3/8MaxAMPS241+4=203+6=202PMPS241+4=90+6=89+7=100

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
yesterday's recap: AMPS 203
+3=243
+6=187
PMPS 228
+4=110
+6=108

Max became very vocal again this morning way too early so he did get some of his freeze dried chicken about 1 1/2 hours before his AMPS. I did go to sleep after the +6 when the BG didn't go down more. Should I have tested again? Thanks and I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Elise
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203

I wouldn't have gotten up - I'd have looked at the 110 and then 2 hrs later the 108 and figured he was done going down significantly for that cycle. you gotta sleep!!!

Just a little observation to cheer you - looking at Max's ss, he's on day 3 without any pinks. :-D go max!

if he doesn't get back into greens by tomorrow morning, i think i'd call it a failed reduction, though, and go back up to 2.0u. Green is the goal!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012

Jill & Alex said:
The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir describes what we've fondly dubbed "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) here in LL:

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.

There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
"Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".


When you see numbers trending higher after a dose reduction we immediately return to the last "good" dose as described in the The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir:

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."


Hope this helps...


edited to correct reference on failed reductions.
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203

My fear is that he will drop too low and need to be watched too closely. My mom isn't responding at this time to the new antibiotics so the hospital is hanging over our heads. How can I safely handle both?

Another thing. I need to be careful. He is eating too much I guess as his weight was up this morning. He did poop after but I better start weighing him daily.

Would a fat 1.75 be a possibility?
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241

Well this sure is frustrating. Hopefully we won't see any pink like in previous patterns.
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241

yes, of course you can just fatten it. you could also hold the dose. it's hard to juggle various responsibilities - and with your mom being ill it might be the best choice to hold the dose and let Max run a little bit high so you can take care of your mom. instead of green nadirs as the goal, you can choose to aim for blues. it's a good idea to keep his weight stable.

i wouldn't worry about the flat yellow cycle today - i always thought punkin felt best when he was flat, regardless of what range the numbers were.

sending my best to your mom!
 
Re:3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241

Thanks, Julie. If Max stays around where he is for several more days what would be the negatives? Would fattening it up make possibly need more insulin in the long run? Do you believe in the symogy effect and if so think there is any possibility that is happening here with the big jumps up and down? The more I read the more confused I get.

I also wonder if he could be in any pain. He will jump on my bed by using his condo to get up there but won't get on the sofa which is not high and spends so much time on the ground.
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241

well . . . i don't know what your situation is with your mom, but if i had to make a choice between my cat running low and needing care at the same time my mom was in crisis and needing my attention, i'd opt for my mom. if you think you're going to have to drop everything and run to take care of your mom, it's safer to let Max run a bit higher.

the downside of hanging out in 100's - none. 200's - less ideal, but many cats spend a lot of time there and you wouldn't have to worry that he might go too low. sometimes you just pick the best choice available to you.

i don't think it's a clear-cut thing - you'll have to weigh out how urgent the situation is with your mom and whether or not you'll be able to not worry about max if you do increase his insulin.
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241+4=90

Looks like Max dodged the dosecrease. :mrgreen: It's amazing how many times just the threat of an increase will make them show a green. :lol:

I hope he lets you get some sleep tonight Elise.
 
Re: 3/8Max/Elise AMPS 241+4=203+6=202PMPS241+4=90

Thanks Wendy. I'm going to test again in about 25 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top