Hi everyone, So, Shay's number are ridiculously high. He was never this high consistently when he was on PZI. I'm really trying not to be freaked out, but I just cannot keep him high as he does have a history of ketones. Please help! Last night his +9 was 305. He ate a small dinner at +9 and then I checked him at +12 (his pmps) which was 374 ... gave 1.25 units. I figured it would take a couple hours to see any movement, so I rechecked at +2.5 and he was at 475!!!! I re-checked at +5 and he was at 440. This morning at +9 he was at 370. I fed him a small breakfast and at +12 (amps) he was at 374 ... gave 1.25.
This is now his 4th day on Lantus ... his 7th dose. Shouldn't he be getting lower at this point if this dose is working? Do you think I should bump up to 1.5? FYI, his average dose on PZI was 2-2.5. Is there anyone else out there reading this that made the switch from PZI to Lantus? If so, what do you think? I'm leaning towards bumping up to 1.5 for the next 6 doses to see what happens. Should the shed be built by now?
His food schedule has been the same for the past 4 years ... feed at 5am/5pm ... shoot at 8am/8pm. I'm considering a change and here's what I'm thinking: Give a small meal at +9 (5am/5pm), shoot at 12/12, give a small snack at +6 (I could even give a small snack at +3 at night .. right before bed). This way, he's getting smaller, but more regular feedings. What are you thoughts?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
This is now his 4th day on Lantus ... his 7th dose. Shouldn't he be getting lower at this point if this dose is working? Do you think I should bump up to 1.5? FYI, his average dose on PZI was 2-2.5. Is there anyone else out there reading this that made the switch from PZI to Lantus? If so, what do you think? I'm leaning towards bumping up to 1.5 for the next 6 doses to see what happens. Should the shed be built by now?
His food schedule has been the same for the past 4 years ... feed at 5am/5pm ... shoot at 8am/8pm. I'm considering a change and here's what I'm thinking: Give a small meal at +9 (5am/5pm), shoot at 12/12, give a small snack at +6 (I could even give a small snack at +3 at night .. right before bed). This way, he's getting smaller, but more regular feedings. What are you thoughts?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.