3/8 Trixie PMPS 123 +2 188 +4 178 +6 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Another early condo for Trix...lots to type, and if I wait till right before work, when I usually do my Saturday post, I won't have time. And, I am so discombobulated with the time change.

Anyway, we had a wonderfully smooth fluids session last night...100mls at PM +4.5. Well, so much for my theory/hope that shooting that far away from shot time will keep her from diving, huh? At the time we did the fluids, she was stuck at a yucky flat stinkus pinkus...our first pink since June 2013 (more on that in a minute!). I thought "Well, given this starting point, we probably won't see a green AMPS." Sheesh...not only was it green, but it was lower than yesterday's AMPS ohmygod_smile ! (Yeah, I know...it's weird to complain about a green AMPS...but you guys know what I'm talking about with our current situation being a little odd.) Her SS is up-t-date with last night's activities. And, her AMPS is really that +11.....I didn't have the heart to poke her little ear yet again, not when that last test was so close to PS test time.

For dinner last night, I started feeding her a 50/50 mix of Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken and B.F.F. Tuna and Chicken Chuckles (she's been having the BFF mixed in with her Wellness for quite some time now, so that one isn't new). I knew she loves the Paw Lickin' because I was feeding it for a while last year, but I stopped because it was sending her BGs all over the place. No matter how much I increased her juice, I just couldn't reign them in. When I initially saw that pink last night, I thought...here we go again, we're going to have to drop the Paw Lickin'. I am sure that the Paw Lickin' at least contributed to that pink.

But, then I remembered one thing I've often seen and often said to others...sometimes we have to work the insulin around other healthcare needs. The Paw Lickin' is lower in phos than the Wellness, AND she loves it. I have to admit, it is pure joy to watch her enjoy her fuds and not have have to follow her around with a pack of FortiFlora for layer after layer of sprinklings. She CPCed right away, and didn't even give the kibbleheads a glance. And, as many of you know, I'm thrilled with Wellness as a company anyway, so I certainly wouldn't mind eliminating it.

Sooooo...I am again going to attempt to keep the Paw Lickin' and work the insulin around it. We'll see how it goes....

With that being said, though, I've decided to reduce her to 2.00U for now, even though I suspect the Paw Lickin' spikes her...just till we get things sorted out with the fluids. As you know, I'm not one to hesitate as far as increases go when they are needed, so we'll adjust once we figure out out to get things to settle down with the "liquid gold."

@Mariko, thank you for the support and suggestions last night! Actually, you reminded me of one thing I hadn't tried yet: moving her shot location. In the past, any time I attempted to shoot anywhere other than her right shoulder, she would flinch, walk away, try to nip, get upset, etc. So, I just settled in with that being her general shot location.

This morning, just for the heck of it, I tried shooting closer to her flank...success! She didn't object to the needle going in, but she definitely felt the insulin...she flinched and attempted a "warning nip", but fortunately - as you know - the shot was over in a split second and all was well.

So we'll shoot closer to her tushy again tonight. It very well could have a strong impact on the fluids situation, and if we can get that settled down, then we can figure out for sure what her new "right" dose is.

Of course I'm probably changing too many factors now...fuds, shot location, fluids time. But, this is it for changes......for now.

I'm heading BTB for a bit...a tad more rest before today's wild ride begins. Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 - Reducie & Ramblings

Hi There!

Sounds like a lot going! You are a great Momma for taking such good care of your kitty! Keep up the great work! :-D Have a fabulous day!
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 - Reducie & Ramblings

Good morning Amy ~O)

Well you definitely have a TON of factors to consider. I like your approach, safe and info gathering as you go. It does suck that the PLC spiked(s) her bg's but like you point out, she loves it so much and it ensures a nice strong appy. I was going to suggest that if it took a little more insulin just to let her keep the PLC that might be worth it, but then read back a few days and seen that the last time you did try that and no amount of juice was helping with that. Seeing such positive insulin results after removing the PLC seems a little more than coincidental :YMSIGH:
Paws and fingers crossed that you find success with that this time around. I wonder if feeding it around fluids time would help with the big drops??

Hugs to you for all you and DH have been going through. You truly are a wonderful mamabean to your kits. I hope that at least Frankie is letting you get a little sleep while you are dealing with the 'experimenting' and diving :?

