3/9 Babu-Chiri AMPS 463 + 4 at the vet (506) +6(298) PMPS 111 Help with labs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veronica & Babu-chiri

Member Since 2016
Babu's 3/8

Good afternoon to every one

Babu refused to eat this morning and threw up just liquid, so off we went to the vet, this time he had the full check up (labs, x-rays and ultrasound), his throat is still swollen, and he did pooed very loose while being examined which was very not like him, but vet is seriously concerned with the lab results (I'm attaching a photo of all the BW and try and list below the ones that appear off the normal value hope someone can help me understand this a little bit better

Also I think I should give him a little raise in his dose but not really sure

He prescribed legalon ( which he was already taking), omeprazol, vitamin B,treda (for the diarreha), vasotop ( for his heart problem which he was already taking), lasix and give him a shoot of antibiotics

He also asked me to change his food to Hill's a/d which in Dr Lisa's list is 12% carbs so not so bad and I will probably have to force feed him because he is not taking it voluntary ( neither is he accepting tuna or his regular food)

He mentioned being worried about Babu getting hepatic lipiodosis !!

Glutamic pyruvic transaminase (GPT) 154 U/l ( reference values 22-88U/l)
Glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (GOT) 60 U/l ( reference values 18-51)
Alkaline phosphatase (ALP) 224 U/l (reference values 9-53 U/l)
Blood urea nitrogen(BUN) 61 mg/dl (reference values 17.6-32.8 mg/dl)
Creatinine (CRE) 1.9 mg/dl (reference values 0.8-1.8 mg/dl)
Sodium (Na) 146 mEq/l (reference values 147-156 mEq/l)

Complete BW
 
Last edited:
If you look at Babu's spreadsheet, the third tab is a Labs tab. It's easier if you can put the data in there. You may or may not have to change the reference ranges the first time. But the nice thing about having things in the Labs tab is you can see multiple blood work values over time and see and trends. The labs tab is also much easier for us to read.

I agree that if he is still not eating, you need to get some food into him or the hepatic lipidosis can become a worry. The liver numbers out of range are a concern. How easy is he to assist feed? The a/d is very soft and fairly easy to syringe feed, so that's good. You may or may not have to raise the dose. I would feed the food and see what it does to his numbers first.

Does the vet think the swollen throat is the reason he's not eating? Just wondering if so whether he got the right antibiotic. Babu's kidney numbers are just out of range too and some kidney kitties feel nausea which leads to not wanting to eat. There are anti nausea medicines that can help if that is the problem.
 
If you look at Babu's spreadsheet, the third tab is a Labs tab. It's easier if you can put the data in there. You may or may not have to change the reference ranges the first time. But the nice thing about having things in the Labs tab is you can see multiple blood work values over time and see and trends. The labs tab is also much easier for us to read.

I agree that if he is still not eating, you need to get some food into him or the hepatic lipidosis can become a worry. The liver numbers out of range are a concern. How easy is he to assist feed? The a/d is very soft and fairly easy to syringe feed, so that's good. You may or may not have to raise the dose. I would feed the food and see what it does to his numbers first.

Does the vet think the swollen throat is the reason he's not eating? Just wondering if so whether he got the right antibiotic. Babu's kidney numbers are just out of range too and some kidney kitties feel nausea which leads to not wanting to eat. There are anti nausea medicines that can help if that is the problem.

He does think that's one of the reasons, he thinks the bad numbers in both liver and kindneys may be having an effect too. He did vomited early in the morning, no food stomach acids mainly so what the vet gave him is omeprazole.

I've started assist feeding him with the a/d after we came back from the vet and so far he has not vomited again

I'm typing the data in the Labs tab hopefully I will finish it in a while but is taking more than espected since names and letters are different in spanish most of it is already there
 
I've been giving him asisted feeding and he hasn't vomited so so far he's a little bit better he's not drinking too much water so though

His numbers did came down so I'm keeping the dose,I did stalled for 1/2 an hour because at PMPS time he was 95 which given the circumstances was too low for comfort but when half an hour later he was going up I decided to shoot hopefully he won't bounce too much
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top