3 Sept | Girlie | AMPS 394; +4=515 Bouncing again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Early am dive to 58

2 September condo

Well, bye bye blues and greens, hello black. She dropped to 58 at PM+5 last night (see condo) but has now bounced to blacks again. Her insulin was reduced this morning from 1 Unit to 0.75. Her numbers so far today:

PM+11: 286
AMPS: 394
+1= 526
+2= 468
+3= 488
+4= 515

Should I perhaps have held her at 1 Unit rather than reduce, or would this bounce have been inevitable?

Feeling very tired and very low right now, to be honest. Anyway! Any thoughts?
 
Oh I'm sorry! I know how exciting the greens are, it is hard when the bounce...Girlie will get through this, it's important I think to follow the guidelines, she definitely earned that reduction, but that doesn't mean you can't feel bummed about the bounce :bighug: she might start clearing the bounces quickly, we just have to be patient sometimes when things go differently than we'd like :)

ETA: I understand the numbers in your title because I'm in Canada, but you should convert them to the US mg/dl :D
 
Oh I'm sorry! I know how exciting the greens are, it is hard when the bounce...Girlie will get through this, it's important I think to follow the guidelines, she definitely earned that reduction, but that doesn't mean you can't feel bummed about the bounce :bighug: she might start clearing the bounces quickly, we just have to be patient sometimes when things go differently than we'd like :)

ETA: I understand the numbers in your title because I'm in Canada, but you should convert them to the US mg/dl :D

Thank you, Christie! My brain is fried, I'm afraid, but I fixed the numbers - thanks for that! :-)
 
Is there much point in testing her anymore today, I wonder, since she's so high?
The bounce was inevitable. As your cat gets used to lower numbers, the bounce will be less severe.

Looking at the current numbers, I'd say have a well deserved nap. Test when you wake up, just for the data. And get a +11 test if you can. If you have questions about the +11, please post.
 
Oh don't be afraid, you did all the right things yesterday. Personally, I'd view this as a little break from the excitement. Just hang out, enjoy the day and give Girlie a few scritches for me :smuggrin::cat:

It's unexpectedly hot today, so Girlie and Max are having a play date in the garden and I'm cleaning cat litter trays...the little joys in life, eh? :-)
 
The bounce was inevitable. As your cat gets used to lower numbers, the bounce will be less severe.

Looking at the current numbers, I'd say have a well deserved nap. Test when you wake up, just for the data. And get a +11 test if you can. If you have questions about the +11, please post.

Thank you, I will. :-)
 
Thoroughly despairing?

I'm glad to see her counter-regulatory systems are functioning and intervening appropriately.
(I would be worried if Girlie did not bounce) :cool:

Thank you so much for showing me how I should look at this...

I now remember another post I read about bouncing (tons of great info there that I'd completely forgotten about, of course...) where Jill & Alex writes "until a cat is tightly/well regulated bouncing is normal. thank g_d kitty bounces! that means his body is doing exactly what it's supposed to be doing... Mr. Liver is on the job and working! this is a good thing. once Mr. Liver gets used to what it feels like to be in lower numbers he'll start relaxing a little. he won't become panicked when seeing those lower numbers. eventually, Mr. Liver relaxes enough to say,"hey, this isn't so bad. i kind of like feeling what it used to be like... before diabetes." that's when you'll see a lot less bouncing and eventually flat cycles."

Another post I need to print out, highlight, and tape to the wall so I can actually remember it... :rolleyes:

I guess I was just having a bit of a pity party as I was so enjoying the past two days of lovely numbers, but her body does what it wants to do. We'll even out eventually!
 
Thoroughly despairing?

I'm glad to see her counter-regulatory systems are functioning and intervening appropriately.
(I would be worried if Girlie did not bounce) :cool:
Just curious: do you think I could have forestalled the drop to the 58 at +5 if I'd given her some higher LC food (still under 10%) to try to stall the drop or slow it down? I was just thinking that that might be a better option next time I see this happening in the hopes of levelling her out a bit and preventing several days of bouncing into high blacks.

Interestingly enough, the night before she also had a huge dive from PM+1 of 290 to PM+2 of 203 (87 points) and them another drop of 95 points to 103 at +3 - but then she levelled out. I wonder why? That was her first day on the increased 1 Unit, so perhaps that's why, as the food was the same. I'm sure all will be revealed someday... :confused:
 
I guess I was just having a bit of a pity party as I was so enjoying the past two days of lovely numbers, but her body does what it wants to do. We'll even out eventually!
I'm joining you in that pity party this morning. :arghh: Thanks for reminding me that bounces are actually keeping our kitties safe if they drop to low. That's a good way to look at it. Although it's still depressing to see higher numbers again. *sigh*
 
Bouncing is a pain in the neck! Here's what you could have done today. You could have "shot through the bounce" that means that after they earn a reduction, the next cycle (today's) and they were higher from bouncing, you could have shot the old dose of 1 unit today's AM cycle to help with the higher numbers then take the reduction the next cycle.
 
Bouncing is a pain in the neck! Here's what you could have done today. You could have "shot through the bounce" that means that after they earn a reduction, the next cycle (today's) and they were higher from bouncing, you could have shot the old dose of 1 unit today's AM cycle to help with the higher numbers then take the reduction the next cycle.

That's interesting - I didn't know you could do that. I'll keep that in mind, for sure. So I could have made the AM shot 1.0 Unit and then the PM shot the reduction - the 0.75? Interesting...
 
That's interesting - I didn't know you could do that. I'll keep that in mind, for sure. So I could have made the AM shot 1.0 Unit and then the PM shot the reduction - the 0.75? Interesting...
Yes, it is called "shooting through the bounce". It is a very effective technique to help keep the bounce numbers lower.
 
That's interesting - I didn't know you could do that. I'll keep that in mind, for sure. So I could have made the AM shot 1.0 Unit and then the PM shot the reduction - the 0.75? Interesting...
It can be a useful technique however I recommend caution, particularly if the trigger was a visit to the lowlands of the 40s or lower. Knowing how long your kitty typically takes to clear a bounce is very important and the size of the depot (the gift that keeps on giving) must be considered as well.

For many kitties, over time bounces become shorter and less frequent, until one day you brace for impact...and the bounce never happens. :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top