3/9 Jack amps 307 +5 316 +10 294

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
Yesterday's condo

I've revised my rules for shooting based on good advice I got yesterday. Thank you all who offered some advice for the newly appointed Rotten Capt, formerly Capt. Jack (Thanks for the nickname Karen:D).


I went looking for an example of the effects of skipped shots and could not find any...can you point out examples of this on your ss?
This reinforces why I love the SS, I could have sworn I had more skips, I could only find 1 in aug of '16. I think it got in my head from a number of times I did BCS shots that were half or less of the normal dose and he climbed significantly.

IAA does require a certain aggressiveness in approach but you dont want to be so aggressive that you are getting stuck in a loop of him diving into the lower 40s, triggering a huge bounce that makes you want to be more aggressive. Know what I mean?

Since he is still considered a new diabetic(11months since dx), with under 50's a reduction is earned. Since he is IAA, I'll probably continue that even after the 1 year mark since they can take big dips without warning.

With the high doses he is on, I was given the advice of doing a depot draining BCS, then starting the reduced dose which I did the past 2 days. My big mistake was not stalling with numbers under 50. Moving forward I will stall until rising and over 50 to shoot. You can see the reductions from 34 down to 28 over the past few days.

The past month has seen a few good dives, then slow climbs back up. It has been a guessing game a few times if the acro/iaa kicked back in or a bounce was starting. I have been cautious and tried to give a little extra time, this had him in the higher numbers a bit longer, but I would prefer that to even an hour of being too low.

As far as BCSs go, keep in mind that with IAA you are more likely to see the effects in the cycle following the cycle of the BCS.
Interestingly, I see this very frequently when using R, initially it does very little, sometimes he rises after 5-6u of R, but the next cycle it takes effect and I see lower numbers. The BCS's with Lev usually show up the same cycle, 3/7 to 3/8 are a good example, where he got up to pinks by pmps and was in sharkland by amps.

It's not easy - I know, but hang in there and hang in here. Its the best place a high dose kitty can be.:cool: .

It has definitely been a challenging experience, but I can't imagine where I would be with Jack had I not found the boards here. I've gotten so much help and encouragement. My vet was pretty clueless about FD and completely clueless about high dose FD. The group here held my hand, and taught me as I went to the point that I have educated conversations with my vet and she has thanked me for teaching her things.

A big thank you to everyone here, it has allowed me to be more confident that I am doing the right thing for Jack (shooting under 50 excluded:oops:) and is without question keeping him healthier(food charts, supplements, high dose tests, I could go on).
 
Since he is still considered a new diabetic(11months since dx), with under 50's a reduction is earned. Since he is IAA, I'll probably continue that even after the 1 year mark since they can take big dips without warning.
I mostly ignored the long term diabetic cat rules with Neko. When an acrocat indicates they need less insulin, they want less insulin now. Neko was pretty good about holding her reductions. When she moved to the "race down the dosing scale" phase the first time, I reduced at a below 70. It kept her safe. You do NOT want large depots handing around, which is what can happen if you hold a dose longer. When the IAA breaks and it becomes obvious it's doing so, you might want to consider changing the reduction point as an option. Or at least try it.

I have been cautious and tried to give a little extra time, this had him in the higher numbers a bit longer, but I would prefer that to even an hour of being too low.
Good call! We'll remind you of this if you ever sound impatient. :p
 
Good call! We'll remind you of this if you ever sound impatient. :p
You can probably start about right now:D A full day at almost 300 had me wanting to give a little R, but I shelved the idea for a few cycles to see what his plans are before interfering. I might have drained the depot a bit too much with the back to back BCS's, so I want to see what he can do on his own before tossing in the R variable. It makes seeing the trends much easier since R seems to affect him more in the following cycle then the current cycle.
 
Since he is still considered a new diabetic(11months since dx), with under 50's a reduction is earned.
IMHO the most important thing a cg with a high dose kitty can do is learn to go with the flow - beyond 'know thy cat' It's doubtful that the "newly diagnosed" that reduction point is referring to includes kitties with high dose conditions. I like Wendys approach of raising the reduction point.
Since he is IAA, I'll probably continue that even after the 1 year mark since they can take big dips without warning.
You will know when the IAA breaks and when it does it's really time to go with the flow (making sure you fasten your seat belt first).
With the high doses he is on, I was given the advice of doing a depot draining BCS, then starting the reduced dose which I did the past 2 days.
Which day/dose was the designated depot drainer? I'm not seeing it.
Interestingly, I see this very frequently when using R, initially it does very little, sometimes he rises after 5-6u of R, but the next cycle it takes effect and I see lower numbers.
I experienced that so many times I could pretty much count on it. IAA can lead to an increase in the half-life of free (unbound) insulin in circulation, due to some bound insulin being released back into circulation. This increase in half-life can lead to prolongation of action . I always thought it would be great if someone would invent a glucometer that tells you how much insulin is in circulation

My vet was pretty clueless about FD and completely clueless about high dose FD. The group here held my hand, and taught me as I went to the point that I have educated conversations with my vet and she has thanked me for teaching her things.
You are fortunate. One look at BKs ss and his vet refused to renew his Lantus prescription (she believed he would do better on Prozinc)She thought I was crazy. Thankfully the IAA broke, bringing his BGs and dose down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top