3 May Tucker AMPS: 256, +4 202, +8 32

Tucker

Member Since 2018
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-5-22-tucker-amps-403-2-389-5-319.262742/#post-2945066

I’ve just updated Tuckers SS with today’s yellow pretest and 8 hours later he is lime green. Could someone please keep an eye on Tucker with me? There were some varying thoughts over the last 4 days about if he had earned a reduction. We thought he was coming down of his bounce to reds and were preparing to reduce but our vet has suggested we go to from 1 unit to .9 and ease him down slowly to hopefully prevent another bounce.
 
Is tucker having any symptom? I'd go ahead and give some HC and test 9n about 20 mins
I walked in the room and thought he looked a bit vague? A bit rag doll when I picked him up so I tested immediately. Have given him a tablespoon of medium carb food and he didn’t hesitate to eat. 10 minutes later and his eyes seemed more tuned in.
 
I walked in the room and thought he looked a bit vague? A bit rag doll when I picked him up so I tested immediately. Have given him a tablespoon of medium carb food and he didn’t hesitate to eat. 10 minutes later and his eyes seemed more tuned in.
So it's been about 20 mins since first post I'd test again
 
Thank goodness he's doing this during the day this time. I would do high carb and/or syrup for a low 30's.

A 0.1 unit decrease is not enough, he needs to go down to 0.75 units. He may be breaking a bounce, but this is too low.
 
Keep an eye on him check in an hour if that is indeed a safe number 30 mins if it's still lower end. Make sure it's not just food induced numbers
 
That's good he went up...I unfortunately don know anything but US numbers. I will assume this is a much better numer since it's like 2.5 pts higher than the 32 at 1.?
His SS is available in US units. He dropped to 32 but has risen to 64.86 after the Tbsp of food.
 
You want to ensure he stays over 2.8 after the carbs from the HC/MC/honey wear off. That is typically 2 hours after he has them.
You might be able to switch to LC now but keep checking every 30 mins till he is much higher. Don't feed him after +10 unless he is low.
 
Thank you for your advice. I’ve only given him 1 Tbsp of medium carb food once since dropped, but will keep testing without food unless he dips again. His next Lantus is due in 2.5 hours. What should I do?
 
I’ve been testing every 15-20 minutes since 2pm Australia time.
32. 1 Tbsp of medium carb food
64
77.48
100.9
 
He is headed up. That's good. Last meal was the MC at 32? Which was almost 2 hours back?
And his shot is due in 2 hours?

Did he drop today and the other night to the 30s because he didn't eat through the cycle?
 
We usually feed him twice a day after his bg test but before we shoot. He always eats every bite! This morning he was chewing in a coffee machine capsule, if that matters?
 
Feeding twice a day made sense for in-and-out insulins like Vetsulin/Cainsulin. For long acting insulins like Lantus you want to feed small meals through the day and night - at least till the nadir.
It is not only easier on the pancreas, it also prevents drops in blood sugar and keeps the kitty safe and happy (gets food more often than only twice a day). In cycles like today where he is dropping sharply you want to feed to a little after every test (like a tsp of food).
 
Feeding twice a day made sense for in-and-out insulins like Vetsulin/Cainsulin. For long acting insulins like Lantus you want to feed small meals through the day and night - at least till the nadir.
It is not only easier on the pancreas, it also prevents drops in blood sugar and keeps the kitty safe and happy (gets food more often than only twice a day). In cycles like today where he is dropping sharply you want to feed to a little after every test (like a tsp of food).
I’m not usually home to feed him through the whole day unfortunately… so we have always had him in Lantus but have only ever given him extra food when he dips low (or when he breaks the rules). I hadn’t heard about Lantus requiring small meals, we had only been told to never shoot until we had seen him eat.
I’ve just retested him and he is 160 at his PMPS time after getting extra food when he was at 32 at +8.
Should I shoot?
 
Should I shoot?
Yes. Please take the reduction and shoot 0.75U. He might bounce from here but please get a +2? Don't feed him all the food with the shot. Break it up and feed some at +1 and +2..

I’m not usually home to feed him through the whole day unfortunately…
We use timed autofeeders that will open at preset times in the day and night.
 
Yes. Please take the reduction and shoot 0.75U. He might bounce from here but please get a +2? Don't feed him all the food with the shot. Break it up and feed some at +1 and +2..


We use timed autofeeders that will open at preset times in the day and night.

We took the deduction to.75 tonight and 5 hours later we have a sick cat. He’s gone from 32 this afternoon to 164 pre shot, to 184 at +2… now 5 hours after his .75 dose he is up to 389. That’s a lot on his little body.

I’m guessing we will have to let the depot refill??? He’s looking pretty bad tonight…
 
He is just bouncing from the lows of today. Give him a few cycles to settle into the new dose.
Thanks. Hopefully he is ok soon. He looks terrible! He is booked to have a tooth removed on the 11th so it would be good to have him stable before the surgery.
 
Back
Top