So here I am, offering absolutely little help...just wanted to commiserate with you ;-)

Have a good day Amy. Hope you got a few more winks!
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 - Reducie & Ramblings

Yay for CPC! :-D :-D :-D And :mrgreen: again this morning! Never a dull moment. Happy Caturday, Amy!
Liz
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 - Reducie & Ramblings

CPC with no toppings?? Well, that is a reason to celebrate. :-D :-D And I know what you mean about how joyful it is to see our babies really enjoy their food again. Food is such big part of their lives.
Sounds like you are doing a fantastic job of trying to figure out what your new routine will be with Trixie. Hope it all comes together soon.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: Amy
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 - Reducie & Ramblings

Hi, Amy, I agree with everyone: you are doing a FANTASTIC job with managing all of these variables.
Despite that 'blip' in Trixie's numbers last night, she is still doing great.
And congrats on another successful fluids session last night. :thumbup
I hope you have a radiant day! ☼
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 +6 88 Reducie & Rambl

Thank you, everyone....we couldn't do this without all of you!

Wow...flat greens with fluids and Paw Lickin' in the mix......maybe we're on to something by moving her shot location! I fully expected her to skyrocket again today. I'm curious to see how the overnight hours go!

Back to work for the bean!!
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 +6 88 Reducie & Rambl

It's enough to make the head spin! :shock: You're doing great, Amy :-D . I'm glad Trixie is in the lagoon and loving the fuds, and hope you can work them in without spikes. Chyna doesn't like being shot lower down either, but I try to sometimes especially with the extra subq pokies that I do higher up. I hope your day at work is going good. Hugs to you today again :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 +6 88 Reducie & Rambl

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

whoa... all awesome stuff! LOVE the green. and the thing that struck me the most about all of it was : Work the insulin around the health issues, and what we have to do about those health issues.I.e., fluids and fuds. If it were me I'd go to with the fuds she likes, if it means CPC, then by all means. I so had to to that with Mannie, It was always what he would eat , to keep him eating so that we could deal with the rest. we even went through a phase when it was all gravy foods, as that was all he would eat. So.... if Paw Lickin' means CPC and low phos, then YAY!

Good luck with the fluids, and finding the right dose. I know you will find the magic mix, you are very dedicated to the best you can do for Trixie. Keep on truckin'!

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie AMPS 68 +1.5 95 +4.5 76 +6 88 Reducie & Rambl

Hi Amy, catching up with Trixie and she sure is full of surprises. With that pinkster, that was a surprise with the green AMPS. Nice surf today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I remember Maggie (GA) liked the Paw Lickins, too. Great with Trixie's CPC and appy. You have a lot to juggle with your schedules and are doing a great job. I hope the calming treats are helping Frankie or the RR. Lots of hugs, healing vines and scritches from us.
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie PMPS 123 +2 188

Yay for the CPC and a good fluids session last night. Hang in there. You're going your best for her and you'll get things figured out.
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie PMPS 123 +2 188

I'm assuming this is the Paw Licking' spike, but who knows foe sure? I was at wok for PMPS and din-dins tonight because of the daylight savings time shift, but all went well for DH. She wasn't thrilled about the new sot location, but we shall perservere. It will be interting to see what the fluids do to here numbers tonight, given the new shot location. We'll do them at +4 again, then grab middle of the night tests.

Tired bean after a long day ... But I am thinking of everyone....
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie PMPS 123 +2 188

Hi Amy!
Lucy hates getting the shot on her bumbum too.
She just got one there and hissed at me. :lol:
Paws and fingers crossed that the new shot location helps.
You and your DH are such dedicated beans!
I'm sure you'll figure out the dose and food soon.
In the meantime, it's wonderful Trixie is doing great and enjoying her food!
 
Re: 3/8 Trixie PMPS 123 +2 188

I also think you are doing a great job. You are considering all the factors and how they interrelate and how to balance them all.

In some cats, shooting the chest, side, or flank can increase absorption so perhaps that is what you were seeing today.

Trix is very lucky to have such great beans!
 
I did that last post from the iPad....wow, I didn't realize it was full of so many typos :lol: !!

We are at "fluids +2" and she has come down a bit. We'll test through the night to see what happens. C'mon, Trix....we need a surf!!
 
Wow...a green day and a blue evening! So very impressed with you all!!!! Here's to hoping she gets used to her new injection site and hoping that the Paw Lickin' doesn't influence her numbers...especially because she LOVES it! Love watching happy kitties slop up their fuds! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top