3/9 Eddie AMPS 328, +6 = 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Last time: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=115020

Hope everyone has had a nice weekend!

Today:

AMPS = 328
+6 = 96
+7 = 118
+8 = 112
+9 = 134

Nothing really exciting has happened the last few cycles, so I haven't posted, but here we are today. :smile:

I'm still scratching my head about the Friday AM cycle. I was hoping Eddie's cycles this weekend would help clarify whether the dose on the 3/7 AM cycle did in fact take him super low, so I could adjust or not going forward. His cycles have actually been kind of blah since then (more blah than usual), so I'm a little suspicious that he did in fact go really low on 3/7 and that there have been some of those pesky hormones keeping his nadirs relatively high the last few cycles. I dunno. Eddie rarely (anti-jinx) has high flat bounce cycles anymore, but it does seem like he has a couple higher than normal cycles after a low number. I'd love some more input on those wonky numbers on the AM 3/7 cycle. My concern of course is shooting that same dose on a similar pre-shot and then coming home at lunch to find Eddie in hypo territory again.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
That is a huge drop, from 328 to 96. It makes me think the 328 has to be a bounce that quickly cleared?

I think Eddie's "base" BG after the insulin has worn off is in the low to mid 300's, so I don't see the AM pre-shot as a bounce, but with the 96 nadir today, I think maybe those bouncy hormones might finally be clearing out?

That is a pretty big drop today -- will be interesting to see if he spikes back up at the end of the cycle. It seems like he doesn't bounce too badly from big drops, but moreso from numbers that are close to the 50's. It's tougher these days to spot his bounces since he clears them out quickly. I gotta think that some of the mediocre cycles that he has following some of the cycles with nadirs in the 50's or 60's (or lower nailbite_smile ), reflect some mild resistance due to bouncy hormones.
 
bunni9 said:
I think Eddie's "base" BG after the insulin has worn off is in the low to mid 300's, so I don't see the AM pre-shot as a bounce, but with the 96 nadir today, I think maybe those bouncy hormones might finally be clearing out?

Weird then that the insulin wears off for some cycles while others are fine or even long. One of the many things I do not understand about this whole sugar dance. You would think once he is getting decent numbers and in the blues or even greens mid cycle that he wouldn't jump up 50% for the next pre shot? Seems like it should last a normal 12 hours if the mid cycle numbers indicate the dose was good……….Usually a short cycle seem to happen with doses that are quite a bit too low. And a long one if the dose is a little high……

Of course, except with Lucian and Charlie and I guess Eddie too…… :mrgreen:
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Weird then that the insulin wears off for some cycles while others are fine or even long. One of the many things I do not understand about this whole sugar dance. You would think once he is getting decent numbers and in the blues or even greens mid cycle that he wouldn't jump up 50% for the next pre shot? Seems like it should last a normal 12 hours if the mid cycle numbers indicate the dose was good……….Usually a short cycle seem to happen with doses that are quite a bit too low. And a long one if the dose is a little high……

I'm starting to think it's all about how fast or slow the insulin is used by the body's cells. On a cycle with a fast drop and low numbers that seems to get a little shorter duration, it almost seems like the insulin gets absorbed really fast, and there's not enough left over to tide over to the end of the cycle. On the other hand, some of those longer cycles with a later nadir, it might be that the insulin sits around and isn't absorbed as fast, so there's enough to last till the next cycle (or even longer). Just guessing. :-D It seems like the length of the duration of the insulin (and rate of absorption) is one of those variables that for Eddie, at least, can make it tough to predict what he's going to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top