3/9 Oliver AM 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41 +6 72 +8 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
I am stalling yet again.... So please give advise. WHAT TO DO? I have reduced 1 time in the last few days. and need to again per the 50 last night.
I have been up on and off the last few nights with low #'s.
I need to go to church this AM, so scared to shoot a 101 ? He really dives after a shot. Usually at the 6 hour mark. So ma y be fine.

Please see ss as I have been super busy and will try to get caught up and post daily.
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101

I read through for the 20th time the shooting low protocol
Went ahead and gave the reduction to 2.25 U and fed A lot and gave him the shot after.
The time change has me 2 hours behind now, but ??? It will make it late tonight but hope its worked well for him today.
I will test and return right away after church. As long as #'s are steady before I go in an while.
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver 101 HELP

Kelly --

Was the reduction this morning a one time reduction? (I hope so... We refer to that as a "big chicken sh*t" -- BCS dose!)

I really want to encourage you to start thinking in terms of shooting lower numbers. I know it's scary the first time. I think it helps to puzzle this out ahead of time. You've shot as low as 112 and Oliver did great. Would you be comfortable shooting 100 the next time? Remember, if you're going to be out of the house, you can always leave out HC food providing Oliver eats when his numbers are dropping.
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174

Day before Yesterday was a reduction of .5 due to the 47 then Last night I had a 50 so I went with another reduction of.5 this AM after a short stall and me regaining confidence. I shot at 101 after the feeding (a lot) now +1 is 179. SO I will leave out food for him and go to church and come right back.
Should i have done some thing different?
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41

Hi Kelly!

I don't see any reductions of .5, but I see you took a .25 after the 47 on the PM cycle of 3/7, and then took another .25 this morning.

We don't usually take reductions back to back because it's possible that the dose that caused the 47 still had enough in the "depot" to explain a 2nd low number on the next cycle or two. I understand the concern with getting the 50 last night, but I think that was probably because of the left over shed action from the 2.75 dose.

The reductions we do when they drop below 50...when they're right on that number, it's a little harder to figure out what is best to do, but usually, we'd want to just hold the new reduction until we see if we really need to reduce again so soon.

That being said, if your SS is correct, it looks like you got a 51 and a 41 this morning, so shooting the reduced amount this morning looks like it ended up a very good idea, even if it wasn't exactly "strict protocol". Sometimes "mamabean instinct" is right on, and it looks like you were!

It'll be interesting to see what the more experienced eyes have to say about tonight's dose.

OK Oliver, you can come on up some now!!
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41

Thanks so much Chris for answering. and yes Please someone give me info on what dose to go to then this evening? Should I continue the 2.5 then?
Also Chris ... I meant .25U not 5 sorry about that.
I am glad I decided on the back to back reductions, as of now but will be willing to get stuff figured out on the right track from here.
INFO PLEASE.
I am currently giving gravy every half hour and checking BG. Hope its on its way up. I'm nervous.
But I am sure it will all be fine.
Fingers crossed.
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41 +6 72

I'm glad that Oliver came up for you at +6. Low numbers can be super nerve wracking, good job :-D . Paws crossed on a nice smooth surf for you now! Have a good day, Kelly :razz:
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41 +6 72

I'm going to chalk this up to you knowing your cat and the dose reduction worked out. I would stick with the dose you shot this morning provided Oliver doesn't continut to toss you (good) surprises. I'd also be attentive to any indication that this reduction isn't holding.
 
Re: 3/9 Oliver AMPS 101 +1 174 +4 51 +5 41 +6 72

Good to see he's up into the 70's now. Makes a bean much happier!

Oliver..You just hop on that surfboard for the rest of the day, you hear me?? (insert stern mama voice here)

I think it'd be a good day to get a +11.5 before your PMPS so you can really see where he's at and then decide on the dose. We also want to make sure he's staying up without having to have you feed any more HC food.

Like I said, back to back reductions aren't the norm, but your instincts were right on this morning! Go Oliver!!
 
I dont want to have him so low this evening so will hate to shoot another low #. I am on my way to a surprise party dinner, will be back in a few hours. Time to get a 10 11 and decide what to do. So that will be about 7:30 ish Central time. LOL Any other thought and good vibes. I will be on to get advise and info. then.
Thanks soooooooooooooooooooooooooo Much.
I feel like I know him pretty well but the reassurances are wonderful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top