3/9 Eleanor AMPS 310 +5 319 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Last one: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65568

Gosh, I didn't realize it's been 3 days since I posted. I'm having some medical issues, and on top of that I broke my pinkie finger yesterday morning. I thought I'd go to the store since Eleanor was high and I wouldn't be imagining that she was home alone and hypo :smile: . I was trying to load my groceries into the back of the taxi and somehow slammed my pinkie into the inside of the hatchback. Really stupid. I have a lot of trouble with depth perception and had no idea I was that close.
Any way, at least it's just my pinkie and doesn't really interfere with testing or shooting.
Okay. Eleanor is bouncing from the 210?
When can I raise the dose?
 
Julie

I'm so sorry to hear about your finger!!! Hope it will be ok.

If you'll be able to keep the same amount of monitoring, I think you should increase to 1.25u tonight if she does not do anything by PMPS.

Good luck with the dosecrease and don't be a stranger...we miss you!!!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
(((Julie)))
I think one of the harder parts of this process is not yet having the experience to know what it is that you're seeing. Eleanor is bouncing. If you were to step back and look at her SS from a distance, you'll notice that pretty much every time she dips into blue numbers, she bounces into pink numbers within a few hours. Particularly with newly diagnosed cats, this happens a lot. The more time that Eleanor spends in lower numbers, the more her body will begin to recognize that the normal numbers are, well, normal. Many of our cats' bodies have become used to sitting in the higher numbers so, when they drop into blue or green numbers, their liver overreacts and releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which cause the numbers to spike upwards.

Once the bounce clears, I think you should raise Eleanor's dose to 1.25u. Hopefully, that will encourage her to spend more time in those blue numbers.

i think it's possible she might still be bouncing from the 158, which is more than 3 days ago but it was the last time she had a run of blues. hard to say, it could be the 210 also. either way, i think she's still bouncing. as soon as you see another blue number, i'd raise the dose on the next shot to 1.25 per sienne's advice above.

it would be SO much easier if they didn't bounce, wouldn't it?!? the kitters didn't get the memo, though.

bum luck about your finger. at least it wasn't your index finger, although i'm trying to imagine you typing minus your pinky! i hope it heals quickly.
 
:lol: *whew* that was ferocious! marje is a tough one! :shock: :lol:

ok - here's the scoop julie.

the general tactic is that we let a bounce clear before we increase a dose. that way when the bounce clears, we don't end up with a kitty that is getting too much insulin.

a bounce usually clears in 72 hours. it is well over 72 hours since that blue number. it is possible that she's bouncing from the 208, but the next evening there was a 210. so we're unsure if this is a bounce or not. it could be, but it could also be that she's simply not getting enough insulin.

usually when the bounce clears you see numbers in a similar range to what they were when the bounce began (the blue numbers).

we want to see her in blue and green numbers instead of this higher range.

marje and i are definitely agreeing that she's not getting enough insulin, and i think sienne is agreeing on that too based upon her comment on 3/5.

so - the choice is yours. if you want to wait til tomorrow to see if she drops back down, that's fine. if you want to go ahead and increase by .25u to a new dose of 1.25u that's ok too. it's the SLGS . . . but we also don't want to see eleanor sitting in numbers that are above renal threshold, so we'd like to see the whole range come down some.

any of that make sense? i'm running out to retrieve my husband, but if you have questions, go ahead and ask and marje will no doubt see it.
 
Yes, thanks Julie (and Marje!) that makes sense. I'll go ahead and raise her dose tonight. She's "acting" really high. She hasn't drunk, piddled and eaten this much in awhile, I just don't like seeing this.
 
it helps when you are there to see her. you are able to analyze her and make the right decision. well done!

if you catch any numbers that you need help with, just post. i'd be watching to see how low it takes her.
 
Julie and Eleanor said:
at least it's just my pinkie and doesn't really interfere with testing or shooting.

I'm sorry you broke your finger Julie, but I love your attitude about it :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top