30/9 Gus no insulin for PM

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...70-pmps-going-to-the-vet.184684/#post-2050370

Thank you all for vines, again it worked.

This morning Gus started with throw up and not eating. BG was 178 so I injected 0.25 very skinny (plunger almost on zero). After shot he eat little, was walking around like he wasn't sick. At 8:15 cystitis started (small pee allover the floor. At +3 BG 37, fed HC, +3.5 32 fed and honey. At the vet +4 26 honey and finally +4.5 51 and 6.5 70. Just like yesterday it was very difficult to get his BG in safe number.

The blood results showed BUN 50 and CREA 2.1 this is what is normal for Gus for last three years. The ALT337, GGT 11 and GLOB 5.9. The vet concluded that it is sort of IBD? flare-up. He also lost about 2 lbs since March. I am very concerned about his liver markers so high and weight loss. We got fluids and refill for all meds. Hopefully he will feel better soon.

I am very confused with the insulin dosing because yesterday after low BG he didn't get PM shot and today instead big bounce that I expected we got another hypo with a drop of insulne. Any idea on dosing?

Thank you all for stopping by and your support.
 
Thank you Bobbie and Elise.

In addition to fluids we got buprenorphine, ondansetron and cyproheptad. B12 injection biweekly, probiotic. In the past he responded well to this meds combo. It was long time since we had problem like this. I was hoping that we are done with it.

I am still concerned with his BG diving so low and being so difficult to get to safe level with HC food and honey. Keeping my fingers crossed.
 
I am glad they gave you some pain meds and meds for appy. I see @Gill & George is on right now and I am tagging her to see what she thinks about dose under these circumstances of him not eating well right now and in lieu of what happened today.
 
Max responded well to ondansetron too but a few times we went with cerenia. Just something to consider someone nice it us aid to help with inflammation and vomiting better.

I have to say I'd give a token dose, a few drops just in case if any infection. Maybe see if the cyproheptadine gets him to eat and then decide.
 
I'm glad you got some meds that have worked in the past. I hope you can get Gus eating again and feeling better.

The liver numbers would be high because he hasn't been eating well. If you can get him back to eating a normal amount, they should come down.

When you are sure he isn't nauseated, you may need to try syringe feeding to get enough calories into him. Prolonged lack of enough calories can lead to hepatic lipidosis, which is very serious. I didn't understand how serious until my civvie Kisa got it and because I didn't realize what was going on, we didn't start forced feedings in time and we lost him. I hope you don't come to that with Gus, but just be aware cats can't go for days on just a little food like people can.

I am very confused with the insulin dosing because yesterday after low BG he didn't get PM shot and today instead big bounce that I expected we got another hypo with a drop of insulne. Any idea on dosing?
Not eating much can definitely cause low numbers. I can't recall if Gus has ever had ketones or DKA? If not, I'd definitely consider skipping if he isn't eating, or as Elise said, just give a drop of insulin. Better a day too high than a minute too low.

Sending tons of healing vines.
 
I'm not sure how much your very skinny 0.25 was, but as he dropped on the skinny 0.25, it probably makes sense to reduce from that. As others have said Either to 0.1 u or just a couple of drops. Unless he seems too low to shoot.

It is tricky with him being off his food, as Tricia has said, you may want to consider assist feeding him.
 
Thank you all for your support

Just like you said it is pancreatitis. No throwing up since morning and since he eat at +3, 4 and six. PM he refused all food and appeared lethargic and in pain. He had BM that was loose and very pale. I only have one more dose of bupe until pharmacy opens Monday morning. I am planning to go to the vet tomorrow to get couple of doses and get Cerenia.

BG reminded low 109 so no shot PM. Hopefully he will feel better tomorrow.
 
With him hitting the 20's yesterday I wouldn't do more then a drop or just skip all together until he's eating. Also agree with Tricia about hepatic lipidosis and getting enough calories into sweet Gus. Elevated liver values and pale stools is a bit scary. Sending mega vines and prayers the meds kick in soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You really do need to get him eating at least 3/4 the normal amount of food to avoid fatty liver as mentioned. That big weight loss can trigger it. Small amounts often and either syringe or finger feed if he won’t eat on his own. Did the cerenia shot help at all?
 
vibes.gif Healing vines to you and Gusvibes.gif
 
When Yum had diarrhea recently and ate little, I just skipped her insulin. She didn't bounce, perhaps because of the depot. Actually after her GI problem, her dose went down a unit. In my opinion, you don't need to be worrying about hypos and other health problems at the same time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top