? 30/12 Glen PMPS 205 +2 45

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know how long it takes for you to get to that store and back, but if it's more than 30 minutes I'd take him with you, along with your glucometer. He shouldn't go more than 30 minutes at this point without being tested and given more gravy if needed.

I'm going to leave the advice to others here - it helps a person if there is a lead person giving advice rather than too many, so maybe you folks helping can decide on 2 people to help and others can watch and be ready to step in if needed.

You are early on in the cycle. You may have to do this for a while. Don't overdo the sugar syrup because you don't want to get him vomiting from too much of it. Doling it out a teaspoon of gravy at a time, alternating with some of the meat to help it sustain the blood sugar longer, will help prevent that.

Tammy, I'd encourage you to use US mg numbers instead of mmol.
 
Here is the link to treating hypos (you are learning by fire btw). http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

The readings need to be above 50 and stay above 50 for 2 hours without the influence of food and syrup. Because he dropped so early in the cycle, it could be some time before you are able to go to bed. The next reading will tell us more.
I am doing the best that I can. I'm a nurse and worked a full shift and I've been up since 5am :(
 
I don't even know why he dropped so much? He ate well at dinner and grazed for a bit before he went to bed. I don't get it
 
100km/h down the street LOL
you go girl!

Great job Tammy, I agree that you want to keep testing every 45 minutes or so. The shot typically onsets around +2, so you could have several hours of this because you need to get him past the nadir of this shot. I would want him to be over 75 and staying there for at least 1 hour (or more) after you've stopped giving carbs. If you need to sleep, make sure you'll wake up to an alarm. If I was in this situation I slept on the sofa in the living room with the light on and the cell phone alarm turned up loud. Don't go to sleep if you aren't confident you'll wake up.

Make sure you reduce the dose to 1.25u. The 1.5u is too much now.
 
I used to sleep sitting up against the bookshelves.

And I have driven that same stretch of highway at 100 km myself - think it was almost the speed limit then.
I went on uplands to Rutherford LOL
Speed limit is 70-80km depending on which section. Around the lake it's 70
 
you go girl!

Great job Tammy, I agree that you want to keep testing every 45 minutes or so. The shot typically onsets around +2, so you could have several hours of this because you need to get him past the nadir of this shot. I would want him to be over 75 and staying there for at least 1 hour (or more) after you've stopped giving carbs. If you need to sleep, make sure you'll wake up to an alarm. If I was in this situation I slept on the sofa in the living room with the light on and the cell phone alarm turned up loud. Don't go to sleep if you aren't confident you'll wake up.

Make sure you reduce the dose to 1.25u. The 1.5u is too much now.

I worry that even 1.25u is too much!
 
Since you're going to be home, and since he came up pretty easily tonight, I'd probably go with the 1.25u or 1.0u. I personally wouldn't decrease more than that, but it's up to you.
 
Tammy, I'm wanting to head for bed now. Red & Rover is going to be up for a little bit longer with you.

I think you've got the basics down - great job! This is a "lather, rinse, repeat" process - we call it the "poke-carb-poke" dance. You just want to keep Glen over 50.

Congrats on your first pj party, too!

See you tomorrow.
 
I think I am good from here Red & Rover if you want to go to bed.
I'll check him in another 45. He should be close to his nadir by then. If he is still up I'll check one more time and then get some sleep.
 
Here are the ingredients of that pouch of treats
Important Information
Ingredients
Water, Tuna, Shrimp, Natural Poultry Flavor, Modified Tapioca Starch, Tuna Extract, Guar Gum, Annatto Extract, Carmine

Directions
Feed up to 2 pouches per day for an average size adult cat

Nite..
 
Here are the ingredients of that pouch of treats
Important Information
Ingredients
Water, Tuna, Shrimp, Natural Poultry Flavor, Modified Tapioca Starch, Tuna Extract, Guar Gum, Annatto Extract, Carmine

Directions
Feed up to 2 pouches per day for an average size adult cat

Nite..
Thanks, Les.
 
I think I am good from here Red & Rover if you want to go to bed.
I'll check him in another 45. He should be close to his nadir by then. If he is still up I'll check one more time and then get some sleep.
Sorry, had to make a trip downstairs to raid the leftover Christmas baking. Needed the sugar. It's after 3 a.m. for me. I'll need to take my bedtime meds very soon. The room is starting to spin a bit.

If the number stays the same or has gone up at the next test, I think you are good. It will have been about two hours since you last fed? You might want to leave a little low carb food out just for your own piece of mind. No food after +10. You don't want a food influenced number when it's time to make a morning dosage decision.

Now, because of the syrup and because your cat hit a number that was low for him, his numbers may continue to rise and by morning he might have bounced to the moon. That's okay. Bounces are temporary. It might take a couple of cycles to come down from the bounce. Please do post tomorrow morning, asking for dosing advice.

If you run into trouble or have questions, do holler. Loud, if you have to. I think the east coast has gone to bed (except for me). There should be people on the west coast around. And just as they are going to bed, Europe and the UK wake up.

