31/08 Miou, -4=142, AMPS=110-noshot, +2=101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
continuing from yesterday's thread (30/08)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok I know I will eventually have to shoot that low, but with Miou so high as today, I thought a decrease is not near... but I guess it has to do with all the skipped shots.

Not sure what you mean but I thought we could try 0.1 tomorrow - she didnt earn the decrease but we are still trying to find a dose that means you dont have to shoot low yet.

Also I hope you are awake because I would like you to get a +5 or +6 tonite. You cant assume she wont drop low at +5 or +6 so if not tonite then tomorrow lets try and fill in some more data later in the PM cycle...

Wendy

Unfortunately I didn't see this post until a few minutes ago. So I didn't get a +5 or a +6.

But since the girls woke me up because they were hungry, I did a +8 and it was 142. I fed Alitra and Cleopatra half a portion but Miou was also very hungry and was getting a bit aggressive because she could smell the food from the other room, so I gave her very little food too (about 30gr) to calm her down.

Then I got a +11 too as usual and surprise it was down to 116. And the AMPS 110, so I didn't shoot and fed her. She had to eat her normal portion minus the 30gr.
I was very curious though and not sure if I got the right decision not to shoot. So I got impatient and did a test at +0.5 hoping the food had not fully kicked in, and to my great surprise it was 103.And then her +2 test was at 101. She is dropping, not a big drop, but considering the food, she is dropping.
You can see what I describe here more easily on the speadsheet

I try to put these numbers along the lines of what I have read here, it doesn't seem to me as a carryover, but it is as if the lantus has a biger duration.
I would definitely like to have you take on these numbers.
And I think that I will follow Wendy's suggestion for a 0.1U... hoping that I will be able to keep shooting consistently for a while.

Elsa
 
Honestly she might (touch wood/anti jinx/ try not to get your hopes up too much) be going into remission and her pancreas is kicking in. If she doesnt go above 130 I certainly wouldnt shoot since 50-130 are normal cat numbers.

I think at this point I would like some more experienced eyes on her so I am going to ask to see if you would like to post on the tight regulation board? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

That board has lots of very experienced dosing members on it and is a great sense of community. Since you are now up to speed with testing etc I think they will really be able to advise you better on dosing - especially since she is getting tricky and might need some finesse for a while - they will also sit up with you to help you shoot low.

Here’s how to post:
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report, or the home you live in and the cat trees some people have)

Subject line: The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 08/30 Miou AMPS 116 +5 148 +11 170 (actually in this example its AMBG since you didnt shoot but you get my point). You add a ? icon if you have a question. You should update your subject line in the very first post for the day as you get a reading, or whenever you have a question. For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

Contents: The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Miou was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But again she has dropped and I dont know whether to shoot and how much?

But you are always welcome to post here in the Feline Health forum for as long as you want and I will be checking on you there too.


Wendy
 
I second the "don't shoot."

If you're able to do so, check throughout the day and see how it goes. Her pancreas may be kicking in. Feeding small frequent meals will spread out the workload of the pancreas.

Get 14 days in a row of no shots and good numbers, she's OTJ - off the juice/insulin.
 
Ok, I hope you are both right, but I won't get my hopes high
I will post at the tight regulation board too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top