3/9 TAFFY-AMPS 291/+3 245/ PMPS 330/+4 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Still running high. Sleeping a lot.

( Posting/updating SS from my phone, so not perfect.)

Taffy did was fed more than usual amount of canned food last 2 days, esp today. But I finally had time to make his raw tonight. The canned is all supposed to be LC, but his #s seem even higher than usual.

Should I increase again ASAP? He took that deep dive to the 30s after several cycles on the 1.75, but the 1.5 really seems like it is not enough. Makes me think something else is going on with him, but other than extra sleeping, his appy and poopies are pretty good. @Ozzy Pawzbourne was discussing whether or not we should try the "wait for 3 drops below 50" before a reduction is earned. I really hate for Taffy to be in these higher numbers so much.

Last thing is my insulin. Almost at the end, again. This is our third pen and he seems to start stalling at about the same spot (remaining insulin) every time. I know so many say it is not the insulin, but this time is also a little different in that the pen I am using was donated to me, which was great, but maybe it is older than I think(?) We'll see what happens when we get new, which is soon.
 
Last edited:
Ozzy's last drop below 50 was on 2/14 on the .75u dose which he is still on. We never took a reduction even though he technically 'earned' it. He has seen some blues and even a few recorded greens on this dose, but I'm thinking he is due for an increase now. I'm glad we did not reduce him when he supposedly earned it.

I think tonight we are going back up to 1u.

Julie, this is just an example of the 3 drops below 50 rule, even though we never even got past 1 recorded drop below 50 on this dose. If we had dropped Ozzy when he did earn his reduction, his number would be even worse (higher). Now I think he needs an increase. I really don't know what to think/say about the below 50 drops anymore. Sometimes I wonder if they are just a fluke when they just happen randomly instead of in a pattern of increased downward numbers that result in a low number vs just some odd low number.

I'm sure others can weigh in on this.

Wishing you the best of luck always with little Taffy. This stuff is exhausting sometimes. I hope you are not worrying too much. Hugs to you and scritches to Taffy!
 
I know so many say it is but the insulin, but this tune is also a little different in that the pen I am using was donated to me, which was great, but maybe it is older than I think(?)
It could be the insulin. The best way to find out is open a new pen. If the numbers stay the same, you'll know it's not the insulin and you can finish off the first pen. If you're already close to the end of it, it won't matter if the new one is opened a few extra days.

If you decide to try new insulin, hold off on the increase for a day so that if the numbers change, you'll know what did it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top