3/9 Sheba AMPS 316; +4 212; +7 104. PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
I increased the dose last night to 6.50 units. Sheba had a Preshot of 198 and a nadir of 104 at + 7. I gave her a small amount of medium carb at + 4 to slow down the drop
This morning her AMPS was 316 and + 4 she has dropped to 212

We had an apt with the vet this morning for her third cartrophen injection. The vet was running late and now I am! My computer was on 'go slow mode' so I am writing this on the iPad. But I need to do the SS on the computer. Chris told me yesterday how to link yesterday's condo to this one but I can't figure it out today and I have to run, sorry.

I have just seen your message Julie on the other condo and will answer it when I get back. Thanks for all the information.
Thanks
Bron
 
Here's the link to Sheba's condo yesterday. You go to the old post/condo and grab the address from your browser. Then start the new condo of the day. I typed in "Sheba's condo", highlighted it, selected the little tool that looks like a chain and pasted the address into the window that pops up.

Lovely long stretch of blues last night. :cool: Paws crossed for a repeat soon. If you temporarily see higher numbers, don't worry, it could be New Dose Wonkiness or NDW as we also call it. It just lasts a couple of cycles, if it happens.

For the cartrophen, I get my vet to prefill an insulin syringe with the amount of cartrophen Neko needs, then I just pick up the syringe from the vet and inject it myself. Saves $$$ and time and I don't have to bother Neko to take her to the vet. Ask your vet if they'll do the prefilled syringes.
 
Sheba had a strong am cycle with the first dose of 6.5 units.
As I had to go out over the nadir period today, I was very nervous about how low she would go. I started giving her 15.8 carb food at +5 to slow the drop, then I continued to give it as I did not want her going too low while I was out. The +7 was 20 minutes earlier than the full hour and the +8 was 15 mins later than the full hour but I did not know how else to record it on the SS. I gave her much more than half a can of the 15.8 carb and she continued to drop, but more slowly and not too far. She would have dropped much further without the food. I hope I did the right thing. I am going to be in the same situation tomorrow, being away over the nadir period. :nailbiting: Any suggestions?

Wendy, I asked my vet about doing the cartrophen injections myself, but he wants to do them. :(
He only charges $20 a visit to do the course so that is very reasonable. Sheba isn't very impressed. She hates vet visits and becomes almost stonelike - hardly moves, pretends she isn't there and won't make eye contact with the vet. The complete opposite to what she is like at home.
I will try the old post/condo tomorrow. Hope it works.

Julie, thanks for all the information. Yes I think Sheba is doing better with a few carbs to control the drops and minimize the bounces. The only carbs she gets is from the pumpkin I put in for fibre. Also the small amount in the half a can a day of Weruva 4%. I don't really want to go back to canned food as Sheba is so much better, health wise, on the home prepared food. But I need to look at it for sure. At the moment I am using a Weruva 15.8% canned food to help with the drops and it seems to be working. Any suggestions very welcome!

I have read a lot about IAA and acromegaly and it has concerned me, that Sheba might have one of them. However she has shown none of the physical signs or symptoms of acromegaly that I can see - except needing more than the usual amount of insulin, and having arthritis. (I know not all cats have big feet, jaws etc). The first time around she was very easy to regulate and was off insulin within 3 months. She could have been off it a month earlier except the vet was being super cautious and was nervous about taking her off it too soon. (She was the first cat he had go off insulin)During the 2 and a quarter years she was in remission, her BSLs were good all the time. Both times she needed to go on insulin, she lost weight and went down to 4.8kgm. It was a struggle both times to get her to put on weight even though she was eating well. (I understand why she wasn't gaining weight during this time). This time around, she got to 5.2kgm after a few months with having extra food, and stayed there for several months. In the last 5 or 6 months she has finally got back to what she should be, about 6kgms. Just recently she lost 200 grams when her BSLs went out of whack, after I took her off metacam. Her BSLs always go up high if is she has pain. Now she is back on a small dose of metacam, her BSLs are beginning to be much better again.
I don't want you to think that I am putting my head in the sand about this, but at this stage I think I will just wait and see how things go. She is already doing much better since I joined the FDMB. I really appreciate your concerns about this and value your opinion and advice.
Thanks so much
Bron
 
The +7 was 20 minutes earlier than the full hour and the +8 was 15 mins later than the full hour but I did not know how else to record it on the SS.

Check out Purrdy's ss for recording off the hour BG results, eg your '+8' would be @ +8.25, I would probably round the '+7' to @+6.75 (if you want to get really technical it would be +6.67). You then need to manually fill the colour in using the icon that looks like a paint tin tipping and you may also need to widen the column just slightly so that the numbers fit in nicely. The formula on the US version of your spreadsheet won't understand what youv'e done so you need to delete the formula from the relevant cell (which will be showing an error message) and manually fill that in too. To convert to an American number you multiply your Australian number by 18.
 
It's totally fine, Bron! There is no rush - you can take your time deciding on how to proceed.

I'm glad to hear she's doing better - that's great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top