3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45;+17.5 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
3/8/12 Zener
AMPS 332, 2.0u, 2nd cycle, 0.8 oz 8%, 1/16t miralax, 1/3PP & 1/8 Zantac
+1, 292, 0.6oz 8%, found pukus (hair & food, cold but wet)

Zener is a little punk this morning. I just found some pukus (read graphic description above :lol: ) so maybe he'll feel better in a bit. I don't know if that was before or after eating anything this morning. I think he kept the zantac down since the pukus was in the living room and he ate the zantac in the bedroom where he still is. I feel like DCI Jane Tennison. He is starting a little lower this morning than yesterday and showing some action at +1 so maybe this bounce will be short (but not too fast!). Time will tell.

Thinking of those who are ailing. Katie, we are pulling for you - sending you tons of snowflakes. Thinking also of Morgaine and Rosalie (they visit the pain specialist today) and Rupert and Pip (Rupert is showing early bouncing and diving skills - stop that!). I am better but Anne seems to be having a second round of her cold. Almost to spring break! Happy Fursday, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292 pukus

Hi guys .. zener? A punk? Never! :-D Hope the pukus is a one time thing today .. Glad to hear you are feeling better, sorry to hear anne is not .. my cold seems to have come back for a second stay as well .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292 pukus

ha ha.. sorry, just have to laugh at the word Pukus... kind of says it all!!! Hope your boy doesn't get any bouncing tips from my guy... and perhaps shares some 'slow slide' skills in return! have a good day.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;+2.5 220;+4 175 pukus

Those numbers look like Zener has decided against the bounce today. I hope the morning pukus was just a hairball. Those things are always better out than in. I'm glad you are feeling better, sending round 2 of kick the ick vines for Anne.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;~2 220;+5 143;+6 95;+9 127 no

Since AM pukus, Zener's appy has decreased throughout the day and he has only eaten about 1/2 of what would be normal for him in his cycle. We are getting worried he won't eat at his PMPS, so are starting to plan for what to do. We will skip if we can't get him to eat. Dang, just when we seem to turn a corner. nailbite_smile :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;~2 220;+5 143;+6 95;+9 127 no

You didn't give us a poo report this morning -- could he be constipated?
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;~2 220;+5 143;+6 95;+9 127 no

Thanks Randa, good idea! But he had a nice healthy poo yesterday evening so we don't think it's that. He had a grass and small amount of food puke this morning, so it may be that. I gave him a 1/4 ondansetron which we have used before for nausea, so we'll what happens here shortly. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;~2 220;+5 143;+6 95;+9 127 no

Hi Anne, sorry about Zener's appy. Would he eat any baby food? Sending him some feel better vines and hope he can get something in his tummy. Feel better Anne, no fair to get a second round.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener AMPS 332;+1 292;~2 220;+5 143;+6 95;+9 127 no

Pukus this am and poor appy, and 61 at almost PMPS! What to do, what to do? :roll:
Today
3/8/12 Zener
AMPS 332, 2.0u, 2nd cycle, 0.8 oz 8%, 1/16t miralax, 1/3PP & 1/8 Zantac
+1, 292, 0.6oz 8%, found pukus (hair & food, cold but wet)
+2.5 220, 0.45oz 8%
~4 175, 0.5oz 8%
+5 143, 0.3oz 8%
+5.5 negative ketones, trace glucose
+6 95, 3mg zobaline & PP, would not eat 8%
+6.5 wouldn't eat, gave 3 treats & had to leave for a few hours
+9 127, would not eat FDCK, PP or anything else
~11 1/4 ondansetrone & 1/2PP
+11.5 76
+11.8 61

Well, well, here we go again...dipping into the green lagoon at the end of a cycle scaring beans to death to shoot with low numbers and very poor appy. I am stalling to see if the numbers will come up and then will have to see if he will eat before shooting tonight. Crazy times.

@Ann & Maggie - no go with baby food, and we will syringe feed if we have to. Hoping the ondansetron will help with his appy, perhaps his tummy is still upset from the am pukus. Right now he is acting like he wants something to eat, when we are stalling and can't feed him. :roll:
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46 Dose help?

