3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314, PMPS 127

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday's Condo

ohmygod_smile

I was an hour and a half late with his insulin this morning because I overslept. :shock:

For the cat who wakes me up at the literal time of his shot every morning, I'm very disappointed that he also chose today to oversleep! Shame on you, Pablo!

*lamenting* And after I had a whole day of blooooooos yesterday. Alas, I fear today will be nothing more than dreadful pinks. But for real, I have a question. I know I'm not supposed to bump up the doses by more than 15 minutes. I've followed that rule faithfully. But 8:00a and 8:00p just don't work with my schedule. The only way I can get back on schedule is to up by 30 minutes every cycle. How bad is that going to be? I know I'm likely to have more overlap, and obviously I wouldn't do it if his PS number was really low. Because of my schedule this week, I've already had to enlist the help of my family twice so that he gets his insulin at the right time. If I don't increase by 30 minutes every cycle, I'm going to have to enlist their help at least twice more. :sad:

What to do?
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314...'cuz I overslept :(

Hey, This is Milo Pirahna's mom. Who was also diagnosed with Acro recently. WE are on the same regiment by Carolyn. When she was watching him he had to change his does time to acclimate to her and Leo's schedule. Im not sure the best way to do it, but what you mentioned should be ok, increase dose time by 30 minutes every dose, until you get to where you wanna be. It will throw the numbers off, but whenever i change Milo's schedule, his numbers are better, surprisingly. :mrgreen: I have no family members to count on, so its my schedule or nothing, and we do the best we can. Im sure it will all work out.. And I'd also wait for carolyn to resond.. :lol:
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314...'cuz I overslept :(

Hey Holly,
what about looking at the time change thread? It says a bit about dose time changes and it will give some ideas to you.
Then again, with Pablo's situation, who knows? Maybe we can try something a bit different.
What's Carolyn say about it?

You are OK till the pm shot and just need to know when to shoot, and then you can bump up the time for the next few shots the same, maybe.

It happens, it's OK.
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314...'cuz I overslept :(

I think 30 minutes early should be fine when he's high like today. If you must do 30 minutes, though, I wouldn't do them back to back due to overlap, try to put a cycle or two between the changes. If it helps at all, I do 20 minute changes some times. That gets you an hour in three cycles. But it all depends on what his numbers are doing, they can really throw a wrench in the best of plans. : )
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314...'cuz I overslept :(

You know, this is stressing me so much, and it's ridiculous. I don't need to stress over something like this! I'm just going to take my mother out to dinner as repayment for giving the insulin. I'll just back up by 15 minutes like usual until I can get back to the regular schedule. No worrying about shooting early so many days in a row!
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's AMPS 314...'cuz I overslept :(

I guess I didn't screw his numbers up too much by the late shot. He's back in the blue at +10, despite still being yellow at +6. :)

I'm planning on having an echo done next week, I think. Depends on the cost, I guess. I've got to do a little price checking on that. I'm sure it'll be a few hundred dollars. *sigh* It sure sucks that Pablo's such an awesome cat. :roll:

I've got to get the ball rolling on the hole SRT thing before I chicken out. Draw blood for the GH, have the echo and some x-rays, schedule with Dr. Lunn, then worry about flights. I hate planning these things! Flying is bad enough, but with a cat! Ahhhhhhh!

I'll be back in an hour with a PMPS.
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's PMPS 127

PMPS 127! And I shot the full 6.5 units. Reduction in the near future? Maybe we shouldn't have jumped to 6.5 so quickly after all! Ah, but I love seeing those blues.

Oooo, question related to that. If an acro is getting greens, does that warrant a decrease since the goal is to maintain blues? Does the "below 50" rule still apply to acrocats?
 
Oh good question Holly! I want to know that too, since we seem to be in the bloos also at +2.
 
Re: 3/9: Pablo's PMPS 127

Holly and Pablo said:
If an acro is getting greens, does that warrant a decrease since the goal is to maintain blues? Does the "below 50" rule still apply to acrocats?
Personally, I think the rule does apply, even more so if your cat bounces hard from green as mine does. We aim for blues because there might be less bounce, but also because you don't have much wiggle room on large doses and shed action.

There was a good description from Jojo recently in one of the new DX condos, maybe Bayley's?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top