Re: 7/9 bailey uk amps 182 +2 346, +4 246
Hi Anna!!
How wonderful that you're starting to see some glimpses of progress with Bailey! I know the protocol is strict, and can be frustrating to deal with, but those little signs that show us our kitties are feeling better make it all worthwhile, doesn't it?
I still remember the first sign China gave me that all this was working. I caught her sitting in a patch of sunshine one day preening, and realized I hadn't seen her preen in a very long time. Her coat was in awful shape, and I just hadn't noticed that she'd stopped preening until that one morning. Since then, she's returned to the cat I "used to know" in pretty much every way.
Before the diagnosis, I'd felt she was just suffering from "old kitty syndrome", where their coat isn't kept as well, they lose some weight, they sleep more and just generally slow down. Now I consider insulin almost like shots from the Fountain of Youth. They've taken a 13 year old cat back at least 6 years..back to a healthy, loving, playing, purring, preening and much healthier adult cat..No more "Old Kitty" around here!! If you read our condo today, you'll see my story about Queen of the Cat Tree.
I'd always adored my China, but taking care of her through all this has brought us closer than I could have ever imagined before. You're just starting to get a taste of that, and I'm excited for you!
Keep up the great work, and soon you'll see more and more of the Bailey you used to know! It's an awesome thing to experience, and knowing that you're the one who've been able to help Bailey get there is very rewarding.