
Right?!?!
@Marje and Gracie :oops:
 
That will be something you may need to get used to, since it does happen with later nadir, and recognizing that onset with Levemir is often a few hours away, so in most cases their numbers start to trend back up after food before the next dose kicks in.

For newer people following either TR or SLGS who are just gathering data, we usually suggest if you have a preshot less than 150, to stall (don't feed) and post for help.

Once you gather more data and experience with the insulin and how your cat responds, you will find with TR you can get to the point where you can shoot anything above 50 and with SLGS you can shoot above 90.

Let's see where she is at, maybe check at +11.5 and post. I see you are short on test strips, which isn't ideal.
 
How do one decide on a no shoot number?
experience... I am afraid.

I would not want you to be confortable with whatever you decide, but just want to remind you that L insulin is quite different from prozinc. It took me a while to get my head around it, but it is all about the depot. So if you decide not to shoot, you are potentially affecting the next 6 cycles, and after missing acouple it would be quite hrad to keep track of what is affecting what...

Also, although you are new to Lev, you have experiencing handling low numbers. So you know you can handle whatever happens. :)

So the main question to decide is, do you have enough strips, enough HC/ or honey, and can you handle checking tonight?
 
I loved shooting blue. Levemir will get you addicted to flat blue cycles, then eventually green. With food bump, Neko went up for about 5 hours after her shot.

It looks like Mauer likes Levemir too. :cool:
 
That means he's flat and surfing, not dropping anymore. I can't stay with you, so you have to decide what is comfy for you.
 
I have a hard time wrapping my head around that what I do now, won't effect her until much later. I'm reducing. Based on I can't handle a hypo situation with the strips I have left. I HOPE they'll arrive tomorrow!
Yeah, I'm reducing........... 1.75U. Then I'll deal with the consequences later.
 
I'm sorry, I stepped away to do a few things, since I thought we still had a couple of hours before your PMPS.

Well, as Wendy said she had basically flattened out, but usually when someone is shooting a lower number than they are used to, we like to have someone experienced along to stay with you to help if you need it. With Levemir, you'll get another chance, I'm sure. Even though you reduced the dose, you may want to get a few tests tonight before bed. Sorry that your strips didn't arrive today, most of us tend to have a back up of a couple hundred on hand :)
 
151 +1.
So today I've learned that Mauer most likely is reaching her nadir quite late in her cycle. I've learned I probably need to see a shrink about my anxiety o_O:nailbiting:
On this 3 cycle of levemir I've accomplished almost everything I wanted from it.
This is going to take me some time to get used to, I'm afraid..
If it weren't because I'm running out of teststips I would have taken the "chance" as it feels like to me, to give the full dose.

Couple hundred?! I buy 200 every month and use all of them, I hide the last 50 so I know where I'm at. The cheapest strips around here is..... HANG ON!!!! 100$ for a hundred strips. And it's not even the AT. My insurance covers 80% for a period of 125 days, then I pay around 200$ myself before they cover the 80% the next 125 days. I'd like to have a hundred stored away for hypos, but it's way to expensive!

I've been thinking about getting myself a US strips dealer who would ship me a meter and strips to last me some time o_O
Even with the shipping I'd probably save a lot of money.....
 
Yeah, we get dinged with pricey test strips in Canada too. Mine are $80 CAD for 100, no insurance. You can try to order from the US, just be careful with your country customs people, I had some AT2 strips stopped at the border, even though the US company ships to Canada. I'm not sure why test strips would be concerning :rolleyes:. After about 2 weeks in their review process, they did end up releasing them for shipment to me. I had eye drops for my dog get flat out turned away/rejected.
 
Yeah, we get dinged with pricey test strips in Canada too. Mine are $80 CAD for 100, no insurance. You can try to order from the US, just be careful with your country customs people, I had some AT2 strips stopped at the border, even though the US company ships to Canada. I'm not sure why test strips would be concerning :rolleyes:. After about 2 weeks in their review process, they did end up releasing them for shipment to me. I had eye drops for my dog get flat out turned away/rejected.
That's why you need a person shipping it to you, not a company. Another person is considered private mail, and or a gift, so I wouldn't be paying taxes of the package.
I've ordered melatonin from the US before, went straight through. But I won't buy anything I can't afford to loose, so I'd need a person in the other end to buy and ship me.
 
Sasha, gluco navii costs £11. I buy 100 strips for $16. Can you order through amazon.co.uk?
I would be happy to buy and ship to you if you think these are good prices and you are willing to risk taxes. Just send me a PM if it is of interest, or ignore it if not :)
 
Sasha, gluco navii costs £11. I buy 100 strips for $16. Can you order through amazon.co.uk?
I would be happy to buy and ship to you if you think these are good prices and you are willing to risk taxes. Just send me a PM if it is of interest, or ignore it if not :)
Hi Karen :bighug:

I can't order from UK right now, because of the brexit. And I don't believe there will be taxes if you buy them, ship and I transfer the money. I'll look into the prices. And thank you so much Karen :bighug:
You're a champ!
 
I wonder would Freestyle Lite strips work for the Freestyle Precision Neo... I have the Freestyle Freedom Lite - the starting package that includes the meter + 10 test strips + 10 lancets costs 40€ and I found an online store that does strips for 33€/50 strips. :) Let me know if I could help you out!
 
I wonder would Freestyle Lite strips work for the Freestyle Precision Neo... I have the Freestyle Freedom Lite - the starting package that includes the meter + 10 test strips + 10 lancets costs 40€ and I found an online store that does strips for 33€/50 strips. :) Let me know if I could help you out!
Hi Lina.
Unfortunately I don't think they'll fit. And it sounds like the local prices. But thank you :bighug:
 
Back
Top