3/9 Kim's Simon AMPS 155, PMPS 84 woot! Couple questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Good morning, LL. Here's Simon's yesterday.

Stayed up too late last night doing word processing. I've been having trouble with Word ever since I upgraded my Mac to Lion. If you have a Mac, feel free to upgrade. Just be aware that NOTHING will work like it used to. (Well, I think it's improving with the updates. But we had several 3rd party applications that we used that just tanked!)

15.jpg

ZZZZZ when is my nap! Got to go get the little bean age 7 dressed and ready for skool while the 5 and 2 yo toss everything in the house up in the air like tornadoes :lol:
 
Re: 3/9 Kim's Simon AMPS 155

I remember those crazy little kid years. They seemed to go on forever then. Now I know they didn't last nearly long enough. :cool:
 
Re: 3/9 Kim's Simon AMPS 155

That's what sweet mothers tell me all the time at the store: they grow so fast! I think it's true--the days seem like they can drag on forever, but the years go so fast! I can't even believe my oldest is 7 already!
 
Re: 3/9 Kim's Simon AMPS 155

Hi guys .. what an adorable picture! And a sweet looking start to the day! I hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/9 Kim's Simon AMPS 155, PMPS 84 woot!

Green preshot, Green preshot! YAY! I know I know, tomorrow could be different, but I always think "THIS IS OUR MOMENT, IT'S FINALLY WORKING!"
green_cat.jpg


Couple of questions:

Which pill pockets are low-carb?

Anyone heard of a potassium supplement drop? Simon's K was still low at his dental. He had been low at Dx but we used up all the pills. I guess I can just get more from the vet and do the pill pockets, if there is a low carb one. His K was low due to previous PU/PD before Dx.

What do people do about vaccinations and Revolution (or other flea control) on these older kitties with other health problems like diabetes? I know the fleas will be bad here this year because we hardly had a frost. We usually use Revolution. Also, Simon is going in a couple of weeks for his checkup. He's not due for rabies, but they are going to want to give him FIV and maybe something else? Not sure.

And finally, how many cycles post-dental should I hold our dose/was our shed "reset" by the small dose on dental morning? Should I just leave things alone unless he earns a reducie? i was thinking of this question in terms of raising dose until I saw tonight's pre-shot. I'm totally prone to tunnel vision with today's numbers :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks!
Kim
 
heehee you're so cute.

the pill pockets that are safe for diabetic cats are the duck & pea ones.

i don't give my cats vaccines anymore (they got plenty of them earlier) and they are now indoor cats, so the flea/vaccine problems don't exist for me anymore. you may want to read up onhttp://www.catinfo.org about vaccines. they have good information on safety concerns.

green pmps, eh? :mrgreen:

the counting cycles post says you count consecutive cycles. i think with a green preshot you are holding the dose and holding your breath to see what the morning brings simon! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
We use capstar for fleas. It only kills adults, so has to be used frequently, but is very gentle and works within minutes. I buy the ones marketed for dogs. It is the exact same product, just larger. I give 1/4 of a pill at a time. Much cheaper that wy.
 
Hi Kim,
Simon is lookin' great! We use Frontline Plus because it kills both fleas and ticks, including the ticks that carry Lyme Disease (that might not be a problem where you live). Never had a problem with Frontline with either Stu or Rusty, both diabetics.
I don't know anything about the vaccinations. The vet always just gives them: FVRCP (whatever that is) and Feline Leukemia vaccine, in addition to Rabies. Again, neither Stu nor Rusty has had a problem with them. Rusty goes outside, with supervision, but if Simon is an indoor kitty, I don't think you would need to get anything except the required Rabies shot.

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Simon is an indoor/back yard cat. He cant get out of our fence. We also have a dog, so I know we do have exposure to all the pests.
 
Lookit those gorgeous numbers!!

I have to admit, vaccines are important, but they make me very nervous - only because I think they are given WAY too frequently. Julie gave you a great link, so you can weigh the pros and cons.

Have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top