3/8 Simone OTJ Day 7 - AMBG=65, +4=65, PMBG=61

Status
Not open for further replies.
Happy Day 7!
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
flip.gif
flip.gif
flip.gif
 
Took Simone's weekly numbers (March 1st to 7th) into the vet clinic and they weren't all that impressed, saying that shes too low with being mostly in the high 3's (59 - 70) where they like to see numbers just above 4 (72).

Now this wasn't the vet herself, as shes still away, but one of the employees at the front desk who has a diabetic animal. I told her the numbers were readings with NO Shots given since the AM shot March 1st and on a 100% LC wet food diet since that time. Then I mentioned different breeds of cats and BG monitors will result in different numbers and that Simone could very well be in the 4's (72+).

Talk about taking the wind out of your sails. It will be interesting to hear what the vet has to say.
 
Thanks Bobbie. It makes you wonder sometimes about people. I know for a fact that if there was something off with Simone's numbers that the veteran members here would say something to help get her on track or how to up her BG a little if needed.

I also mentioned to the girl that I post Simone's BG numbers to an online spreadsheet (maybe I shouldn't of) so that others with diabetic cats can chime in on the Diabetic Forum and let me know what's what and she just gave me a funny look as if the members here don't know their arse from a hole in the ground but she does because of her diabetic animal and the fact she she works for a vet, who knows.

All I can say is that thanks to this forum and it's members Simone is where she is because of the advise I've received. All the vet clinic did was prescribe the insulin and show me how to use and store the Lantus pen.
 
Thanks Bobbie. It makes you wonder sometimes about people. I know for a fact that if there was something off with Simone's numbers that the veteran members here would say something to help get her on track or how to up her BG a little if needed.

I also mentioned to the girl that I post Simone's BG numbers to an online spreadsheet (maybe I shouldn't of) so that others with diabetic cats can chime in on the Diabetic Forum and let me know what's what and she just gave me a funny look as if the members here don't know their arse from a hole in the ground but she does because of her diabetic animal and the fact she she works for a vet, who knows.

All I can say is that thanks to this forum and it's members Simone is where she is because of the advise I've received. All the vet clinic did was prescribe the insulin and show me how to use and store the Lantus pen.
That sadly , is what most of us get.
 
You should ask your vet tech if she test her cat? Bet she doesn't.

+1 on that.

The good thing is that the vet herself is not against me testing and doing a curve at home. The one thing she did mention is that we should do a comparison between my meter and the one they use to see what the discrepancy numbers are, just for the record.
 
Congratulations on Day 7!!! :D

she just gave me a funny look as if the members here don't know their arse from a hole in the ground but she does because of her diabetic animal and the fact she she works for a vet, who knows.

I have no doubt my first diabetic cat died from hypoglycemia while being boarded at the vet's office. When we received the diagnosis for Jersey (our second diabetic), I decided I couldn't trust a vet, any vet, for her care. I found FDMB, and the individuals here helped me get her into remission. We're approaching 3 years OTJ now. If you'll take a look at Jersey's spreadsheet, you'll see that her numbers have ranged anywhere from the 30s to the 90s off of insulin...and she's perfectly healthy.

You've done a great job with Simone. Don't let the vet (or the vet tech) tell you otherwise!
 
Woohoo, half way through the trial!

You are using a human meter, and the clinic staff may be more used to numbers from a pet meter, which will read a bit higher.

I once got the lecture from an IM vet about Neko's numbers being too low, which I ignored. After five years on the juice I figured I knew what I was doing. The same clinic the staff tested her at below 68 on a pet meter one morning when she was in critical care and did nothing but put her LC food in front of her. This with a cat with poor appy. :rolleyes: Fortunately I was there a little later and she got no shot that AM. Later the same IM vet admitted her diabetes was well controlled. Remember that you know your cat better than anyone else.
 
Congratulations on Day 7!!! :D

I have no doubt my first diabetic cat died from hypoglycemia while being boarded at the vet's office. When we received the diagnosis for Jersey (our second diabetic), I decided I couldn't trust a vet, any vet, for her care. I found FDMB, and the individuals here helped me get her into remission. We're approaching 3 years OTJ now. If you'll take a look at Jersey's spreadsheet, you'll see that her numbers have ranged anywhere from the 30s to the 90s off of insulin...and she's perfectly healthy.

