3/9: amps 104. Lando's confusing me lol

Sorry no one answered you.
Can you come back and check like you did yesterday?
Get a test before you go if you can
I get up so early I understand it's hard to find hell around this time.

I'll test before I go and can come check on him at +5!
Foods left for +2 and +4.

I actually gave him about a thumbnails worth of shreds in gravy like I did yesterday too to be safe. It looks to me like a late nadir again but I'm still learning how to tell what trends are.
 
With a preshot of 98 or 73, like the last 2 mornings, it is most likely he dropped lower than that during the night and was rising at preshot.. Are you able to get up at anytime just to check the BG?
Do you leave food out for during the night like you d9 during the day?
 
With a preshot of 98 or 73, like the last 2 mornings, it is most likely he dropped lower than that during the night and was rising at preshot.. Are you able to get up at anytime just to check the BG?
Do you leave food out for during the night like you d9 during the day?
I'd gotten with Bhooma yesterday when we had the same thing happen and she was telling me it was likely a bounce clearing cycle which set back the nadir. Last night I gave him food at +3 and +4 and before bed he was at 250, about the same as his preshot, so it looked to me like his nadir ran pretty late.
I technically could get up during the night to check him... but I had to do it 2 nights in a row earlier this week and I still haven't gotten any sleep to recover honestly. I work hard physical labor and I am currently struggling lol.
 
Sorry I didn't respond earlier. On some days I have a yoga class that starts around the time of Lando's AM shot!

You shot a lower number yesterday and we discussed how stalling can cause numbers to drop further without food. If you feed and shoot right away (as long as the number is over 50), you can get a test before you leave to see if food has bumped him to a comfortable level or whether you need to feed a little carbs to give him a boost before onset. Stalling could not only cause numbers to drop, it will also delay the shot and leave you without time to be able to get another test before you leave for work.

Also, it does look like he is accelerating in the second half of the PM cycle after a relatively sedate first half. Like Bron said, you might want to set the autofeeder for a meal at PM+6 or so to slow him down. Some cats dive in the last 2-3 hours of the cycle. Take a look at @Angela & Cleo's SS. I wonder if Lando is doing that. You could start with a snack at +6 and see if that is enough. If not, you might have to add another one at +8 or even +9 - if he is an end-of-cycle diver.
 
If it's what needs to be done it's just what needs to be done I guess lol
Sorry I didn't respond earlier. On some days I have a yoga class that starts around the time of Lando's AM shot!

You shot a lower number yesterday and we discussed how stalling can cause numbers to drop further without food. If you feed and shoot right away (as long as the number is over 50), you can get a test before you leave to see if food has bumped him to a comfortable level or whether you need to feed a little carbs to give him a boost before onset. Stalling could not only cause numbers to drop, it will also delay the shot and leave you without time to be able to get another test before you leave for work.

Also, it does look like he is accelerating in the second half of the PM cycle after a relatively sedate first half. Like Bron said, you might want to set the autofeeder for a meal at PM+6 or so to slow him down. Some cats dive in the last 2-3 hours of the cycle. Take a look at @Angela & Cleo's SS. I wonder if Lando is doing that. You could start with a snack at +6 and see if that is enough. If not, you might have to add another one at +8 or even +9 - if he is an end-of-cycle diver.
Ahh no worries! I guess it's just hard to shoot right away when I'm not sure if I should or not, still learning how the Lantus is working for his cycles haha. Today since I wasn't sure I went ahead and gave him like half a teaspoon of gravy shreds with breakfast to be on the safe side. I shot about 15 mins after feeding cause I was just a little nervous. Now I know for next time if I haven't had a response I can bump him up a little like that!

But that all makes total sense! I was thinking about that as I left for work. He does seem to hit lower in the PM cycle so this is good information to know that he may be dropping late, I wasn't sure if it was what was mentioned or if it was a flat cycle because of those nice lows we had in the AM, but now I see both cycles can be different!

I usually give a snack before bed but I'll start setting the auto feeder for him late so I can still sleep and see if that starts to help him not be so low in the morning, so I'm not panicking before I leave for work haha! I'll try the +6 and +9 and see how we do tomorrow morning! Knowing him he's gonna say, "SURPRISE ITS A BOUNCE!"
 
Last edited:
Cool so now I understand to shoot as long as he's over 50. If I wait too long it could make things worse! Things may change in terms of adjusting dosage in the future but as of now where things stand, since he's not dropping below 50, I'll stay at 1.5u. I just need to be very mindful of providing snackies especially when I'm asleep or not home :)

For a while in the beginning, I was giving him his food and Insulin about 10 minutes before I left. I currently do it about an hour before I have to run out the door, but I'm thinking about bumping it back another 15 minutes to give me time to think these situations out for longer until I get a better hang on things!
 
First and foremost I LOVE the thread title! Second you're doing an AMAZING job with Lando - he is just tooo cute for words :bighug:

When Cleo started on Lantus (5/2022) she had a very similar reaction where she would save the most action for the second half of the PM cycle. The bad thing about that piece of knowledge was that meant being awake to test and feed snacks at 2-4am :arghh: The GOOD thing was that I had piece of mind (eventually) shooting a lower AMPS since it meant she was most likely headed up while I was away at work and therefore would be safe. My DH was home to feed at scheduled times but he doesn't test her. He's the autofeeder :).

