30/4 Monkey AMPS 351

It’s possibly just that the depot has drained a bit and he is on a lower dose. Or he could be bouncing a bit.
I wouldn’t worry though. Let’s see how he goes over the next few days.
Is he eating well?
 
It’s possibly just that the depot has drained a bit and he is on a lower dose. Or he could be bouncing a bit.
I wouldn’t worry though. Let’s see how he goes over the next few days.
Is he eating well?

Yes he is eating well;)Today he socializes with PenPen a lot. I think this maybe a sign that his suffering of neuropathy is allivated
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200430_171438_com.huawei.himovie.overseas.jpg
    Screenshot_20200430_171438_com.huawei.himovie.overseas.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 57
I don't think that's it, but I am wondering what is going on with him.

One possibility is that the most recent reduction was too much, and he'll have to go back up again. It's too soon to tell that. He may be bouncing (second possibility) from an undetected (super-) low number on the 28th, we have to give the new dose some time to work past that if that's what it is.

Then the third possibility is that there's just something going on with him that makes him need more or less insulin at times-- something bothering him, maybe. Again, it's too soon to make that call based on a couple days of numbers.

Come back down, Monkey!
 
How does Monkey seem?
Is he eating OK?
Is he going to the toilet more than usual?
Drinking plenty of water?
Socialising?

Yes. He drinks a lot as usual. Regarding to toilet, I think it is normal like 2 to 3 times per day. Each time he pees a lot. His poop looks normal.
He socializes and move around. Also, today is the first time he use the scratch board. He scratched it forcefully for 15 seconds. I think this is a sign that his neuropathy improved.

Today I tried a unused Solastar Lantus pen (I have a pack of 5, now I use the second one. ) His BG drop to 23.1. It is the first time since yerterday he shows drop.
 
Btw when I suck the insulin from the pen to U100 syringe, there is bubble in side the liquid, and I usually make a impact to the syringe with my finger to let the bubble go away. Do you think this may be a problem?
(I afraid injecting air to the cat.)
 
Yes. He drinks a lot as usual. Regarding to toilet, I think it is normal like 2 to 3 times per day. Each time he pees a lot. His poop looks normal.
He socializes and move around. Also, today is the first time he use the scratch board. He scratched it forcefully for 15 seconds. I think this is a sign that his neuropathy improved.

Today I tried a unused Solastar Lantus pen (I have a pack of 5, now I use the second one. ) His BG drop to 23.1. It is the first time since yerterday he shows drop.
That’s good to hear he seems well.
Maybe he is coming off a bounce and hopefully will continue to drop. I will watch his SS today if you can keep it updated. Maybe take another test on a few hours.
Is he eating well?


Btw when I suck the insulin from the pen to U100 syringe, there is bubble in side the liquid, and I usually make a impact to the syringe with my finger to let the bubble go away. Do you think this may be a problem?
(I afraid injecting air to the cat.)
No the tiny bit of air won’t hurt the cat
 
That’s good to hear he seems well.
Maybe he is coming off a bounce and hopefully will continue to drop. I will watch his SS today if you can keep it updated. Maybe take another test on a few hours.
Is he eating well?



No the tiny bit of air won’t hurt the cat

Sorry i forgot to mention. He eats a lot (slightly more than usual and quickly) i wonder if it is his body dont gain energy from BG
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200501_113418_com.android.gallery3d (1).png
    Screenshot_20200501_113418_com.android.gallery3d (1).png
    411 KB · Views: 59
Peter that is a lovely photo. Monkey looks so much better!!
Who is the other cat?
I think it is fine he is eating so well!
Peter that is a lovely photo. Monkey looks so much better!!
Who is the other cat?
I think it is fine he is eating so well!

The first pic is PenPen, the father:) The second is Tiger, the daught, the third is FaFa, the mother. Monkey is the son
 

Attachments

  • 15883043905165943367404266803921.jpg
    15883043905165943367404266803921.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 41
  • 15883044675897017030564165944321.jpg
    15883044675897017030564165944321.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 52
  • 15883047765544797565066747805683.jpg
    15883047765544797565066747805683.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 51
I have no idea. All I know is they are not pure breed.:facepalm: Btw, Monkey +3 is 209 ml. So dramatic. Maybe at sometime I should figure out if it is the insulin's problem.
Monkey is coming off the bounce. Keep testing him this cycle as he could drop lower.
Did you give him some food when you tested.? We don’t want him to drop too fast too quickly or it could trigger another bounce.

I would test Pen Pen again as well. He has dropped to 74 @+3
 
Monkey is coming off the bounce. Keep testing him this cycle as he could drop lower.
Did you give him some food when you tested.? We don’t want him to drop too fast too quickly or it could trigger another bounce.

I would test Pen Pen again as well. He has dropped to 74 @+3

I just tested him 10 minutes ago. Before that, i gave him a big meal. I would test PenPen one hour after
 
Peter is there any way you can get rid of the second line in the SS you have...the one with all the times in it. It is very distracting to try and see what is going on. All other SS have just the BG in it..don’t try and go back and change it but moving forward, if you can see your way clear to just use the BG lines that would be very helpful. Thanks!
 
Peter is there any way you can get rid of the second line in the SS you have...the one with all the times in it. It is very distracting to try and see what is going on. All other SS have just the BG in it..don’t try and go back and change it but moving forward, if you can see your way clear to just use the BG lines that would be very helpful. Thanks!

Done;)
 
On SLGS, you would hold the dose (0.75U) a bit longer, and despite how high he is :(, I wouldn't increase at night in any case.

Some cats like to go high before a low-- see the night of April 26th, for example, Monkey had a red pre-shot that night and a green pre-shot the next morning. We'll know soon enough if he has something like that in mind.

I'm mostly worried that there is something else going on, so it's very good to hear that he is acting like he's feeling OK, and even doing some new/old behaviors like scratching!
 
Oh yes. Lots of kitties around here have "rainbow" spreadsheets, with huge dives down and rocketing back up again. Some kitties arrive in high numbers and take a long time to come down at all. Some, like Monkey, are low for a while, then high for a while, then low for a while...

The reasons for these patterns vary from cat to cat and can take time to figure out. In Monkey's case, as I said, I worry that there might be something else going on, but there are other possibilities for sure. Most straightforwardly, it could be that going from 3U to 1U (and then quickly down to 0.75U) was just too much of a reduction, with the good initial numbers (and the reduction) coming from the 3.0U depot. But, with him on SLGS, I don't want to recommend going back up just quite yet, let's see what he does tonight and get some other opinions about this first.
 
Back
Top