Ann & Tess GA
Member Since 2010
Sorry the last few days have had me in a stupor! I just couldn't focus to post. Tess was not eating again on Thur. I picked her up and got a faint whiff of acetone on her breath so off to the ER.
They said it was DKA but we caught it early. Two days in the ER and she came home last night.
The furshot on Monday tipped her over the edge I think, that and we were toward the end of the last pen in the pack. We had increased her dose on Thur AM but it wasn't enough. My fault for not getting in more ketone checks.
They had her on an IV w/ R for a day. We got a new Rx on Friday. Yesterday morning they stopped the R and we went in to give her the Lev shot (they were pretty nervous about the tiny dose).
Right now my concern is NDW since she was off Lev for a full day and that is what got us into this on Monday w/ the furshot. That and they were feeding her Hills M/D which is 14% carbs. I asked about giving an R bolus and they finally said yes, unfortunately it wasn't until after 6:00pm and the pharmacies were closed.
She is "Hi" this morning and we are waiting for the pharmacy to open and we've ditched the M/D for 4% Nulo. The ER vet gave me a dosing schedule that seems ridiculously high to me. If her BG is over 400 give 1 unit of R!
I know most of you that use R give only a drop or two. I also remember that there is concern about using R for Tess since her numbers tend to be so all over the place, but we can deal w/ low numbers better than another DKA. Any advice on how much R and when to give. Tess's nadir is very late w/ Lev so I am thinking early in the cycle if preshot is way up there.
OT Emma did very well w/ her dental. 9 teeth removed, all her molars and most of the pre-molars, canine and front teeth intact. She was not pleased to be kept inside for another day on Friday, on Saturday morning whe we did let her out she had caught and eaten half of a lizard within the first two hours! So she is doing well w/ the loss of so many teeth.
They said it was DKA but we caught it early. Two days in the ER and she came home last night.
The furshot on Monday tipped her over the edge I think, that and we were toward the end of the last pen in the pack. We had increased her dose on Thur AM but it wasn't enough. My fault for not getting in more ketone checks.
They had her on an IV w/ R for a day. We got a new Rx on Friday. Yesterday morning they stopped the R and we went in to give her the Lev shot (they were pretty nervous about the tiny dose).
Right now my concern is NDW since she was off Lev for a full day and that is what got us into this on Monday w/ the furshot. That and they were feeding her Hills M/D which is 14% carbs. I asked about giving an R bolus and they finally said yes, unfortunately it wasn't until after 6:00pm and the pharmacies were closed.
She is "Hi" this morning and we are waiting for the pharmacy to open and we've ditched the M/D for 4% Nulo. The ER vet gave me a dosing schedule that seems ridiculously high to me. If her BG is over 400 give 1 unit of R!
I know most of you that use R give only a drop or two. I also remember that there is concern about using R for Tess since her numbers tend to be so all over the place, but we can deal w/ low numbers better than another DKA. Any advice on how much R and when to give. Tess's nadir is very late w/ Lev so I am thinking early in the cycle if preshot is way up there.
OT Emma did very well w/ her dental. 9 teeth removed, all her molars and most of the pre-molars, canine and front teeth intact. She was not pleased to be kept inside for another day on Friday, on Saturday morning whe we did let her out she had caught and eaten half of a lizard within the first two hours! So she is doing well w/ the loss of so many teeth.
I'm so glad you caught things early. Does Tess have another infection?
I have been so worried about you guys...