3/8 Tuscany AMPS~205 1 year annifursary of lantus use

Status
Not open for further replies.

joyce-tuscany(GA)

Member Since 2009
Wow, a year of using insulin already.

Tuscany's story: Tuscany has been with us since she was a small kitten. She is a dilute calico and does have a bit of the calico personality. She was fed dry food at will most of her life, wet food was a treat. She had hyperT treated with radioactive iodine at age 9, a mast cell tumor removed from the inner edge of her left ear in 2006, has had some mild renal insufficiency over the last 3-4 yrs and finally a mildly increase glucose 8/08 (high normal fructosamine at the time). We immediately stopped her dry food at that time, switched to LC and started home testing (i was lurking on fdmb at the time). Her numbers did improve significantly but with what I know now she would have been better going on insulin at that time - though the vet was just labeling her "prediabetic" cause of the fructosamine still being normal (barely). End of Feb 2009 my home testing wasn't as frequent - but she started spiking in the 300's, ketone neg - it was back to the vets, fructosamine now in abnormal range and lantus was started.

At first I was using the actual pen mechanism to give the insulin - she was doing 1 unit twice a day. I started home testing more - but not really midcycles. I started lurking more here. When I needed to increase her insulin - I did it by whole doses - cause that's what the pen did and finally we had the low AMPS easter weekend last year - much lower than I had ever seen or shot. I made my first post - a cry for help that day and met the wonderful people here.

I've learned alot since that first posting. Yes, we went back down on dose and started working on up the dosing scale. Tuscany has never even hinted at being able to be otj, probably most of the time wouldn't even qualify as well regulated but we are in a better place than where we were heading.

Tuscany turns 17 at the end of April. Last week at the neuro appt everyone thought she looked lots younger than her age. Thanks to all of you for the support in the last year and for helping me keep my kittie for awhile longer. We are still going to be working at getting her better regulated - in fact last pm she had a dose increase. I just wish Mr. L would give up the rebounding - ya think after a year this is asking too much???
 
That you Joyce...that was so nice to read all about Tuscany and her journey with you thus far.
I guess we all want Mr L to behave a lot sooner than they always do.... :YMHUG: HUGS to you both anyway...you are doing a fabulous job!!
Marking a one year anniversary gives us pause....but just be happy that you are here now and not lurking anymore. This is a great place for us all and we are happy for your friendship here!!
Hope you have a Happy Anniversary today and celebrate with Tuscany...for all the good that is happening!
 
Happy Annifursary, Joyce & Tuscany.

We treasure our babies every day we get to spend with them, don't we? With or without the cooperation of Mr. L!
 
Happy Annifursary!! I know all about that calico/tortie personality only all too well. As fractious as they can be with others, they do love their beans and you are clearly devoted to Tuscany. I hope she gets catnip and feathers and anything else her kitty heart desires.
 
Happy Annifursary Joyce and Tuscany! Thanks for sharing your story - it's always nice to read how kitties and their beans arrived at LL. Wishing Tuscany good health!
 
Happy Annifursary. A dilute calico??? Well, one learn something new everyday!!!
Tuscany is doing well at age 17, and she's well travelled too!
Thanks you for sharing her story!
 
Dearest Joyce & Tuscany--What a beautiful story of love & devotion to each other. Knowing you just a year, it seems so much longer.
Tuscany is doing so well, and we couldnt be happier for you all..
Happy Happy Annifursary and many more--With Big Hugs from us :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thank you for sharing Tuscany's journey with us. Glad you are here now and that Tuscany is still young at heart. Happy Annifursary :mrgreen:
 
Happy 1 year Annifursary!

Congratulations on one year of taking control of a difficult condition and giving Tuscany a chance to be a healthy 17 year old kitty. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Tuscany AMPS~205 PMPS~264

WCR - ate well today -wish I had been home to get mid cycle.
Thanks all for the well wishes - they are appreciated especially with her recent bobblehead experience.

Will be getting another chek in few minutes and then off to bed...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top