You've done a great job with Simone. Don't let the vet (or the vet tech) tell you otherwise!

Thanks Shelly. I'm sorry to hear about your first little one. I don't know what I'd do in that case, probably be in jail if I was sure that the death was from a screw up or an overdose of medication while in the vets care. At least with social media now you can spread the word and let the rest of those in your area know about the "lack of care" your animal received at a certain vet.

:woot: 3 years OTJ. Way to go Jersey. Simone has numbers in the low 60's and I get told they are too low, yet Jersey has some in the 30's and she's doing fine. Wonder what the girl/woman at my clinic would say to that.

Woohoo, half way through the trial!

You are using a human meter, and the clinic staff may be more used to numbers from a pet meter, which will read a bit higher.

I once got the lecture from an IM vet about Neko's numbers being too low, which I ignored. After five years on the juice I figured I knew what I was doing. The same clinic the staff tested her at below 68 on a pet meter one morning when she was in critical care and did nothing but put her LC food in front of her. This with a cat with poor appy. :rolleyes: Fortunately I was there a little later and she got no shot that AM. Later the same IM vet admitted her diabetes was well controlled. Remember that you know your cat better than anyone else.

Yep half way there Wendy. I mentioned to the girl that the numbers were from "my meter" but did not tell her that it was a human meter. I can only imaging the lecture I would of received. The vet herself knows that I have a human meter and that I have to go by it's BG numbers so that's all good. So far the vet herself has been real good and open minded about the testing. Who knows how she'll react when she reads the past weekly numbers and seen that I stopped giving Simone injections when I was told to keep her on the 1u dose.

What is it with some vets and their staff thinking they are god all mighty and what they say and do is always the right thing for someone else animal, even if it's wrong.
 
Last edited:
Who knows how she'll react when she reads the past weekly numbers and seen that I stopped giving Simone injections when I was told to keep her on the 1u dose.
If she's as good as you said she's been, she'll say you did the right thing and pat you on the back. Comparing your meter with hers is not a bad idea, if she just wants to know what the difference between them is, but keep in mind, if hers is a vet meter, the difference is very small at low BGs and increases exponentially as the BGs go higher. So at 50 or 60 there will be very little difference, but at 300 they could be off by 100 or more points (not that we expect Simone to have a reading in the 300s to test).
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif

Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone!
 
+1 on that.

The good thing is that the vet herself is not against me testing and doing a curve at home. The one thing she did mention is that we should do a comparison between my meter and the one they use to see what the discrepancy numbers are, just for the record.
I used to bring my meter with us so that, from same blood draw, we could test on vet's meter, my meter and in-house lab.

BYW; oops I missed days 1-6 :banghead:
Belated happy OTJ Trial Day #7 and cheering for Day #8 and each day forward
:D:bighug::D:bighug::D:bighug::D
 
congrats!!
my vet comes to the house and I showed him the ss and forum-he seemed relieved!
He admits he is no expert which I am grateful for-
He also said most people wouldn't do what I am doing....hmmmmmm :cat:
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
Simone and I thank you for your encouragement everyone.

If she's as good as you said she's been, she'll say you did the right thing and pat you on the back. Comparing your meter with hers is not a bad idea, if she just wants to know what the difference between them is, but keep in mind, if hers is a vet meter, the difference is very small at low BGs and increases exponentially as the BGs go higher. So at 50 or 60 there will be very little difference, but at 300 they could be off by 100 or more points (not that we expect Simone to have a reading in the 300s to test).
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif

Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone! Go Simone!

I'm hoping the vet agrees as we did discuss a "low BG shot number" before she went away for the week. I'm not sure if the vet uses the AlphaTrak meter or not. Guess I'll find out if and when they want to do the comparison. A pharmacist in town said that the meter I use is pretty accurate and that she has sold a couple to owners of diabetic animals so that was good to hear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top