3/9 bailey uk amps 182 +2 346, +4 246 :-D

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
well today is the first day weve got a blue and a yellow on the same day! he seems more himself too.it was lovely to wake up this morning to a meowing bailey waiting for my eyelids to open before he shouted "mama its breakfast time" I feel like each day we have a good day that a piece of my boy returns.even a couple of good days a week is better than all bad days like the week before last! I just want to thank you all for your continuing help.xx
 
Re: 7/9 bailey uk amps 182 +2 346, +4 246 :-D

YAY ANNA!!! Isn't that just the most fantastic feeling :-D :-D I'm so happy you're getting to see some "Original Bailey" again, and this is just the beginning dancing_cat dancing_cat . Keep up being such an awesome mamabean! It's beautiful to watch the great work you're doing with him :-D
 
Re: 7/9 bailey uk amps 182 +2 346, +4 246 :-D

Hi Anna!!

How wonderful that you're starting to see some glimpses of progress with Bailey! I know the protocol is strict, and can be frustrating to deal with, but those little signs that show us our kitties are feeling better make it all worthwhile, doesn't it?

I still remember the first sign China gave me that all this was working. I caught her sitting in a patch of sunshine one day preening, and realized I hadn't seen her preen in a very long time. Her coat was in awful shape, and I just hadn't noticed that she'd stopped preening until that one morning. Since then, she's returned to the cat I "used to know" in pretty much every way.

Before the diagnosis, I'd felt she was just suffering from "old kitty syndrome", where their coat isn't kept as well, they lose some weight, they sleep more and just generally slow down. Now I consider insulin almost like shots from the Fountain of Youth. They've taken a 13 year old cat back at least 6 years..back to a healthy, loving, playing, purring, preening and much healthier adult cat..No more "Old Kitty" around here!! If you read our condo today, you'll see my story about Queen of the Cat Tree.

I'd always adored my China, but taking care of her through all this has brought us closer than I could have ever imagined before. You're just starting to get a taste of that, and I'm excited for you!
Keep up the great work, and soon you'll see more and more of the Bailey you used to know! It's an awesome thing to experience, and knowing that you're the one who've been able to help Bailey get there is very rewarding.
 
I get so emotional about all of this.all my friends say im "a tough nut to crack" but this has by far been my biggest challenge!

my boy is obviously abit vain as the preening,even when exhausted and so lethargic he can hardly lift his head to his drinking bowl( I have one in every room at the mo...............including the bathroom just in case his little legs aren't strong enough to carry him there.)has never really stopped.hes lost a lot of weight which if im honest he needed to cos he was a bit tubby around the middle but its the not wanting to play and the little baileyisms I miss the most and today theres been quite a few come back.even if its for the one day its a sign that its the start to his long road to recovery but il be with him every step of the way.<3

edited to say if it takes my boy back 6 years we're in trouble as that would make him 2 ;-) terrible 2's was definitely how he rolled.many a shredded toilet roll,tissue box etc but id pay a million pounds to see him do all that again!!!
 
Very wonderful report on Bailey today!!! We understand how emotional this journey is...these kitties, they just take over our hearts! LOL on the terrible 2s! I have a civvie who is 11, but still in the terrible 2 stage - she's a hoot!
 
Hi Anna!!

How's Bailey doing? I see he found out how much fun the little containers the test strips come in can be!! Another good reason to always have a back up box of strips somewhere around the house for "emergencies"

You're doing great with testing too! He sure seems to like that 182 number (10.1 mmol)

Hope he's feeling better...sounds like if he's playing with the test strip bottle, he's feeling at least a little better!
 
so glad to hear that Bailey's doing better! how rewarding to see the kitty that used to be re-emerge.

celebrating the blue amps yesterday and the time he spent in yellow numbers. that's a good response. he'll get there! slow and steady wins this race! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top