3/9 Odin - AMBG 90 skipped shot, +14.5 83, +17.5 124. PMPS 119, +6 80 *switched from AT to Relion*

Good morning - switched to relion meter. Odin is at 90 AMPS. To dose or not to dose? I only have the Lantus pen, syringes haven't come in yet. Thanks

Tagging only because its a bit time sensitive - @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I would stall without feeding and recheck in 30 mins. Then post and let’s see where he is since you are new at this. I’ll check back in and see where he is.

If you’ve fed him already, you should skip the shot.
 
Last edited:
I would stall without feeding and recheck in 30 mins. Since he hadn’t dropped below 90, if he rises, you can shoot 1u as long as you will be there to rest and feed as necessary.

If you’ve fed him already, you should skip the shot.
I already fed 🤦‍♀️ will skip this morning.
I thought I read somewhere there is a way to switch over your spreadsheet when changing from AT to human meter. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
 
I already fed 🤦‍♀️ will skip this morning.
I thought I read somewhere there is a way to switch over your spreadsheet when changing from AT to human meter. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
I’ll need to change the SS for you. The formatting has to be changed so it can be complicated. I’ll send you a PM.

Don’t worry about the feeding or the skipped shot. It happens. Just be sure you test again now to be sure he’s on the rise. As long as he’s rising up above 100, you can give him a break today.

As soon as I get my own cats fed, I’ll be back with information for later today and next time.

Edited to add: please change subject title to
3/9 Odin AMBG 90 Skipped shot

You can also remove the “?”. Thank you.
 
Let’s review what you’ll want to do if this happens again.

For new members with little data starting out with SLGS, if the AMPS or PMPS is 150 or less, you’ll want to skip the dose. If it’s less than 90, you’ll also reduce the dose the next shot time by 0.25u.
You’ll note “NS” in the Units column of the SS. On the board, you’ll post it as an AMBG or PMBG which indicates you didn’t shoot. Also, any subsequent tests you post until you shoot again will be “hours since the last shot” so if you skip the a.m. shot and test two hours later, that will be +14 assuming you shot in time the previous shot.

If the AMPS or PMPS is 150-200, you have a few options:
—stall without feeding and wait for the BG to rise above 200, testing every 30 mins to catch that rise. However, we don’t stall more than two hours so if within two hours, he’s not above 200, then skip. If you are stalling, when you do shoot above 200, shoot the full current dose.

—shoot a reduced dose on time. For example, if he’s on a 1u dose, you could shoot 0.5u on time.

Always remember to keep testing to be sure the BG doesn’t drop back down when the insulin dose onsets.

And post for help….members can help walk you through it, too.

If you skip a dose, like today, it’s a good time to change your shot time if that is something you want to do. If you want to keep the same shot time, you can shoot at that regular time.

Let me know any questions.
 
Let’s review what you’ll want to do if this happens again.

For new members with little data starting out with SLGS, if the AMPS or PMPS is 150 or less, you’ll want to skip the dose. If it’s less than 90, you’ll also reduce the dose the next shot time by 0.25u.
You’ll note “NS” in the Units column of the SS. On the board, you’ll post it as an AMBG or PMBG which indicates you didn’t shoot. Also, any subsequent tests you post until you shoot again will be “hours since the last shot” so if you skip the a.m. shot and test two hours later, that will be +14 assuming you shot in time the previous shot.

If the AMPS or PMPS is 150-200, you have a few options:
—stall without feeding and wait for the BG to rise above 200, testing every 30 mins to catch that rise. However, we don’t stall more than two hours so if within two hours, he’s not above 200, then skip. If you are stalling, when you do shoot above 200, shoot the full current dose.

—shoot a reduced dose on time. For example, if he’s on a 1u dose, you could shoot 0.5u on time.

Always remember to keep testing to be sure the BG doesn’t drop back down when the insulin dose onsets.

And post for help….members can help walk you through it, too.

