3/9 amps 462/+7 321/pmps 485

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
tight protocol and numbers are climbing as I increase my dose. On 1.75 for 3 cycles now. Wanted to hold for 5 but he's not really moving…... your thoughts???
Otto feels great, my friend came over to test him today at +6 and he had a live chipmunk in his mouth. No problem getting the reading. Purring like crazy. He loves critters. His buddy Louis brings them in alive and drops them - Otto eats the whole thing.
 
Here is your post from yesterday.

You're doing a great job getting midcycle tests in. Per the TR protocol, you can increase his dose after 6 cycles, which you've just completed, at least if I'm reading your spreadsheet correctly.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
He may end up back where you started, dose-wise, but at least you will have gotten to it safely and have confidence that it is the right dose for Otto. I would increase by 0.5u as mentioned above.

Oh otto, so you are a hunter! punkin used to bring me birds - he even took the head off for me. :eek: about then was when he became an indoor cat, hahahhaaha. but i did recognize that he was showing me lots of love. ;)
 
Thank you. I get so jealous when I see someone's cat responding so quickly and feel like a failure but I know Im being super careful and he doesn't feel bad. Still very frustrating!!! Being 3 legged, he doesn't get around much. Just loves human company. As you can see, I have tried a couple of dif times on the tests to see whats happening and not much going on. I ordered the Pets Pride today as it felt like when he was on chicken he felt more satisfied, loves raw meat and it seemed like he responded better. Anything not risky is worth a shot to me.
 
there are a few cats that get the diagnosis, switch to low carb food and get a few shots of insulin . .. then they go off of insulin almost without effort. I imagine everyone feels a bit jealous of them.

Keep in mind, too, that you're using an Alphatrak - they measure higher than human glucometers and most people here are using human ones. So if you're looking at other's BG tests, you're comparing apples to oranges. You might consider switching - the cost for an AT strip is about 4x as much as a human meter strip. Even though you have to buy a new set-up, you'd recover the cost in no time because of the savings on strips. Something for you to think about.

It's nothing you're doing or not doing that's causing his responses. You're doing a great job of getting enough tests that we can have some confidence in the picture and that's all you can do. That's what allows you to change the dose as needed. Just keep it up! He'll get controlled - every cat does. It takes some time for most cats.
 
My ex-husband of 19 years is my vet and refuses to charge me for any vet bills or products as when he started his practice I covered our child's expenses. So, he wants the alpha track and I do it.
 
if he's giving you free strips - I'd do it too! Strips can really add up!

How's Otto doing today? I'm wondering if you increased his dose and if his BGs have budged at all?
 
Yay for free strips and no vet bills!

Poor little chipmunk :(

I'm definitely a bit jealous of those easy cats, but at the same time I think some people may feel a little jealous of the predictable blue cycles Purrdy's been having all the way from 2.25 to 4 units while it's been driving me nuts that he wouldn't budge. Every dance is different and Otto will get there in his own time and his own way so you just need to keep dancing to his tune. Good luck with the increase.
 
Today was a bit of a fail I think. AMPS 348/+3 376/+6 431/PMPS 411/+2.5 400 I think my vet tech got a fur shot. Thats all I can come up with. I am home now and did the pmps shot and the last blood draw. Not going down yet! Any other possible reason for an increase at +6?????
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top