3/9 River +11:207 AMPS:308 +2:283 +4:256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Green Night Adventure


6:30 207 11.5
AMPS 308 17.1
7:30 3u Lantus *
9:30 283 15.7
11:30 256 14.2

* reduction from 3.25

He's pretty chipper today, affectionate and happy. I saw him sure-footedly jump up the stairs of the terrasse with nary a wobble. And the vet said that this would never come back. Apart from having a bit of litterbox fireworks from giving him an overwhelmed tummy, as Mariko helpfully cautioned, he is doing great.
 
Wow! What a great night last night for River! Glad he's happy and purry - prolly pretty proud of himself with all those greens. Good job! Hopefully he comes back down again (safely) and stays there.
 
Quite the night last night Lara! I hope you got some catch up napping with a kitty or two today. Good to see River's down to yellows already. And even better that he's jumping. :-D :-D

Neko's on a raw diet too, and I have to be careful how much gravy I give. She's fine with a couple teaspoons but more than that and I see the results in the LB. Paws crossed River recovers quickly.
 
Thank you so much for your encouragement, Tara, Carla and Wendy. River seems to be doing well today, and I learned a lot. Wendy, I liked your suggestion last night about noting what I feed.

And I know we are all sending all our best wishes, hugs and love to the ones who need it today.
 
Not a bad day today, considering those lovely greens last night! :-D :-D You did great, Lara, you are practically an old pro now.
Liz
 
Thank you for your patience and humour, Liz! I ran up and down the stairs so many times with little plates of food that I'm sure I got a workout in.

I have a question about the greens, though. It makes perfect sense that the longer you can get a cat in the blues and greens, the better it is for them. However when I joined this site, I read:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/dummies.htm
Where it says,

"Normalization" is the term used when the control is perfect and the BG stays in the normal range around the clock (normal BG for the average cat is 70 - 120 mg/dL -- yours might be higher or lower). Normalization is rarely attempted, because it means the cat is on the edge of hypoglycemia several hours a day, so what we do is "regulation" -- holding the BG most of the time at levels which minimize harm to the cat.

Your aim will be to keep the blood glucose above 100 all the time, and below 200 as much as possible.

So last night, River was well below those ranges; is this okay? This confuses me, because I always thought I was aiming for the 100-200 range, and that's why even 77 would freak me out.
 
Well, that's interesting. In this forum, we follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, which means keeping the BG between 50 and 120 mg/dL. My understanding is that down to 40 is normal range too, but that is our margin of error to keep the kitty safe.

So River's numbers were great last night and he didn't show any symptoms of hypoglycemia. :mrgreen:
Liz

ETA: Here is a description of the Tight Regulation Protocol from Roomp and Rand at the University of Queensland.

And the pdf of the journal paper is available here.
 
Phew, that's a relief. I've read the Roomp and Rand; it's just that the /dummies.htm was the first thing I ever read here, so it became the Gold Standard for me. I'm glad I asked about the disconnect. That's why I was getting so anxious about the numbers.

And thanks again. River's great today - great attitude, great litter box action later in the day, great score on the Cuddle-O-Meter, with lots of I Love You eye-kisses.
As for me, I looked and felt like Keith Richards, but it's all for the greater good. Let them think at work that I had a debauched weekend...

And thanks for the links. The Tight Reg. Protocol is going to all my cat-lover friends, so that they can spread the word among their vets.

AND yeah, he didn't show any signs of hypo! This made everything so great - I feel like there's a chance!
 
I'm so happy to hear that River's doing great and feeling great, Lara.
And his number is sliding down nicely too!

A bit of litterbox fireworks are nothing compared to Lucy's reaction to too much extra food, so that's even a good news!
(Lucy gets sick the next day, so I have to be really careful.)
 
Mariko, I hope that Lucy's tummy heals, that these 10 days makes the difference!
Thanks for your support and kindness last night. It made me smile!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top