Holy moly, we just skipped 3 cycles ago and took a reduction - a shave. He now wants to eat so I fed a very small amount of freeze dried chicken at the 46 +12.3 and wonder if we should try to stall and shoot the new reduced dose or feed and skip tonight. Sure hate to lose momentum and skip again so soon again. Any thoughts or advice appreciated. Also, should we try a full 0.25 reduction this time? :?
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46 Dose help?

Oh wow Zener! Sorry about the pukus. Nice description though. :lol: Just when he was humming along too. He doesn't seen to be coming up though. I don't know what I would do. Probably skip since his appy is bad. You hate to have him drop even more and not eat. Hugs to you guys on whatever you decide!!
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46 Dose help?

Drama-rama continues...
Today
3/8/12 Zener
AMPS 332, 2.0u, 2nd cycle, 0.8 oz 8%, 1/16t miralax, 1/3PP & 1/8 Zantac
+1, 292, 0.6oz 8%, found pukus (hair & food, cold but wet)
+2.5 220, 0.45oz 8%
~4 175, 0.5oz 8%
+5 143, 0.3oz 8%
+5.5 negative ketones, trace glucose
+6 95, 3mg zobaline & PP, would not eat 8%
+6.5 wouldn't eat, gave 3 treats & had to leave for a few hours
+9 127, would not eat FDCK, PP or anything else
~11 1/4 ondansetrone & 1/2PP
+11.5 76
+11.8 61
+12.3 46, FDCK
+12.8 55, FDCK

He is eating a little FDCK now and acting like he would like to eat, so that's good. I haven't fed him his regular food yet, stalling to see if he will come up since we hate to skip again so soon. Want to see his numbers up more and that he will eat before we consider shooting. If numbers come up and he eats, should we take the full reduction and shoot 1.75u? Any thoughts?

@Melissa & Mr T - yes, just when we feel like we are turning a corner, there's always something else. :sad: We don't have to make a decision yet for another hour so will see what his numbers and appy do.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+12.8 55 Dose help?

IMHO, if he's high enough for you to comfortably shoot, I think it's good to get some insulin in him if you all feel well enough to stay up and monitor him.

Insofar as the amount of the reduction, it's hard to say BUT there is no harm in reducing him .25u. It might not be a bad idea...you can always take him back up if he starts bouncing again or
not getting the numbers you want. He's throwing these low cycles for you alot lately.

I've asked for some other eyes on your condo as well. So hang tight.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+12.8 55 Dose help?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
IMHO, if he's high enough for you to comfortably shoot, I think it's good to get some insulin in him if you all feel well enough to stay up and monitor him.

Insofar as the amount of the reduction, it's hard to say BUT there is no harm in reducing him .25u. It might not be a bad idea...you can always take him back up if he starts bouncing again or
not getting the numbers you want. He's throwing these low cycles for you alot lately.

I've asked for some other eyes on your condo as well. So hang tight.

Here's the latest:
+13.3 49
+13.7 45

We have passed our point of being able to stall and shoot on this schedule in the morning. He also was asking for food and had not eaten well in his AM cycle after his pukus, so we fed him his regular food and he ate! He didn't eat great, but he ate close to an ounce. We were so worried he wouldn't eat at all and we'd be back to syringe feeding like the last time. So, at this point, we were not comfortable shooting - especially in the 40s where he has been hanging out for 90 minutes.

Hanging tight for info from other eyes, thanks Marje!
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

Well those are definitely NOT shootable numbers.....holy cow. Could be his not eating pulling his numbers down, too.

Hope you two feel better soon.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

i wouldn't think it's a good idea to shoot the 40's with a poor appetite. if you can't stall and still shoot, personally, i think i'd be inclined to skip.

my thinking is that it is better to lose momentum than to have to stay up all night with a sick kitty in low numbers that you can't get to eat.

what are you all thinking? you know zener best.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

I would not shoot 40s...especially with a cat that is not eating reliably. That's just not a good idea IMHO. I know you don't want to lose momentum, but safety first. I shot 50s with a cat with a healthy appetite...even I would not shoot in the 40s.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