You did a fantastic job tonight. Well done.

I'll be here until I've finished the sugar stash I brought upstairs.
 
Sorry, had to make a trip downstairs to raid the leftover Christmas baking. Needed the sugar. It's after 3 a.m. for me. I'll need to take my bedtime meds very soon. The room is starting to spin a bit.

If the number stays the same or has gone up at the next test, I think you are good. It will have been about two hours since you last fed? You might want to leave a little low carb food out just for your own piece of mind. No food after +10. You don't want a food influenced number when it's time to make a morning dosage decision.

Now, because of the syrup and because your cat hit a number that was low for him, his numbers may continue to rise and by morning he might have bounced to the moon. That's okay. Bounces are temporary. It might take a couple of cycles to come down from the bounce. Please do post tomorrow morning, asking for dosing advice.

If you run into trouble or have questions, do holler. Loud, if you have to. I think the east coast has gone to bed (except for me). There should be people on the west coast around. And just as they are going to bed, Europe and the UK wake up.

You did a fantastic job tonight. Well done.

I'll be here until I've finished the sugar stash I brought upstairs.
Aw thanks! Yes, I am hoping he has come up. I will test him in 30 minutes. He last ate about 2 hours ago.
And thank you thank you for all of your help!
 
Here is the sticky regarding a Hypo Tool Box.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

It's always good to have plenty of strips on hand just for these situations. And some canned food with gravy. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are High Carb (HC), inexpensive and the carb count is known. (No one recognized the one you fed tonight and we stand in pet food aisles a lot). The Fancy Feast Grilled is considered Medium Carb (MC). It too has its place when you want the cat up, but not way up.
 
Here is the sticky regarding a Hypo Tool Box.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

It's always good to have plenty of strips on hand just for these situations. And some canned food with gravy. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are High Carb (HC), inexpensive and the carb count is known. (No one recognized the one you fed tonight and we stand in pet food aisles a lot). The Fancy Feast Grilled is considered Medium Carb (MC). It too has its place when you want the cat up, but not way up.

I thought I had more strips, I blew through 50 in just over a week.
I do have lots of canned food with gravy...
They have the Hartz treat I have at Walmart and some grocery stores.

And I will make sure I have a seperate kit all ready to go! I found this wonderful place last Sunday. It has been so great for Glen and I. I am completely overwhelmed right now because the vet sent us home on 2 u bid and said testing was optional. It's a lot to take in but I will get there. Thank you everyone
 
It's a steep learning curve, and you've figured out a lot of it so far. There are a lot of experienced people here more than willing to help. As you saw tonight, testing is not something that is optional. You'll most likely go through a lot more strips while trying the find the best dose. One CDN on the forum has a postal box just across the border in the US and uses that to order strips from the States. Strips are much cheaper in the States than here. On the other hand, the US pays 5 times more for Lantus.

Test time?
 
It's a steep learning curve, and you've figured out a lot of it so far. There are a lot of experienced people here more than willing to help. As you saw tonight, testing is not something that is optional. You'll most likely go through a lot more strips while trying the find the best dose. One CDN on the forum has a postal box just across the border in the US and uses that to order strips from the States. Strips are much cheaper in the States than here. On the other hand, the US pays 5 times more for Lantus.

Test time?
Yes...112
 
It's a steep learning curve, and you've figured out a lot of it so far. There are a lot of experienced people here more than willing to help. As you saw tonight, testing is not something that is optional. You'll most likely go through a lot more strips while trying the find the best dose. One CDN on the forum has a postal box just across the border in the US and uses that to order strips from the States. Strips are much cheaper in the States than here. On the other hand, the US pays 5 times more for Lantus.

Test time?
I am going to check into the mailbox. I am a 2 hour ferry ride away ($200 round trip with a car) from the border but next time I go over I am totally bringing some home!
 
Yes...112
Okay, if you squint and allow for metre variance, +6 could be roughly the same number as the +4. Or the syrup could be starting to wear off.

Feed a decent meal of low carb. Add a bit of medium carb if you have worries. And grab a couple of hours sleep. Just because we don't know which way Glen is going to go, to be extra cautious, set an alarm for +8. Do a quick test and hopefully hop straight back into bed. Occasionally, a cat will continue to drop.

I can't stay up any longer. I've chronic vertigo. There are a few people on the forum right now if you need help. I hope the rest of you and your cat's night is simple.
 
Okay, if you squint and allow for metre variance, +6 could be roughly the same number as the +4. Or the syrup could be starting to wear off.

Feed a decent meal of low carb. Add a bit of medium carb if you have worries. And grab a couple of hours sleep. Just because we don't know which way Glen is going to go, to be extra cautious, set an alarm for +8. Do a quick test and hopefully hop straight back into bed. Occasionally, a cat will continue to drop.

I can't stay up any longer. I've chronic vertigo. There are a few people on the forum right now if you need help. I hope the rest of you and your cat's night is simple.
Thank you! He isn't interested in any food at the moment but I'll keep trying :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top