If you skip a dose, like today, it’s a good time to change your shot time if that is something you want to do. If you want to keep the same shot time, you can shoot at that regular time.

Let me know any questions.
Got it, thank you!!
 
Just feed him and test again an hour later. He should start rising without the insulin.

Let’s see how he does today. I want to look at his SS closer but we probably need to reduce his dose for tonight’s shot. I’ll advise you on that a bit later.
 
Since he did drop below 90 without insulin, you should reduce the dose to 0.75u. Were you able to get syringes with 1/2 unit markings?

If they haven’t come in, do you have a Walmart near you as they will have them in their ReliOn brand. Sometimes you have to push them to check as they will say they don’t carry them but usually they do have them.
 
Since he did drop below 90 without insulin, you should reduce the dose to 0.75u. Were you able to get syringes with 1/2 unit markings?

If they haven’t come in, do you have a Walmart near you as they will have them in their ReliOn brand. Sometimes you have to push them to check as they will say they don’t carry them but usually they do have them.
The syringes are on the way, says should be delivered today, hopefully before shot time 🤞
 
The syringes are on the way, says should be delivered today, hopefully before shot time 🤞
Excellent.

BTW, I’m sorry I don’t have time right now to read through your previous posts but any reason you aren’t trying TR since he is on wet food and no dry? It will allow you to hold on to doses longer and the more time they spend between 50-100, the better healing for their pancreas.

If you stick with SLGS, you’ll need to reduce to 0.75u tonight; if you go with TR, you can leave the dose at 1u until he drops below 50. Your choice but I would urge you to try TR if you can. There is alot of info on how to do it if you are working, etc and we can answer questions to help you feel more secure about it.

When we started with Gracie (who was also 4), very few people were doing SLGS; most of us jumped right into TR and my husband and I were both working full-time. Let us know if you need more info about doing TR.
 
Excellent.

BTW, I’m sorry I don’t have time right now to read through your previous posts but any reason you aren’t trying TR since he is on wet food and no dry? It will allow you to hold on to doses longer and the more time they spend between 50-100, the better healing for their pancreas.

If you stick with SLGS, you’ll need to reduce to 0.75u tonight; if you go with TR, you can leave the dose at 1u until he drops below 50. Your choice but I would urge you to try TR if you can. There is alot of info on how to do it if you are working, etc and we can answer questions to help you feel more secure about it.

When we started with Gracie (who was also 4), very few people were doing SLGS; most of us jumped right into TR and my husband and I were both working full-time. Let us know if you need more info about doing TR.
Yes more info would be helpful. Im not sure how to best manage TR with a newborn at home and my husband and I both working full time
 
PMPS 119 - syringes came in the mail, difficult to draw accurate dose. Tried for 0.75u, may have shot 0.5. Can you tell from this photo?

1000034146.jpg
 
Yes more info would be helpful. Im not sure how to best manage TR with a newborn at home and my husband and I both working full time
That could be more of a challenge, certainly.

Here is the info on TR and SLGS. TR requires testing at least 2-3 times each cycle. Reductions are earned when the BG drops below 50. Dose increases can be made after six cycles if the BG warrants it whereas, with SLGS, you are holding doses for a full week unless reductions are earned so that means if he’s in 300s for a week, you hold that dose until you can do the weekly curve. If he’s in the 300s for six cycles with TR, we increase the dose.

And here is a post about doing TR and working full time.
 
PMPS 119 - syringes came in the mail, difficult to draw accurate dose. Tried for 0.75u, may have shot 0.5. Can you tell from this photo?

View attachment 77269
Looks to me like you shot 0.5u. It’s not the end of the world. It takes some getting used to. We’ve all had issues dosing.

Here is what 0.75u looks like:

3quartersunit.jpg


I’ll just throw this out there for consideration, but most members use calipers for dosing. It is much more accurate as the syringes vary from syringe to syringe.
 
Back
Top