Thanks everyone! We decided to skip. Zener ate about an ounce, usually he eats about 1.5 ounces at shot time. Sure hope he feels better.
Liz
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

sending feel better vibes to our little friend, zener. his appetite is the first to go if he doesn't feel good, isn't it? gives you a barometer to help see how he's doing. we're cheering for him!
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

Sorry to be so abrupt...I knew you were waiting and I wanted to get my thoughts out there about shooting! :smile: Looking at dose...if you want to reduce by 0.25u, that would probably be fine. Zener has been doing really well with the shaves, but he does keep you on your toes! I think this is a decision you need to make....how closely can you continue to monitor? If you feel like you are riding the edge too much, then take the full reduction. Either way, I think Zener will do fine...if it's too much of a reduction, you can go back up. The other thing that may make you lean toward the full reduction is his appetite...if it doesn't improve, I would be inclined to go that way.

He barely noticed the skipped shot the other day...he was right back to green within 24 hours, so I would not worry too much about skipping either.

I hope he feels better, Liz....Zener is lucky to have such devoted beans! Sending eating vines....
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

I'm so sorry to hear that Zener isn't feeling too well today but wow on those numbers! I definitely agree with you and would not have shot that low of a number. I'm not an expert, but I think I would try the full .25 reduction tomorrow if it was Simon. Zener is doing so well even when you skipped a shot that a .25 reduction may be fine. Not the end of the world if you need to go back up a little later on. Good luck with whatever your decision and I am sending healing vines to Zener and hoping his tummy is feeling better tonight.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

I agree with all of the recommendations people have been providing. Even for those of us who shoot low, we don't shoot the 40s. And, like Laurie noted, shooting low in a cat who's appetite is iffy could be asking for a very busy night!

I think the call is yours whether to take the 0.25u reduction or to shave the dose.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 Dose help?

Just catching up. Good idea not to shoot in the 40s. I hope he feels better tomorrow. I hope the reduction holds.

I may need to pick your brains a bit more on all your "kitty not eating " tricks. I think you two have become pros at it. :thumbup
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 skipping

Hello all and thanks to so many of your for responding. We decided to not try and stall and shoot and to skip. That last 45 was just too much and with his appy having disappeared today, a skip was our only safe choice. The last time we shot like that we ended up syringe feeding because he was dropping like a rock. He is eating a little better tonight so far, but we are giving him 11% carbs to get him to eat. His BG may soar tomorrow but hopefully his appy will be better and we can get back on track. We started the ondansetron tonight to help with nausea and will see if this makes a difference. He still seems to be feeling just a little punk. We called our vet and will take him in Saturday afternoon, which we were planning to do anyway our week off for a recheck and now there may really be a reason to go! We will keep working on his eating tonight and give the poor guy a poke break.

Thanks again to everyone, we are so grateful for your advice and support. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 skipping

I'm glad you decided to skip tonight. I wouldn't shoot 40s with an inappetant cat either. Now eat something, Zener!

About the reduction, use your judgment tomorrow and see how it feels. I'm not sure I would reduce again so soon. Zener has some great momentum going, and it's possible that tonight's lows are related to not eating. Looking at your SS, you might want to try the same strategy you used after the last skip because it worked great! Depending on how high he is tomorrow and how well he is eating, maybe go ahead and shoot the 2u dose for that cycle to help refill the shed, see how he responds to it, then decide whether to take the reduction tomorrow PM.

I love seeing all this blue and green on Zener's spreadsheet. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 skipping

Thank you Libby! That is what we were talking about doing in the morning, and it will all depend of course, on how he is eating. The episodes of inappetance are much more stressful than the numbers, usually. ;-) The last time we reduced when he went low and was not eating well in that cycle, the reduction didn't hold. We are coming up on a week off for spring break and will be around all the time to monitor too, so less stressful for beans as well.
 
Re: 3/8 Zener PMBG 76;+12.3 46;+13.3 49;+13.7 45 skipping

Hi guys,
Just getting here now and see that you have everything in hand. Zener will, I hope, have better appetite tomorrow and you will take the reduction without worries. You all did well. Have a good, restful night and we'll see you tomorrow.

Ella & Rusty
 
Didn't you have the exciting night! Hope Zener's appy is back this morning and he stays on track :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top