3/8 TAFFY-AMPS 315

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-7-taffy-amps-314-2-251-6-243-pmps-284-3-236.174457/]Yesterday

Back into the highs.
I don't know why Taffy plummeted the other day into the 30s, but he seems so unresponsive to his insulin in general. Appy is satisfactory, but he sleeps a lot more than was usual. Especially in the mornings. He is no longer getting me up super early, which is nice and I shouldn't complain, I suppose, but the change in pattern/behavior just makes me wonder.[/URL]
 
Hi Julie, I've been so busy dealing with nightmares at work so haven't been on the board that much lately. I wanted to drop by your condo and see how you're doing.

I totally feel for you with your situation with Taffy. Have you considered trying the drop the dose after 3 low numbers scenario? Someone mentioned it the other day on the board and I thought this was something that I will want to consider in the future. The theory goes that you don't take a reduction in dose unless your kitty goes below 50 three times on the current dose. Most folks reduce the dose right away when kitty goes below 50. In Taffy's case, and very much in Ozzy's too, they tend to cruise around in higher numbers (at least lately) and then all the sudden have a lower number which we automatically assume means they need less insulin, and then immediately go back to the higher numbers. Sometimes I wonder if the lower number is just a fluke or what? Usually I don't have a pattern of progressively lower numbers and then can expect a below 50 reading; it's just random. So the don't drop the dose until kitty goes below 50 3xs might be something we will try next time. Curious your thoughts on this strategy.

Hope all is well with you and that Taffy is sleeping more than you have noticed in the past because he is just a Cat and wants to snooze more! Wish I had that life.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top