3/9 Mia, AMPS 335 | +3 = 214 | +5 = 126 |

Yes, there's the bounce. Just take it slow and easy - this is all new. Let's see how she adjusts to all the changes. It may take a while for things to settle down.

In the meantime, have you had a chance to read thru the stickies to determine what dosing method you're going to follow? Most folks start with SLGS and then move to TR as you become more accustomed to what's going on :)
 
In the meantime, have you had a chance to read thru the stickies to determine what dosing method you're going to follow? Most folks start with SLGS and then move to TR as you become more accustomed to what's going on :)

Hi! I have now read through the SLGS and TR information. And
I looked through the spreadsheets of everyone who has been helpful with comments. The SLGS seems more straightforward to follow, but I am available to do most of the testing for TR times. Can I still post to the forums when it is time to reduce/change doses? I feel like
I am in information overload! Today was my first day back at work since starting insulin and home testing, but at least I feel like I’m in a good routine and can feed and monitor throughout the workday.

Is there a benefit to starting TR earlier? It seems like better remission rates if I started that now. I am open to either option if you think one would be a best starting spot for us.

with Mia, I’m not sure what her ideal weight would be but I can speak to the vet. Right now, she has a mass or possible fluids in her belly. I just brought her home four weeks ago and we wanted to address the diabetes before I did an ultrasound to see what’s going on in her stomach. I had to make decisions and prioritize based on finances. But that will be our next step. Does that impact protocol options? Thank you again for your help.
 
Is there a benefit to starting TR earlier? It seems like better remission rates if I started that now.

This is the general consensus. Waiting too long to increase doesn't help your kitty. It's less strenuous on the nerves and some people just aren't up for it...but if you're open to it, go ahead. If it gets to feeling a bit overwhelming you can switch back to SLGS and slow things down.

I’m not sure what her ideal weight would be but I can speak to the vet.
What is your best guess? I mean does she feel like her bones are coming thru her skin or is she really chubby? From her picture she looks like a small kitty - so she probably weighs under 10 pounds - perhaps even less. If you have a bathroom scale you can step on it while holding her, then step off, set her down, weigh again and subtract the difference...it's not perfect, but it's close enough to give you an idea of her current weight.
 
This is the general consensus. Waiting too long to increase doesn't help your kitty. It's less strenuous on the nerves and some people just aren't up for it...but if you're open to it, go ahead. If it gets to feeling a bit overwhelming you can switch back to SLGS and slow things down.


What is your best guess? I mean does she feel like her bones are coming thru her skin or is she really chubby? From her picture she looks like a small kitty - so she probably weighs under 10 pounds - perhaps even less. If you have a bathroom scale you can step on it while holding her, then step off, set her down, weigh again and subtract the difference...it's not perfect, but it's close enough to give you an idea of her current weight.

currently she is 11.46 pounds. She has a big belly- Disproportionate. I can feel her spine. When I initially saw the vet she was closer to 11 pounds and they were happy when she increased to 11 1/2. My friend is a vet and I will get her opinion on whether she needs to gain or lose weight. I think I was just feeling overwhelmed By information this afternoon. I shouldn’t post to forums as soon as I get home from work! :)
 
Back
Top