3/8 Smokey AMBG 67, +15 75, PMPS 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
We will be unable to watch her today, both have to go to work. She has run low in the greens most of the time, but never this low before a dose. I skinnied up her dose yesterday. We don't have any partial unit needles, so I put the plunger so that the back side of it just touches the 1u line.

Probably cannot get another test out of her this am, took both of us and 15 minutes - one ear won't bleed enough, the other she fights a lot.

Skip again? I seem to do that a lot and it doesn't get too much of a rise out of her.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67, dosing advice please.

We are 24min after normal dose time (pushing back PM wouldn't be a problem). I will be leaving in about an hour.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67, dosing advice please.

You can stall to see if numbers are coming up but from your SS, it looks like Smokey is very busy surfing in the greens. I think you have 2 options - either skip or shoot a reduced dose (BCS or "big chicken sh*t dose) and leave plenty of food out providing that Smokey will eat if numbers are running low.

I've been off the Board for a few days and don't know your kitty. What are you comfortable with?
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67, dosing advice please.

I am getting very nervous giving her anything lately because she loves to run so low in the greens. I skinnied the dose despite the vet wanting to hold 1u and then go to s.i.d. in another week because she kept dropping to low50s/40s after 1u dosing.
She will usually eat if there is food out, but I have two other little monsters so there is no guarantee that the food will last long.
I am leaning towards skipping again just because testing her right now has gotten difficult so tracking her even if I ran home from work every few hours will be hard.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67, dosing advice please.

I think the skip is a reasonable decision for today. I'd like to get more eyes on your condo/SS and see if there's a dose that you can shoot consistently. Smokey is doing great so it's a matter of providing enough insulin to support the pancreas while the dose is reduced with an eye toward remission.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67, dosing advice please.

Thank you. I just hate skipping so much, but she really doesn't seem to react much to whatever we do, skip, reduce, she just surfs along in those greens. I have just become more nervous about those low greens lately and after scaring the carp out of all 3 of us one night when she wouldn't wake up at +6 (bg was fine = 68, just sleeping hard until mommy freaked out), I am less willing to walk that bottom line.

I will be checking for partial dosing needles at a couple places in town today. My vet didn't embrace the partial unit dosing so I haven't prepared for that, but at this point I am going off of her plan 'cause it isn't working for me.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67 (no dose) +3 75

Smokey made her own dosing choice this morning and hid from me so no dose or extra testing then. She finally ventured out and didn't put up to much of a fuss for a +3 test. Still riding in the middle of those greens.

Now she is napping after a good girl treat and I am really late for work.
 
Re: 3/8 Smokey AMPS 67 (no dose) +3 75

Hi

nice number!
just a little correction, since there was no shot today, your AMPS is actually a AMBG, and the +3 is actually a +15, which is 3 hours after +12.

hope u have a great day Melanie!! :-D
 
I ordered some Monojects today that will allow us to measure half doses better and start moving her to OTJ:-D Hubby gave a skinny dose tonite. I've kind of seta plan with under 80 no dose; over 80 dose. I'll try to catch her when I get home and see how fast she's falling. She seems to just surf no matter what we do with just enough dip to make momma's heart skip a beat.

Poor hubby isn't very confident testing and decided to test himself first since I opened new strips today. He's a little concerned that the strip ID is 88, he tested 88,and then Smokey tested 88 :roll:
 
Rather than have you suffer a heart attack, what would you think about reducing Smokey's dose to 0.5u? I think you need to give his pancreas some support and you also need a dose you feel like you can shoot consistently.
 
Once we get the new syringes, that's exactly what we will do (though I didn't know if we should go to .75 first, then .5). With the full unit ones, its hard to know what we are giving and I figured the skinny 1u must be around .75 to .8. With me giving AM and hubby giving PM, no-line dosing gets tricky to keep consistant.

On the vet's preference, I wasn't planning on doing less than 1u dosing, but running her under 50 after a full unit and letting it ride for 24hr doesn't seem good for me or her, better to split the dose and keep her at a more confortable level.

Hopefully the new syringes get here fast. I'll cheat the dose down even more on the AM shot.
 
What I would suggest is getting an old syringe and use orange juice or milk -- some colored liquid -- and set the dose as close to 1/2 unit as you can. You can use that syringe to compare against. It may not be 100% accurate, but you will at least be consistent. I think it's better to shoot something than to keep skipping and unless you rush ordered the new syringes, they may take a while.
 
Do you mean, take an old syringe, draw it to where we think .5u is with something not clear, and then keep that one on hand to compare when we draw? That could work to keep the two of us close to doing the same thing.

I looked for syringes locally, but no luck. ND is weird - our brand new Walgreens doesn't have a pharmacy in it! I told them I didn't think they could be a Walgreens if they didn't have pharmacy. Of course I was shopping for insulin supplies for my cat so they weren't to concerned about my opinion. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top