30 July Girlie AMPS 706; 664 @+2; 423 @+4: 167 @+6; give HC food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-4-83-5-74-6-64-8-7-help.181301/#post-2009764

@Wendy&Neko I'm back monitoring Girlie throughout the day after being out and about for two days. Girlie was dropped down to 0.25 because she dropped so low on 27 July and also because I couldn't be home to monitor her carefully: I was nervous and wanted to keep her safe.

I'm wondering if the 0.25 might be too low, though? No insulin on PM of 27 July to get rid of the depot from earlier, but that seems to be gone now.

I'm wondering if I should go back to 0.5 for tonight's shot, or if I should try to ride out the 0.25 still...

Also, I'm trying hard, but how well I hit that o.25 mark is debatable... :(

Also, should I do the 2 hourly tests during the day today, or should I just let her go until her PM pre-shot? What do you think?
 
Looks to me like this is a failed reduction and if this were my cat I'd go back up tomorrow morning to .50 unless you see better numbers tonight. I'd wait just in case still bouncing.
 
I hope you had a good time away. Looks like Girlie was more than safe. It takes six cycles after a skipped shot for the depot to build back up, so I would hold the dose at least tonight. Plus she is till bouncing from the 27th. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve which would also be tonight. I think you can let her go for the rest of the day and hopefully she'll come down tonight.

I suspect it was the depot of the 1.0 unit doses that caused her to hit those low numbers on the 27th, and that you will have to go back up, at least to 0.5 to start, maybe higher. But let's see what happens tonight if she breaks her bounce and the depot fills. Theoretically under SLGS you hold the dose for seven day before increasing. Do you mind putting SLGS in your signature so people know what dosing method you are following.
 
I hope you had a good time away. Looks like Girlie was more than safe. It takes six cycles after a skipped shot for the depot to build back up, so I would hold the dose at least tonight. Plus she is till bouncing from the 27th. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve which would also be tonight. I think you can let her go for the rest of the day and hopefully she'll come down tonight.

I suspect it was the depot of the 1.0 unit doses that caused her to hit those low numbers on the 27th, and that you will have to go back up, at least to 0.5 to start, maybe higher. But let's see what happens tonight if she breaks her bounce and the depot fills. Theoretically under SLGS you hold the dose for seven day before increasing. Do you mind putting SLGS in your signature so people know what dosing method you are following.
Wow! She just dropped from 423 to 167 - that's a real dive, isn't it?
 
Wow! She just dropped from 423 to 167 - that's a real dive, isn't it?
Hi! I wouldn't worry about HC yet. You may want to give her LC to slow down the dive. Sometimes cats can bounce from having steep dives rather than from seeing new low numbers. It seems 0.25u could maybe be a good dose once the depot fills.
 
Hi! I wouldn't worry about HC yet. You may want to give her LC to slow down the dive. Sometimes cats can bounce from having steep dives rather than from seeing new low numbers. It seems 0.25u could maybe be a good dose once the depot fills.
Thanks, Mandy. She was asleep on my lap and just bolted up and went to the food bowl about 15 minutes ago (ate LC food). Her reading 15 minutes later at +7 is 157.

I just hope I'm hitting close enough to the 0.25. I try really hard, but even with twisting, it's tricky. No idea why it seems easy to get to 0.5 and so hard to get the 0.25! Perhaps it's so tricky as it's so close to the end of the syringe - who knows.... :oops:
 
I just hope I'm hitting close enough to the 0.25. I try really hard, but even with twisting, it's tricky. No idea why it seems easy to get to 0.5 and so hard to get the 0.25! Perhaps it's so tricky as it's so close to the end of the syringe - who knows.... :oops:
What's important is what you think is 0.25u and doing the same every time. Do you pull and push the plunger a few times before drawing up the insulin? Otherwise, just do your best.
 
Hi! I wouldn't worry about HC yet. You may want to give her LC to slow down the dive. Sometimes cats can bounce from having steep dives rather than from seeing new low numbers. It seems 0.25u could maybe be a good dose once the depot fills.
I'm not sure I really understand the difference between bouncing and diving and why they bounce... was the insulin too low and her AMPS BG too high, so she dumped insulin in herself? :confused:
 
What's important is what you think is 0.25u and doing the same every time. Do you pull and push the plunger a few times before drawing up the insulin? Otherwise, just do your best.
Yes, I push and pull the plunger a few times. Maybe I'll get better with more practice! She's giving me enough opportunities, that's for sure...
 
You could try drawing a sample syringe with coloured liquid (tea, juice) to 0.25, then use that as a sample to compare to for subsequent doses.

Bounces are the cats system trying to protect them from perceived lows or fast drops. From the new to the group Sticky Note:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
What this explanation doesn't say is that at some point the sugar is cleared out in what we call a bounce breaking cycle. Which is what you have today, in combo with the depot filling.
 
You could try drawing a sample syringe with coloured liquid (tea, juice) to 0.25, then use that as a sample to compare to for subsequent doses.

Bounces are the cats system trying to protect them from perceived lows or fast drops. From the new to the group Sticky Note:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
What this explanation doesn't say is that at some point the sugar is cleared out in what we call a bounce breaking cycle. Which is what you have today, in combo with the depot filling.
Thanks so much, Wendy. I'll go back and re-read those stickies.
I've printed out the German 1/2 unit scale you referred to and am re-reading the Romp and Rand article on Management of diabetic cats. :)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top