Another good thing about her 2nd half pm cycle action was that I was able to get a good sense of her carb sensitivity. Its also where I learned that now all carbs are created equal! I found that even if the carb % of the food was similar in %values, she had a different BG reaction depending on the type of carb used.
For example, I used to feed Ziwi Peak Pates (Rabbit & Lamb 3%, Venison 4% and Beef 10%) and Prescription DM Savory Selects (10%). [I now feed her Weruva exclusively bc of kidney #s].
The Ziwi Peak's carb source is from chick peas if I remember correctly, whereas the DM is wheat flour, corn and soy. The DM would shoot her to the moon within 20 minutes and she would keep climbing, but the Ziwi Peak Beef at 10% would only nudge the numbers but she would be really high at the end of the cycle - shorten the duration of Lantus.

My initial reaction to a green number anywhere in the cycle would make my heart jump out of my chest.
I eventually moved my AMPS to accommodate Bhooma's @Bandit's Mom yoga sessions with my shot time :joyful:

It gets easier....I promise. The more data you gather WHEN YOU CAN the better. Just keep track and try not to worry so much....I know easier said than done.
We're all here for you!
 
First and foremost I LOVE the thread title! Second you're doing an AMAZING job with Lando - he is just tooo cute for words :bighug:

When Cleo started on Lantus (5/2022) she had a very similar reaction where she would save the most action for the second half of the PM cycle. The bad thing about that piece of knowledge was that meant being awake to test and feed snacks at 2-4am :arghh: The GOOD thing was that I had piece of mind (eventually) shooting a lower AMPS since it meant she was most likely headed up while I was away at work and therefore would be safe. My DH was home to feed at scheduled times but he doesn't test her. He's the autofeeder :).

Another good thing about her 2nd half pm cycle action was that I was able to get a good sense of her carb sensitivity. Its also where I learned that now all carbs are created equal! I found that even if the carb % of the food was similar in %values, she had a different BG reaction depending on the type of carb used.
For example, I used to feed Ziwi Peak Pates (Rabbit & Lamb 3%, Venison 4% and Beef 10%) and Prescription DM Savory Selects (10%). [I now feed her Weruva exclusively bc of kidney #s].
The Ziwi Peak's carb source is from chick peas if I remember correctly, whereas the DM is wheat flour, corn and soy. The DM would shoot her to the moon within 20 minutes and she would keep climbing, but the Ziwi Peak Beef at 10% would only nudge the numbers but she would be really high at the end of the cycle - shorten the duration of Lantus.

My initial reaction to a green number anywhere in the cycle would make my heart jump out of my chest.
I eventually moved my AMPS to accommodate Bhooma's @Bandit's Mom yoga sessions with my shot time :joyful:

It gets easier....I promise. The more data you gather WHEN YOU CAN the better. Just keep track and try not to worry so much....I know easier said than done.
We're all here for you!
LOL THIS IS GOING TO MELT MY BRAIN ABOUT NOT ALL CARBS BEING EQUAL :woot:

I'm sure I'll get there as time goes on, for now since Lando's not picky I'm just sticking to FF pate and friskies pate to make it easier.

That's funny that you adjusted your dosing time to accommodate Bhooma's schedule! I'm already going to bed before the sun goes down at this rate because of my early work schedule and pushing myself back this weekend for daylight savings is going to wreck me lol! I can feel my eye twitching as I type.

I'm thankful for everyone here, and I don't expect someone to always be available when I need them, so I have to make executive decisions sometimes, it'll get easier! I know in time I'll be able to do it more and more on my own like I did yesterday.

I guess for me it's hard to tell when I should still shoot, but give a lower dose VS shooting the full dosage! If Bhooma weren't online yesterday I would have struggled to decide if I should give a lower dose or not.

Can you provide me with an example of when it'd be okay for me to do that if I were alone to make a decision? I know I'll shoot as long as he's over 50, but I could imagine some scenarios where I'm alone and might want to give a lower dose.
 
Its also where I learned that now all carbs are created equal! I found that even if the carb % of the food was similar in %values, she had a different BG reaction depending on the type of carb used.
For example, I used to feed Ziwi Peak Pates (Rabbit & Lamb 3%, Venison 4% and Beef 10%) and Prescription DM Savory Selects (10%). [I now feed her Weruva exclusively bc of kidney #s].
The Ziwi Peak's carb source is from chick peas if I remember correctly, whereas the DM is wheat flour, corn and soy. The DM would shoot her to the moon within 20 minutes and she would keep climbing, but the Ziwi Peak Beef at 10% would only nudge the numbers but she would be really high at the end of the cycle - shorten the duration of Lantus.

OK, this is the first time I've read about different kinds of carbs causing different reactions within the cycle. Chispa alternates between three types of Weruva and, more recently, Soulistic. I am going to read the labels and start keeping track. Thank you!!
And yes -- Lando IS too cute for words :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Ugh looks like I have to skip my break today due to a heavy workload, hope Lando's alright! I left him foodz he should be good. I'd love to get that reading though today! x.x
 
Can you provide me with an example of when it'd be okay for me to do that if I were alone to make a decision?
I'll let more experienced members answer this question bc my answer is SHOOT SHOOT SHOOT LOL I've lost the fear a long time ago :joyful:.

I have skipped shots a few times and for me, the decision to skip the shot was based on how Cleo LOVES a good dive, my ability to monitor, what I have in stock of MC and HC AFTER taking into account the +10 from the prior cycle AND if she had access to food.
 
I'll let more experienced members answer this question bc my answer is SHOOT SHOOT SHOOT LOL I've lost the fear a long time ago :joyful:.

I have skipped shots a few times and for me, the decision to skip the shot was based on how Cleo LOVES a good dive, my ability to monitor, what I have in stock of MC and HC AFTER taking into account the +10 from the prior cycle AND if she had access to food.
This is really helpful for me! I can imagine there may be times where I'll opt to skip if I don't have guidance but I'm feeling more confident after the last 2 days. It's hard for me to get a +10 before the PM cycle since I get up so early for work already. I'll need to be prepared for what he future holds!
 
Back
Top